We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
98
33
4
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
33
4
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rustic cabin redwood trees shared shower cold cereal homemade muffins breakfast included hot water suzanne property grapes degrees
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 152 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2015

I just returned from a week at Mountain Home Ranch. I stayed in the main guest house. What can I say? The bed was very comfortable, piled high with pillows. The food was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful. A great place for a workshop, a relaxing family vacation, a personal retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RonnieHausheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2015

John and I had a lovely stay at Mountain Home Ranch. It was peaceful, tranquil and relaxing. The scenery was beautiful. Accommodation comfortable and breakfasts delicious. An amazing place and the best part of our trip. Feels like you are going a little bit back in time in a very nice way. Reminded me of that series called The Waltons! Thank you.

Room Tip: The place is so quiet that noises (such as the swimming pool pump) can be heard in some rooms so best to choose the right side of the lodge.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lillybetbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2015

A throw back in time where TV wasn't king and you talked with people. John and Suzanne were great hosts, always there to answer questions, tell a bit of the history (over 100 years serving families), and to cook some great food! We are now a 5th generation visitor, bringing our grandchild and starting with my wife's grandparents in the 20's. Both my wife and wife's dad worked there as teenagers (when the camp was pretty much straight out of Dirty Dancing family camp), so they have very fond memories. It's only 15 minutes to Calistoga and maybe 25 to Santa Rosa. It's still easy to sit on their porch and strike up conversation with soon not to be strangers. They leave carrots out so that you can feed their goats and cows. They have a little lake that you can canoe, row, or paddle boat. They have lots of cabins and a few rooms in the main lodge, too. Lots of hiking trails. Note that while at the main house/lodge, you'll have WiFi and cell service, you won't have either at least some of the cabins. This is truly a place to wind down. They only serve breakfast (usually), so if you have to catch up on your texts, you can wait until you're closer to civilization :)

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DolphinMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2015

The atmosphere at Mountain Home Ranch is imbued with warm hearted spirit, an ideal setting for creative work. John & Suzanne took good care of our group, providing healthy meals and a relaxed setting for hours of painting. We appreciated the natural environment, the goats grazing with the cows, and the spring plants in bud, all contributing to a our creativity. We're coming back next year.

Room Tip: expect a rustic setting, like a summer camp, and enjoy the woods!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sas221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2015

My wife and I stay here quite often and absolutely love it. The staff are caring and responsive and always ensure that we have what we need for a great stay. The healthy food is always delicious and well prepared. The old-time charm is evident in all of the rooms and the main building. We love going for hikes down to the creek in the canyon and sitting out on the point overlooking the valley at sunset. Its a great place for a weekend get away!

Room Tip: Sunrise and Sunset are nice rooms close to the dining hall and main building. All of the lodge rooms are nice and clean. If you want something more private try one of the rustic cabins.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews