We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food and ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solbar - Solage Calistoga

Solbar - Solage Calistoga
Reserve with OpenTable
Solbar - Solage Calistoga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brannan Street
Description: Relax, unwind and enjoy as we surprise your palate and feed your senses with dishes as artfully constructed as they are delectable. Whether you choose our Michelin-starred Solbar – a Napa Dining favorite – or prefer the refuge of your private studio, dining here is always a singularly rewarding experience.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great food in a beautiful setting. Our mains of the diver scallops with chorizo and the duck with forbidden rice were exceptional. Wine selection was extensive. Our waitress was delightful and when we told here we had no room for dessert she still gave us a take home bag of their "doughnuts" which were amazing! Thankyou
Our only gripe is on our arrival there was no doorman to be seen and when he did eventually come to greet us it was quite unwelcomed and he seemed quite bored with the whole thing. I has to ask him if he would kindly take my jacket..
Though this would not stop me recommending others to dine at Solbar.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KA184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    205
    58
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent conversation bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Especially if the weather is nice and the fire pit is going, plan in going there for the evening. Great conversations, especially if locals are there, and you can always do bocce ball there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fidelrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overpriced Breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Find a local breakfast place if you're staying at Solage. Overpriced breakfast that was not even good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isabella091108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at Solbar - Solage Calistoga, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Solbar. I genuinely appreciate you taking your valuable time to share your experience. We continually strive to enhance our service standards; your feedback plays a critical role in that process.

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience at Solbar. We have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef to take into consideration. We were recently name one of Napa Valley's best breakfast locations and I apologize this was not your perception.

It is my hope that your travel plans will provide for a return visit to Solage. If I can be of assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate in calling.

Warm Regards,

Richard W. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The dining staff was very attentive! The atmosphere is lovely. You can sit out side and enjoy a glass of wine in the lovely night air, then walk around the lovely grounds.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank r13201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We first dined at Solbar in May 2011 and have been trying to find our way back since then. Finally made it there last night and had another awesome experience. The food is deceptively simple - the kitchen treats each fresh ingredient with such respect that the flavor of every element in each dish just shines. The Meyer lemon dressing on my perfect butter lettuce salad was incredibly fresh and flavorful, and my husband loved the smoky scallop appetizer. I ordered the "inside-out chicken" entree, which was sweet and tender (although the baked egg accompaniment didn't add much to the dish) and my husband ordered the duck breast with forbidden rice - superb. We shared the decadent chocolate cake w/stout ice cream for dessert. Also worth mentioning: the service at Solbar is beyond incredible. Everyone, from the sommelier to the waitstaff, is knowledgeable, helpful and available. (Chef Sharp visited each table at one point in the evening.) Kudos to the entire Solbar team!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mangiam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solbar - Solage Calistoga also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Solbar - Solage Calistoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing