We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Carrollton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed 5 nights with my 11 year old nephew. The hotel was decent, the staff very friendly. We enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi. Beds were comfy but the pillows felt like a bunch of towels thrown into a pillow case, very uncomfortable. The afternoon front desk guy who checked us in was so friendly and helpful with getting us a tour bus rental cheaper than online. We had problems with the door to the room and key card but the staff helped each time. Overall good stay but the other guests would sit out at the BBQ area and talk loud and play music til 2am which doesn't go well when you are trying to get up early for the breakfast and enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: Stay away from the BBQ area it gets noisy at night and into the early mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saisai1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It is our goal to make sure our guests enjoy their visit with us. We welcome all comments and concerns as it lets us know how we are doing. We look forward to serving you on a future visit to Buena Park.

Kind regards,
Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    130
    113
    83
    113
See reviews for
310
80
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

At the Howard Johnson "They make you feel at home". Great customer service, from the front desk to the maids. Kudos to Raymond and his staff for a great experience. They are available 24/7 to assist with your needs.
There is free breakfast from 6-9am every morning and free coffee 24/7. There are two good restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance, Paul's Place & Hoff's Hut Restaurant (Great deserts, cakes & pies).
Shuttle service to Knotsberry Farm & Disneyland available daily.

Room Tip: Rooms with kitchens are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUCE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saisai1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review for our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time staying with us. Please visit us again on a future visit to the area.

Kind regards,
Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I spent a night at the hotel, and boy was that a mistake. Rooms are typical of a budget hotel. Front desk staff looked like they were a bit confused or perhaps new at the job. After waiting in the lobby for 20 minutes to get a room, got up to the room and there were dead cockroaches in the bathtub. I called the front desk and they said they could move me to another room or give me a small discount. I was too tired to move so went to sleep. Next morning I woke up with red bug bites all over my legs and back. The room had bedbugs. I told the front desk and they said they would look into it and call me. Never heard back from them. Tried to disinfect my clothes etc so I dont carry them back to my home. Bedbugs are the worst- I would not stay there again if the rooms were free- Terrible hotel. Shame on you Howard Johnsons for such poor standards!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigelvis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
FULL REFUND PROCESSED
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly stay. Yes it is true you had to wait at the desk as the system was down and we were trying to be sure of the room rented. As seen in the pictures we are remodeling our interior with new bed mattress, TV, all new bed spreads etc. Each month we have pest services for all the insects and make sure the rooms are clean. We have given full refund due to your discomfort during your stay. We are sorry you felt we fell below your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another chance to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for our semi annual trip to Knotts Berry Farm. The staff was very very friendly and helpful., The only problem I had was having to pay for the entire room fees upfront.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out such a descriptive review for our hotel. We are in a great location for any sort of travel. We are glad you were happy with our friendly staff, and regarding the payments we are sorry as that is the hotel policy . We hope if you are ever in town again that you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.2 km away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.3 km away
Knott's Berry Farm Resort Hotel
2.7 km away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Portola Inn and Suites
Portola Inn and Suites
#14 of 19 in Buena Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
1.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Anaheim North/Buena Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Property: Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Address: 7039 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Buena Park Hotel Buena Park
Buena Park Howard Johnson
Travelodge Buena Park
Travel Lodge Buena Park
Buena Park Travel Lodge
Buena Park Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing