We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
245
148
46
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
148
46
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel restaurant downstairs hot tub an older hotel downtown calistoga private jacuzzi pool area no elevator desk staff the cottages the main street wine tasting the staff was friendly and helpful lincoln ave nice breakfast bed was very comfortable quaint town
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 467 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

We stayed at the Mount View for 4 nights. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The hallway leading back to the room was a bit Shining-esque but I suppose that is to be expected of a hotel from the late 1800's. The bathroom could use a bit of a facelift. There was limited counter space and we had an issue with the sink knob for the cold water. My main issue with the overall experience was, on our second to last day the cleaning staff took a pair of crystal wine glasses that we received at a wine tasting the day prior. When we mentioned this to the front desk they went to look for them but were unsuccessful in finding them.

Room Tip: Many rooms are on the second floor which does not have an elevator (old hotel).
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FifeDawg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, General Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear FifeDawg22,
We are sorry for not finding your crystal wine glasses and we have been on the look out for them. We take reviews very seriously and examine comments that are constructive so we can improve, your comments will help us. I hope you have a chance to read this response and will contact me at your convenience. Thanks for posting this review. Derrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Quaint historic hotel in downtown Calistoga. Has nice restaurant, bar and a spa. Close to great local shops and restaurants. Well staffed and everyone was pleasant. Rooms are quite comfortable. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, Owner at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear William C,

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our town. Thanks for taking the time to past a review we appreciate it very much. Derrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

We checked in without a prior reservation and the gentleman quoted us a room for $189 total including tax etc. After we got to our room I noticed the charge was $250.09 so that evening we stopped back at the desk. The same two people were working there and saw the mistake and we were told it was corrected to $189. The next morning we went to check out and a different girl was working and again she said the charge was $250.09 and she hit my credit card with that amount. Once again I told her that was not correct. She was very kind but said we would have to wait for a manager. So we waited 15 minutes and a nice manager helped us. He gave me a receipt with half a dozen different numbers and said they are not totaled but assured me they were correct. Turns out he ran a credit to my creditcard for $45.68. This was still short $15.41 of the credit we should have received but not worth arguing over. Our room was ok but noisy. Bed was comfortable

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tyke555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, General Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear Tyke555,

We want to apologize for the misunderstanding on the rate, there shouldn't be any confusion and we were not clear enough when we quoted you the rate. We will review with staff so this doesn't happen in the future. We should have presented you a copy of the invoice before charging your card to make sure it was correct to allow you a chance to see if we had made the adjustment correctly, I'm reading that we were not listening well enough. This will also be reviewed with staff. I will try to reach out to you for more detailed input about the noise. Thank you for writing this review because it's providing input that will allow us to improve. Derrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Stayed here with my husband, niece and her husband. We were celebrating our 25th and they their 1st anniversary during the Fall. After a day taking in some of the wineries this was wonderful. The beds were comfy and the rooms are all different so that added to the interest of the place! Calistoga is a great small town, we will be back!

Room Tip: We had the Halloween room; I don't think you can go wrong with any of them!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KristaKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, General Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear KristaKam,

We love to read that you will be back and it can't be soon enough. Watch for our specials for you next visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it very much. Derrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed the quaint balcony room, the relaxing outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi.
Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Special thanks to one of the management staff Mathew who made our stay even more special. Let's get this guy some nice khaki shorts and comfortable shirt, he was cooking in that suit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank erndog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, General Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear erndog123,

Matthew is a great hospitality manager and his knowledge of the Napa Valley is amazing. Our staff is more knowledgeable because of Matthew. Being a 100 year old art deco hotel we want our staff to compliment that style and the requires us to be more formal looking. We will look into cooling Matthew down but that would require having him slow down and that will be tough to do. Thank you for posting a review. Derrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews