We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Beverly Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

But..............service can be indifferent. The pool and Cabana staff can be stroppy, the spa staff look down on you. $35 a night to park a car, $10 a day for WiFi, $100 a day in room taxes (not the hotel's fault of course), $10 for a jug of hot milk - plus tips. Will soon part you from your cash - double but....most of the staff are great, strangely the ones that don't always expect a 20% to give you 2 nanoseconds of attention. Room was lovely despite the stone cutting taking place each morning. Would have been nice to receive a warning that the hotel was undergoing works in the lobby throughout our stay. Not sure how long the pink and green can hold steady in the modern world.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank faktoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear faktoader,

We value and appreciate your feedback and apologize that your experience was less than perfect. This certainly does not reflect the standards in which we pride ourselves on here at The Beverly Hills Hotel.

I also understand that our restoration process in the lobby at the time of your stay did not leave a positive impression on your stay. We have taken great care in phasing it to cause the least amount of disruption to our guests, so it is particularly unfortunate that it has affected your time here. I would like to extend a complimentary upgrade for your next visit with us so you can enjoy the restoration upon its completion. Please feel free to contact me when making this reservation.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Mattis
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

I had heard prior to my stay that the Beverly Hills Hotel had recently spent a great deal on renovating the property... but my room looked very much stuck in the 90's. Pink (I realize that this is their signature color, but still!) everywhere, outdated gold fixtures in the bathroom, CHINTZ curtains and bedspreads- yikes.

Still, the service was excellent, if a bit misguided- the concierge sort of failed on the dinner recommendation- and we never had to wait more than a minute for our car from the valet.

Excellent location and a fun bar/pool scene.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alnyc419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHotel2010, Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear alnyc419,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with us on Tripadvisor about your recent stay. One of our recent Tripadvisors noted a "renovation" but what was happening at that time was a four week restoration of our lobby in preparation for our 100 year anniversary weekend. The project has since been completed.

The color palatte of our new lobby is a canvas for what is to come at the Beverly Hills Hotel over the next three years while we launch a carefully planned interior restoration of our guestrooms and suites. This restoration will add luxury and honor an iconic building and design heritage. The process will take place in multiple phases over the next three years so there will be no interruption of the guest experience. We began with the lobby so we could get the largest project out of the way first. It looks beautiful!

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you back at The Beverly Hills Hotel during our Centennial year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed four days at the BHH in January of this year. Bungalow suite #2-A. Yes, the decor is dated - and the bathrooms need update (gold! plating is wearing off the fixtures. BUT, we've never had a more comfortable bed - the room was SILENT. Motorized blinds, over shutters. For jet lagged types - it was nirvana. Our suite was close enough to the main hotel to be convenient, and spacious - with half bath, wood burning fireplace (with gas ignition), dining room and kitchen (which would have been better with a microwave -- but hey it had a SUBZERO full size refrig.)

Room service was flawless: the grilled scallops were as good as you could get anywhere - and we appreciated the complimentary champagne! Whenever you'd ask for something from room staff it would be "yes" and arrive almost immediately.

The concierge got us into the two top restaurants (in our opinion, anyway) with less than 24 hours notice and we opted for the hotel's offering of rental car (convenient as it's delivered to you once you've checked int) - expensive - but this IS Beverly Hills.

Although it's a bit "tired" in terms of decor - we loved the food and ambience of the Pool Grill. Club Sandwich is fantastic. BUT, it was the Polo Lounge that charmed.... fantastic breakfast and dinners. And a paper with your breakfast sir -- yep it arrived unbidden after the first day.

We both tried the La Prairie Spa - OMG. I had the men's "time saver" - a manicure, pedicure and facial performed by two attendants simultaneously. It's a little uncomfortable being a man in their spa - they're not set up exactly perfectly for men - so I had a treatment in the women's section. But the experience was a little out of body. AND - no pressure to purchase creams, etc. at the end. Men's changing room/steam/sauna is "empty" - never crowded - and spotless.

Headed back there is a few weeks. This is a classic hotel and of a "certain age" - if you like slick - go elsewhere. But if you want the real thing..... the Beverly Hills Hotel is IT.

Room Tip: Go for a close-in "Bungalow Suite". Higher numbers are a bit of a hike to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHotel2010, Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear JHhH,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us.

Did you know that 2012 is our centennial year? We were here before the city of Beverly Hills so these walls are definitely talking. We are proud of who we are and love to read feedback that speaks so much to our personality and our heritage.

You will be pleased to know we are beginning a careful restoration of our guestrooms and suites to be carried out over the next three years. We are doing it very slowly so we do not interrupt the guest experience but the outdated features and fixtures you note will be a thing of the past very soon. No worries, the banana leaf wallpaper, green and white stripes, and famous pink exterior will remain constants.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. We just finished our four week restoration of the lobby and it's stunning! We can't wait for everyone to see it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just completed a great weekend stay at the Beverly Hill Hotel. We stayed in a regular room that faced the local neighborhood and one of the few with a balcony. The room was probably 5-600 sq ft with a large vegas style bathroom with tub/shower. The room had a sofa sitting area facing a tv, stereo, etc. and the walk in closet was a nice touch.

We went here for the experience of staying in the Beverly Hills Hotel and the experience was even better than I could have imagined. Everywhere we went we were greeted with a smile and excellent service. From the pool to the polo lounge to housekeeping and valet the place runs like clockwork. I particularly liked the vibe - it's upscale and although there are some "stuffy" patrons most people are very laid back and the overall feel is just comfortable.

We also ate at the pool lounge, polo lounge and room service - all were consistently excellent. The beds were dressed in fine linens and pillows were pressed, crisp and had corners. Really nice.

They are in the middle of renovating the common areas and what's done so far looks like it's going to be great - taking a little bit of the "pink" out of the pink lady will be great as the property gets a slightly more modern take on a classic Holllywood look.

Highly recommended - It's not a new modern facility but it's immaculate, and service is impeccable - I see why so many people spend so much time (and money) here.

Room Tip: If they are in your budget, the bungalows looked amazing - otherwise ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHotel2010, Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear DonFTL,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed the experience and you'll be pleased to know, we've completed the restoration of our lobby! We will be posting pictures on our Facebook page and also our website so check back and see the amazing results.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Our room was pleasant enough, but the service was disorganised and the staff indifferent, bordering on rude.

Nobody showed us to our room, and the bags took half an hour to arrive, even though it was a quiet evening.

As a side note, there is no free internet as mentioned on this site. When speaking to the front desk and explaining that free high speed internet is listed as an amenity, they were unwilling to help.

So unfortunately I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Manorsoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Have been staying here for the last 20 years in the bungalows, annually, for a couple of weeks at a time. Excellent service, lovely surroundings, attentive staff, some of which i have come to know well. This is my favourite place in the world to stay in. I think I will retire here when I grow old! Favourite thing - sitting on my patio working, watching the humming birds come and go, with the sound of the fountain in the background...sublime......

Room Tip: Seriously amazing place to stay in...the bungalows are in a beautiful oasis out the back...simply am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farawayfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHotel2010, Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Farawayfox,

We would love for you to retire here with us at The Beverly Hills Hotel! We're ready, just call us when you are and we'll have your bungalow ready.

Thank you for your business, and your comments. Hope to see you again soon during our 100 anniversary year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

my husband, dog and i spent memorial day weekend hiding away on the other side of our own hometown, at the pink palace.
we have always loved grabbing dinner or a drink at the polo lounge and decided it was time to finally spend a weekend in a bungalow since we were too tired and travel to much for work to want to drive much further than 5 miles.

staying as guests far exceeded our admittedly very high expectations.
the grande dame has definitely still got it and outclasses most other LA hotels i have put clients in (from the four seasons to beverly wilshire to casa del mar to shutters)

we decided to go for a garden suite bungalow, since we wanted space, and requested a quiet room in the back of the property.
we feel that it was worth every penny. very private, away from the more busy pathways, huge and lovely, with a kitchen, living room, bedroom, fireplace and patio overlooking grass area for our dog to enjoy a sunbeam. we were loath to leave the suite at all.

if you are looking for a sleek, white, stark modern hotel then stay at a sleek modern hotel.

this is true old hollywood luxury, and a genteel and elegant experience all around.
yes, the bathrooms are quite low (i am 6 feet, my husband 6'5 and neither of us fit under the show) and no, they don't have every ipod/iphone dock but this is a 100 year old hotel and the adorable marble pink regency style bathrooms are simply a part of that.
everything is impeccably clean and all of the towels, bedding and furnishings are just top notch. the bath products are also surprisingly good, and i usually never use hotel provided ones.

the staff are wonderful, they greeted us by name at every turn and responded to any request with a smile.

even with a quite busy holiday weekend pool area the service was always excellent and friendly, and we had no problems getting chairs and sun shades from the attentive pool staff.

our only small annoyance was that we wished the pool staff could to ask people to control their children a little more (at least not have them scream like crazy constantly and run around other peoples loungers) but we understand that is our subjective opinion and a tough thing for a hotel to police.

as far as dining- room service, polo lounge and cabana cafe all exceeded expectations, there were alot of new healthy, light options on the menu that we hadnt seen in previous visits and everything was fresh and delicious.

the construction was minimal, and totally not disruptive to any of our experiences on the property. again, its a 100 year old 5 star hotel, these things occasionally need to be done and there is not much of a low season here in southern california

overall, a dream come true and a wonderful stay. we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: we stayed in a garden suite, lower level in the far back of the property and loved it. no noise what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beafoulger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
860 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 355 in Los Angeles
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Waldorf Astoria Beverly Hills
Waldorf Astoria Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
234 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#9 of 15 in Beverly Hills
3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beverly Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverly Hills Hotel

Address: 9641 Sunset Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-2938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range: $771 - $1,532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beverly Hills Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beverly Hills Hotel is a luxury, five-star hotel, located on Sunset Boulevard in the center of Beverly Hills and surrounded by 12 acres of lush, tropical gardens, exotic flowers, and private walkways. Providing privacy and tranquility in a truly residential setting, The Beverly Hills Hotel is within easy access to the business and entertainment centers of Los Angeles, Century City, Rodeo Drive, and many of the Hollywood studios. The hotel is just a 35-minute drive from Los Angeles International Airport. Referred to locally as "The Pink Palace" The Beverly Hills Hotel is a place to see and be seen, to catch glimpses of famous faces, or to revel in splendid luxury. What makes The Beverly Hills Hotel stand out is its superlative combination of service, a location that offers guests privacy, yet in the heart of a city, and a refreshed facility that, while faithful to the hotel's architectural and interior design traditions, is more dramatically beautiful than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Beverly Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing