We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better than 2013”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Big Bear Region, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tamitha
Indio, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Even better than 2013”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent 2 months in this place in 2013 and this year we stayed from June 17 to Sept 4, 2014. This home is about 3 miles up Bear Mtn from Big Bear Blvd. The owner replaced the living room furniture with beautiful new furniture even a super recliner. They also replaced the dining room chairs and the island stools plus dishes, pots and pans, and glasses with very nice new stuff. This place has a loft that is over the garage with 4 beds, TV, and lots of room for the kids. Last year our granddaughters loved their room! There is a deck off the dining room that overlooks vacant treed land. We enjoyed sitting on the deck and bird watching. There is a table, 4 chairs and a BBQ. We enjoyed eating on the deck. We have seen a mountain lion, black bear, and lots of coyotes. There are also chipmunks, squirrels, rabbits and many species of birds. The place has a dishwasher, washer, dryer, micro, and WiFi. The master bedroom a large with a walk in closet, and bathroom. The bed was comfortable with a down comforter. It is pet friendly and our cat loved the views and many critters to watch. This place is at about 7100 feet. One thing Do Not Let Your Pet Roam around the area alone. They could become dinner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the windows and deck.
Liked least: Charcoal BBQ, I used to gas, but this one worked and we did have some great BBQ's.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
Thank you for the fantastic review! You were so detailed and thoughtful. Big Bear Vacations would love to help you plan your next Vacation to Big Bear.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamitha
Indio, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Cabin Ever”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent 2 months in this cabin and it was wonderful. The cabin was really a 3 bedroom home with flat screen TV's in the living room, bedroom and loft. They have charter service with 171 channels. The master bedroom is large with a very comfortable king bed. The view from the living room and dining room is of forest. We saw a black bear and maybe a mountain lion and 5 coyotes, plus lots of birds. The kitchen was well equipped with all the needed stuff. It has a coffee pot, but we brought our own. Most of the rooms have high open beam ceilings. The furnace warmed up house in the morning quickly. It has a dishwasher, washer, and dryer. It has a garage suitable for one standard size car. We had no AT&T cell reception. We were told Verizon does work here. There is a balcony off the dining room with a BBQ. This was a great place to watch birds and where I sat it felt like I was out in the middle of a forest with no one around. There were no houses on our side of the road past this cabin. There are few stairs which is good for older folks, plus it has a loft that is perfect for kids. We enjoyed this cabin so much we have rented it for 12 weeks next year. Also, the management firm Big Bear Vacation Rentals was great, responsive to our needs and helpful Jackie Garzo, the agent we rented from was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Could have had more cereal bowls.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this informative review. It sounds like this cabin was your ideal home away from home! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you next year!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the cabin and that it was a good fit for your group. We will inform the property manager that they need to inventory the silverware to make sure there is enough for the occupancy. We agree that it is an ideal location near Bear Mountain and a perfect family vacation home with ample amenities. If you have some time we would love for you to review Big Bear Vacations and this cabin on www.yelp.com. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 2 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Feb 2012
It’s excellent to see you had such a wonderful time at Colbert Cabin! We’re very pleased to see the home exceeded your expectations. If you are contemplating a summer time trip to Big Bear, our Vacation Planners are able to help your find the right home for your future vacation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oceanside
Reviewed 1 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Dec 2011
We’re so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with your return visit to Colbert Cabin. More so, it is great to see that our Front Desk staff members provided you with the standard of service you have come to expect from us. We do strive to provide the best services and experience possible for all of our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
los angeles
Reviewed 30 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Mar 2011
Darn those board-games!!!!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay
We did in fact purchase a brand new plasma TV so come back and bring along those kiddies!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West LA
Reviewed 2 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Mar 2011
Thank you for your review.We are thrilled you had a good time.Hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing