We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a very good motel at all!”
Review of Starlight Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starlight Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We decided to stay at this motel in Big Pine after reading the positive reviews. We travel a lot and usually stay at budget hotels, this was substantially below our expectations.
Our friends traveling with us were unable to get last minute reservations anywhere in Big Pine. So we asked the Starlight management if they could stay in our room. The management charged them $65 per person, a total rip off. I guess management knew that there wasn't another room available in fifty miles so they took extreme advantage of the situation. That brought the total for the room to $140 per night!
A few of the problems during our stay:
The air conditioner stopped working each night. We awoke sweating several times in the middle of the night to fiddle with the controls until it cycled back on again. it made a buzzing noise and stopped working all together on the last hot muggy night and morning of our stay.
The door know inside the bathroom didn't work and it required all kinds of effort to get the door opened.
There was one kitchen chair in our room, nothing else. We had to bring cheap plastic lawn chairs from the patio into the room to sit on.
The Wifi ran slow and dropped out constantly while using my Mac laptop. The router with two antenna was directly outside our door.
The day before we left, room service merely put new towels in the bathroom, they didn't change the sheets or make the beds.
We talked briefly to a man on the property about the air conditioner and he tried to tell us that we had the wrong settings on the control panel! NOT TRUE.
No ice in the utility room that had a sign with the words "Ice" on the door.

A terrible experience that ruined our holiday. I would not recommend this motel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BILLGATESNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TusharOza, General Manager at Starlight Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

We appreciate your feedback and regret your past unfavorable experience.

I am delighted to inform you that the Starlight Motel has different owners & I am personally overseeing the management of this property. I promise you outstanding customer service & welcome you back so you may experience our warm friendly environment.

Thank you for drawing our attention to the issues. We promise to address your concerns and shall strive to enhance our services for all customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2009

For a budget motel, this exceeded our expectations. Large rooms with heating, good bathroom, nice beds and a fridge and coffee facilties all made for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben_pope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We have stayed at the Starlight Motel two years in a row during the Lone Pine Film Festival. The owners have always been very friendly and very accomodating. The rooms have always been very clean. Bathrooms are small but very clean also. We liked the fact that it was a little ways away from Lone Pine and not far from Bishop. We are actually going to be staying again this year.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesertRatLaQuinta_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

This was exactly the type of motel that I was looking for the night before my son and I hiked White Mountain Peak. Something reasonable, clean, relatively close to the trailhead and memorable. I had all the things I was looking for supplied. It was $52 with tax for the night. The room was very clean. It was only an hour to the trail we were going to. And finally it was memorable. We arrived at the hotel after driving through Death Valley from Vegas (118 degrees!) and rang the bell. After a minute the owner (I assume) came to greet us with his hair still wet. He said he just got out of the shower. That's what I am talking about memorable. Who remembers the last Hampton Inn they stayed at but I'll fondly remember the Starlight Motel. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2005

Stayed here last week (June 2005) on the basis of reviews read. Small and simple rooms, but immaculate and very clean. Very friendly and obliging hosts. Bathrooms are small and tall people may have difficulty getting under the shower head. Fridges and coffee makers in rooms. No breakfast served. Limited eating options in town for dinner Bishop only 14 miles away has plenty), but diner nearby does good breakfasts.

10  Thank Cotswolds_crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bartdereiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank gretsch2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
24.7 km away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
2,070 reviews
24.6 km away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
924 reviews
25.2 km away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
24.3 km away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 20 in Bishop
386 reviews
0.6 km away
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Bristlecone Manor Motel
#3 of 3 in Big Pine
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motel

Address: 511 S Main St, P O Box 718, Big Pine, CA 93513
Region: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range: $127 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned motel providing excellent customer service. We have clean, comfortable & caring environment at reasonable prices. We have multi-lingual staff and value cultural diversity. We strive to provide outstanding service at reasonable prices. We are located on the scenic Highway 395. We are nestled between Sierra Mountains to our west, Death Valley to our east & the magnificent Yosemite National Park to our north. Mount Whitney is just over 50 miles south-west and you can easily reach there in about one hour. Starlight Motel is within 25 miles of the Bristlecone Pine Forest. Mountains, lakes, and hiking trials surround us with wonderful fishing as well as skiing in the vicinity. We are just 14 miles south of Bishop & north of Independence. Starlight Motel and the Oza family always welcome children. To make your child feel at home, fresh fruit, snacks, or treats await you at our humble abode. Children always bring us good cheer and positive energy to this lovely landscape. We offer special price to teachers, military veterans, senior citizens, emergency caregivers, artists, writers, theatre community, union workers, & students. We welcome pets based on availability. (*Charges may apply.) Guide dogs are permitted FREE for our guest's convenience. Starlight Motel is a proud sponsor of "Adopt-A-Highway" program. We promote recycling & not wasting our natural resources as we support the Sierra Conservation Project. Our motto: Arrive as guests, leave as friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Starlight Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Motel Big Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing