We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradise Shores RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We stayed on May 21,2017 for just one night. The owners are poring their hearts and souls into this campground and it shows. From the remodeled trailers with different themes to the tenting spots that have soft mulch to pitch your tent upon, to the meticulously leveled full hookup pull through sites, it really is a place of imagination and whimsy. The lake is very close and has beautiful views. There is a gathering deck for happy hour and a terrific communal campfire ring. We didn't join in due to fatigue, but we heard very faint music coming from the campfire direction early in the evening. All in all, it was a delightful stay and the owners can well be proud of the atmosphere they are creating here. We will be back, hopefully for more than a night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2017

Paradise Shores was a great basecamp for out recent backcountry ski trip. The views are vast and scenic. Alan and Veronika keep the place really clean and are always working on some fun projects. There's a cool campfire ring, an outdoor lounge area, and now they are building a veranda with solar panels. There are some tent sites, some RV sites, and these cool Airbnb trailers, so an interesting mix of people around. Veronika and Alan are such great hosts, it was hard to leave!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ThomEngelbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Alaska will have to wait, paradise has been found right here in California! We've been all over the mountain west, Europe and AK for our sport and this home base is AMAZING.

In terms of a RV resort it's lovely, peaceful and friendly. Location is so great. Come and enjoy!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CabareteJayLEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Having stayed in thIs RV Park three times over five years, I can say, without reservation, it is our favorite spot on the East side of the Sierra Nevada!! Alan & Veronika greet you like long time friends and go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. They have great suggestions about things to see and do, in case you are looking for a local's perspective. The sites are clean, well maintained and right on Bridgeport Reservoir.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank EdWhitby8981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Alan and Veronica have a really nice place and are good people. We have stayed there, 4 times, over the last couple of years. They do a great job of making us feel welcome and are always accomidating for our big rig. Bodie ghost town is 20 miles away along with a lot of other mining history. You can ride and ride, and don't have to look over your shoulder for the National forest nazi's!! We look forward to staying at Paradise Shores again next year. Oh, and they are dog people to. The rating that "Duramax2006", gave is total B.S. I have seen people from all walks of life stay there.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank N5828SUmarkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

This RV park on the shores of Bridgeport Reservoir is very neat and clean. They provide Qtips, razors, and lotion in their restroom--which is spotlessly clean. You can borrow their kayaks and paddleboards for free, and their spaces are gravel and relatively level. Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank carolmD5497WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Told we couldn't stay there when we had pre-registered online drove 6 hours and turned away, these people are racist against people with red shirts that belong to a historical society that plaque historical land sites. We had never stayed there before so we were profiled that we were bad people and going to cause problems.

Room Tip: Go to Twinn Lakes or somewhere that is friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
6  Thank Duramax2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradiseshores, Owner at Paradise Shores RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you Duramax2006 for sharing your opinion about Paradise Shores. It’s the only way we can improve and we have given it much thought. We appreciate how you must have felt to be denied access here. It is a hassle to drive such large distances. When you arrive, all you want to do is pull into your spot and relax. We pride ourselves on making the best park possible. For most of our guests that means a quiet place, free of large or loud groups, with no public intoxication, and quiet hours respected. We try very hard to make sure that everyone has that experience. Achieving that sometimes requires us to make difficult choices. For example, we chose to be a family friendly park. That means no cursing, no drinking, no late night parties. Sometimes we make wrong call, but just because someone has kids, it does not make them eligible. Just because they are from a particular organization, it does not make them ineligible either.

As for your organization, The Clampers, we have had many years of extremely bad experiences. Public drunkenness and disorderly conduct does not even begin to explain what we have witnessed, it was disgusting. Despite that, we still accept clampers on a limited basis. The day your group arrived, we had four other clampers staying with us already, so yes, we do accept them. We applaud and support the organization and the many good things they have done. We abhor the actions of some people within the group who tarnish its good name. The problem is we don’t know who is good and who is bad, and so we are forced to make broad strokes. Thus we only accept those who have stayed with us before, preferably during other times of the year, not only for the two days of their meeting in Bridgeport.

Unfortunately your group came in under the radar and was unable to be vetted. When your first tent reservation arrived, we accepted them but said we wouldn’t tolerate any problems. They were fine and seemingly respectful. It would have been an honor to host them. Then the next larger group came in. Four trucks packed to the gills towing flat trailers overflowing with stuff. All this intended for two smallish tent sites. Then out came some men cursing in front of my wife, spitting on the ground, and showing general disrespect. That’s when things got worse. We said there would be no public drunkenness tolerated and this did not go over very well with your group. We offered full refunds to all. We thought that would be the end of it. But no.

During the next several days we had multiple guests come to us and thank us for not admitting your particular group. TWO OF THOSE WERE OTHER CLAMPERS FROM YOUR ORGANIZATION! They witnessed your behavior in other areas of town and were mortified. It later came to our attention that you were also thrown out of two other locations during that same weekend. It did not go unnoticed that every time you passed our park you leaned on your horns and screamed profanity. So, I believe that in this case we made the right call.

Just to reiterate, we’d make decision on accepting the members of Clampers or any other organization on one-by-one basis, taking into account their general conduct and attitude, but above all prioritizing the wellbeing and comfort of all of our guests, with the aim of maintaining our reputation of a family friendly RV park. If that means that at times we need to be selective or take unpopular decisions when accepting guests, so be it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgeport hotels
3.7 km away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
218 reviews
11.4 km away
Virginia Creek Settlement
Virginia Creek Settlement
#1 of 8 in Bridgeport
314 reviews
4 km away
Redwood Motel
Redwood Motel
#3 of 5 in Bridgeport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
139 reviews
3.8 km away
Bridgeport Inn
Bridgeport Inn
#2 of 4 in Bridgeport
142 reviews
6 km away
Big Meadow Lodge
Big Meadow Lodge
#6 of 8 in Bridgeport
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Shores RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Shores RV Park

Address: 2399 Hwy 182, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Region: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bridgeport
Price Range: $1 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to stay and play in Paradise! Welcome to Paradise Shores Camp, Bridgeport Reservoir's full service RV Park & Campground! Our camp is conveniently located to all High Sierra attractions. We believe in campfires, starry nights, good laughs, exploration, a deep sleep and an early rise. We hope Paradise Shores becomes your home as it is ours. All our RV sites have full hookups and internet. We are fortunate to be located right on Bridgeport Reservoir, with its world famous fishing and water sports. The blue ribbon trout fishing of East Walker River is only a short walk. Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows, Mono, June, Convict, and Twin Lakes as well as Bodie Ghost Town are all within a short drive from our camp. This area is one of the most spectacular in the world and offers exceptional recreational activities. Water skiing, sailing, mountain biking, road biking, hiking, and of course fishing are all readily available right from the property. For the more adventurous, try rock climbing, hiking, snowmobiling and year-round skiing in the backcountry. You may just want to lay in one of our hammocks and read for three days, stargaze, enjoy the campfire and eat s’mores. The possibilities are endless. The Yosemite National Park, which occupies less then 10% of the Sierra Mountain Range, is only a small fraction of the attractions this spectacular area affords. The surrounding terrain offers endless activities and unimaginable scenery in the most remote wilderness settings. Enjoy bird watching?...there are hundreds of different species right here at Paradise Shores. Did we mention the world class fishing? We are the closest lodging and RV facility to the famous Blue Ribbon East Walker River, not to mention the trophy fishery right here at Bridgeport Reservoir. Additionally, all of the other lakes, creeks and rivers are only a short cast away. People travel all over the world to stay with us and fish this unique area. The fish are plentiful here at Paradise Shores, the people are warm and the atmosphere is casual. Bring the whole family, everyone is going to have a memorable time. Return to your senses. Put down your phone and pick up experience, the mountains are calling... Please email us if you have any questions or would like more info. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing