We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and atmosphere ”
Review of Cardinal Cafe

Cardinal Cafe
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Bishop
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pizza
Description: Cardinal Cafe is closed for the winter. Reopening will be the last Saturday of April.
Restaurant details
Description: Cardinal Cafe is closed for the winter. Reopening will be the last Saturday of April.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

We were taken to Cardinal Cafe by some regulars. People were super friendly and welcomed visitors. The setting is beautiful surrounded by mountains. You can enjoy all you can eat wood fired pizza which is made right in front of you. The selections are very unique. They also make dessert pizza. I definitely recommend Cardinal Cafe if you're in the Bishop area!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank KristiS627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2017

This is the second time we've eaten at Cardinal Cafe in Aspendale. This place is awesome, from the service to the food. We ate there yesterday: monster grilled hot dogs with everything on them and a hamburger that puts the Burger Barn to shame.

Moreover, you eat in one of the most spectacular settings anywhere: next to the face of a mountain in the Eastern Sierras far from the road.

The service is fantastic, they make sure you're taken care of and then some. Jackie, the A+ server, a college student, grew up in Bishop.

Cardinal Cafe is seasonal, open May to October and serves from 8am to 3pm. The menu is limited -- grilled cheese, ham/cheeseburgers, hot dogs, milk shakes (homemade: the strawberry milkshake is ice cream with their homemade strawberry jam) -- but who cares: with a burger and a beer, or a glass of wine (they have plenty of both), you're set. Indoor and outdoor seating, very clean restrooms, gift shop. Nice, low piped music outside.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2016

This restaurant has the best burgers anywhere in the Eastern Sierra and the french toast is the best I have ever had and I used to cook for a loving for 20 years. It's a great place to come alone or with friends and you will always get pleanty to eat and lots of smiling faces.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaleAnn, Owner at Cardinal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

Glad you're a fan! We're open for the season!
Hurry on up the hill'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2016

The cafe is open for breakfast and lunch. You order from a menu on the wall, pay at the counter, then your order is brought to you. There is indoor and outdoor seating on the deck

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank lauriekidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaleAnn, Owner at Cardinal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

Hope you enjoyed your meal.
We are opened now for the 2017 season.
We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2016

We love visiting Ken & ShaleAnn and ordering a yummy pancake (my husband and I split one!) for breakfast or a yummy cheeseburger (they grill the cheese on the sides a bit to make it a little crispy-YUM!). It's not the lowest pricing around, but it is yummy!! :D

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2Larsons4Jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaleAnn, Owner at Cardinal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

Looking forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cardinal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing