We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
32
39
15
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
39
15
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room coyote cabin the kitchen big bear we've stayed fridge and microwave cozy cabin get away fawn homes fireplace wood village bbq jacuzzi mountains linens
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 102 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2018

Booked here at the last minute since everything was sold out. The staff was extremely friendly and we ended up with a great deal. We stayed in the Fawn Cottage which appears to have a few updates so it wasn't completely groovy. Lighting situation wasn't great and its a bit rustic. The bed was pretty uncomfortable. But, on the plus side there is a little fireplace, fridge and microwave and the heater was super warm. It's on the edge of town but only a mile and half or so into the village.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cburnsesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018

We stayed @ Grey Squirrel for many years & loved it. But the resort was sold . And nothing is as good as it used to be. While the staff on property is friendly & trying hard the new owner (who owns several other properties in the area) doesn't appear to care or be committed to a great experience for his guests or his staff. Everything needs repairs & updating but the onsite staff's hands seem to be tied by a lack of financial commitment by the owner. The few updates that have been made seem cheap & are not an improvement. It used to be quaint, cute & cozy. Not anymore. The Jacuzzi hardly ever is functional....sorry, a must for us on a ski trip. We have found other (better & more accommodating) places to stay in Big Bear. You lost us Grey Squirrel. While we'll be back to Big Bear we'll never stay @ GS

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elinor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Drove 3.5 hours from San Diego to arrive to a cabin that I booked in October that was musty stinky smokey smelling. Poor condition. Ripped screens cheap windows some without locks. 2 of the old wood windows dont close. The heater is right on the stairs an issue for those with youngsters . Floor was squishy and worn. Only an old stand up shower that leaKS although they have conserve water signs everywhere. The kitchen smelt moldy . The stairs squeek. The carpet is old and worn. There was hair and a hair bead left on the floor in the bedroom downstairs. Couch is worn and sagging . TV is located in the corner of the living room . Bad layout. Bedroom tvs are tiny smaller than a 19" the welcome and about BB magazine were sticky. No firewood . Must pay for propane if you want to use a BBQ. Many outlets did not work. Dont let the online photos fool you. There is no breakfast as advertised. Worst part we touched nothing and left they said they had to have housekeeping go out again which was a lie we left within an hour of being there and drove home because everything in BB was booked . I spent almost $1400 for 3 nights and they will not refund any of it even though they re. Rented the room. They offered us a credit to return they said they have 2 other places I'm left with no choice but to go back and hope one of the other places is better.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Charlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

You will really enjoy staying at this resort. The cabins are cute and cozy. They are very well priced and clean.

They are close to the center of town for food and shopping.

We have stayed here several time when we go wheeling in Big Bear and have never been disappointed.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ZMBEKLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile

We just stayed at the Lilly bear cabin 6 for a couple nights. Overall, we would not stay here again. The word "resort" is used but I would call it a row of old cabins. The kid area is a couple old outdoor toys and there's nothing else right there. If you don't plan on spending any time here except to sleep it might be right for you but with small children who need naps it was not a good fit or enjoyable experience for us.

Pros:
As clean as you can get an old rundown cabin
Comfortable beds
Good customer service
Close proximity to snow summit and the village (short drive)
Plenty of room
Pet friendly
In room spa service available

Cons:
Super rundown and needs a complete renovation by a professional (the new bathroom is a hodgepodge job)
Multiple things broke during our short stay (the staff fixed it promptly but not something you want to deal with on a short get away)
Loud heater and room doors must be kept open for heat to reach the rooms.
Old moldy jacuzzi in the back yard

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dubbs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews