We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simple and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Berkeley

Travelodge Berkeley
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Berkeley
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simple and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Checked in with a buddy of mine to visit my brother at UC Berkeley in late May. This hotel was very simple and nice. Very convenient with cab rides, restaurants, and not too far walking distance from the campus. The rooms were nice and went at a good time with the weather. Parking is available and service was great. Can't complain with cable and internet. Be back again in august.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
38 Thank stevietee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    56
    72
    35
    43
See reviews for
84
23
29
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Millbrae, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

This was a great hotel! The staff was very kind and very helpful. It is very close to the University of California Berkeley which was awesome. It was walking distance! The hotel is in a great location.

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
39 Thank LoveSLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

I had a great stay at the travelodge, the cleaning staff was very nice front desk (Manny) was very helpful. The room was Nice and clean. WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
39 Thank afeilds56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

We have stayed at the Travelodge in Berkeley a number of times over the past 2 years. It is only a 1-mile drive to the UC Berkeley campus and there are a number of good restaurants within a very short drive or walk. The building is probably 1960s-vintage but the rooms are well appointed and always clean. Some have questioned the safety of the neighborhood but we have never had a problem. If you have 2 beds in a room it can be a bit cramped. Rates usually run around $100-110 per night, but they jumo to $150 when Cal has a football game. For the area this motel is a bargain. There is no breakfast but compared to paying a lot more at other places near campus, so what? WiFi works well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
40 Thank TobyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

My fiance and I just returned from a trip to Berkeley where we stayed with friends from Colorado for three days to attend concerts at UC Berkeley. Our first day there we arrived very early, about 10:30 am and were greeted by the hotel manager Manny who not only let us check in that early but helped us with some suggestions for eating, shopping and things to do in Berkeley. The thing that impressed us most about this location was Manny and his staff. Everyone that worked there was beyond helpful, courteous, and friendly. Manny in particular went out of his way to be friendly and helpful to us every day, which makes a huge difference after the "hustle and bustle" of traveling on Bay Area freeways. The rooms were a little small, but that was because we had four people, it would be PERFECT for two, and for the location (middle of Berkeley) where choices are very limited, this locations is a diamond in the rough. Thank you Manny and staff for an enjoyable stay in Berkeley, we will DEFINITELY be staying there again if down in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
40 Thank ZippyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollhouse, Ca.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

We have stayed here about three different times over the last 10 years. We like the location and it isn't 10 blocks from BART (more like 5). Close to many nice ethnic restaurants. Impressively quiet despite being on a busy street.
Down side is the non smoking rooms smell bad and have cigarette burns every where(including the toilet seat). Noticed a hooker hanging out in the parking lot during the day, which was new this trip. It is old, but clean. The housekeeping staff are nice.
We don't spend much time in the room when we're in Berkeley. We really care about cleanliness, safe parking and a good nite sleep. Got all three each visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
38 Thank gdr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbieReno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

-Front desk very helpful and kind, gave great suggestions on restaurants and tour sites
-Very convenient parking lot
-Great location
-Room service was excellent
-House keeping did a great neat job
-Overall I had a great stay at this hotel and suggest this hotel to other Berkeley visitors

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
41 Thank barbieReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.8 km away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#9 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.4 km away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Berkeley

Property: Travelodge Berkeley
Address: 1820 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Energize your next trip to the beautiful San Francisco Bay area and book a room at our Berkeley Travelodge hotel. Centrally located in the heart of East Bay, our Berkeley, CA, hotel is only 3 blocks from University of California Berkeley places you within minutes of great restaurants, shopping and top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Travelodge Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley Travelodge
Berkeley Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing