We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I would rate this place 4 stars, it got the job done, especially my massage which I really enjoyed. We opted for couples massage and mud bath which I had never done before and would have to say won't do again. The smell of the mud (volcanic) is just so gross it completely takes away from the experience. This place is not the nicest spa and not the worst. I think I would have preferred shelling out more money to get a massage at a very chic place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank em m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    175
    44
    33
    50
See reviews for
43
313
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LincolnCa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My wife has been coming to GHS for over 10 years and usually really enjoys her visit. On our last visit we were running a little behind so we called ahead to let them know. We ended up checking in literally 2 minutes late real time, 12 minutes late spa time (GHS has what they call spa time). Because their clocks are set 10 minutes ahead were late. OK... I can handle that, irritated but it is what it is. We reschedule for a hour later minus one of the planned treatments. GHS was 20 minutes late (GPS time) getting us into our massage and then cut our massage from 60 min. to 50 min. We talked to the receptionist and received no explanation. My wife emailed GHS and received no response.

I'm not sure if GHS is under new management or if it was just an off day for the spa staff.
So if you go to GHS make sure you are 10 min. early.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Not too fancy. But has what we needed. The rooms are large, airy, had a nice little wetbar with microwave and frig. The two-room feature was a very good option for a little personal privacy. Rooms are clean and well maintained. It would probably would be better if they got rid of the vintage bedspreads and used duvets instead. The spa is attached to the motel. There is also an indoor heated pool and two spas. One big plus is the nice neighborhood away from the main street.

Room Tip: There are several different room styles. They should all be pretty quiet. But size and features wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quicksilvermessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Golden Haven Hot Springs is a sweet little spa motel tucked away in Calistoga (Napa Valley), a town full of charm in itself. As per the other reviewers, it's not a 5-star resort hotel-- it's just simple accommodations at a reasonable price, given what you get as a package deal. We had a huge king suite with a deep jacuzzi tub (fed by the hot springs), fridge, TV, coffee maker and a couples spa treatment of our choice. I called the motel to make changes to our spa appointment a few times, and they were very gracious and flexible over the phone. We found the motel to be within a mile (walking distance) of town, which was no big deal. The only thing lacking was breakfast on the premises (continental would have been nice), so that was really the only inconvenience. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable and it was quiet when we stayed there. My husband had the mud bath and thoroughly enjoyed it, while I opted for the herbal jacuzzi bath and found it completely rejuvenating! Kimberly was our excellent attendant and she took very good care of us, wrapping us in warm towels and leaving us to snooze like babies after we got out of our tubs. Since we had flown to Napa from Sedona, Arizona (my husband is a pilot), this was a much-needed break after climbing around the Grand Canyon and Cathedral Rock. We were like jelly after the spa soaks! I highly recommend this place. "Fancy" doesn't matter, as long as you get good treatment, which we did. Also recommend the Petrified Forest (a 1 1/2 mile easy walk, but you have to drive a ways to get to it.) And you must visit the wineries of Napa Valley. We spent all day at Castello di Amorosa. It's a Tuscan-style castle which is nothing short of magnificent. Their wines are sold only in the castle and are well worth sampling. The grounds are beautiful-- lots of photo-ops. We would definitely come back and do this trip again, only stay longer to explore the region.

Room Tip: The king suite seems to have the better amenities. A few extra dollars are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLYINNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery Bay, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We arrived last minute. Sort of on a whim. The staff was helpful and pleasant and the room was very clean, though a bit datedt! But, we don't come to a place like this to stay in the room! It is all about the spa... which was excellent. A late appointment for a really warm, very theraputic mud bath and hot mineral bath. Then after a short cool down wrapped in a blanket, Nadine provided an absolutly outstanding deep tissue massage. It is nice to find a real massage therapist and not another 'oid and buff' specialist. A good night's sleep in their very quiet location and we took advantage of the mineral tubs and pool. We'll do it again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stopped in calistoga without reservations and after many stops at fully booked hotels, we came across Golden Haven. We were worried because we noticed no cars in their parking lot on what seemed to be a fully booked weekend. After inquiring on cost and availability, my skeptical side said to ask to see the room. I thoroughly inspected every nook, cranny, and corner of that room and to my surprise it was exceptionally clean. We decided to stay and at check-in were given a list of everything we needed to know to make us comfortable. We found all the misc labels and info in the room so helpful. The bed and pillows were comfortable and we especially enjoyed the complimentary candies and bottles of water. We were in roon 4 which had 2 queens and one was in its own separate room. The room also had a wonderful oversize vanity area and had a small kitchen sink, a refrig, and a microwave and was stocked with the basics. Each unit has its own assigned parking spot - ours was right in front of our door. It was perfect so that we didnt have to worry about our car. Our favorite part of our stay was swimming in the mineral pool. It is very well kept. The water was clean and the pool area was spotless. It shows that this establishment takes the time to tend to the minor details. Its framework is a bit country cabin of the 70's but they've done a wonderful job sprucing it up so that it feels warm, fresh and inviting. We did not have time for the spa services but folks seemed to be enjoying them. Next time you visit calistoga, you may want to give Golden Haven a try. Its not the least expensive but its comparable to other hotels in the area. We fully expected it to be a dive but were very pleasantly surprised at how meticulously cared for this property is. We're definitely going back.
Side note ~ the only suggestions we eould make to the hotel is to stck each room with a wine bottle opener and offer real creamer with your complimentary morning coffee. Otherwise all was superb!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

An absolute waste of $350 dollars!
The facilities are really like a cheap motel converted into a Spa. There are some cute details on the outside, but as soon as we entered we were treated like sheep being herded by diselegant attendants. We were "moved along" to the couple's mud room - an ugly ill-appointed room by an attendant that was not very knowledgeable or understandable (albeit smiling). We received the WORST massages ever!(as a massage instructor i am pretty tolerant - but these were pitiful!) One of the therapists was a student still in school who fumbled through the session. The other had a repertoire of 3 or 4 moves which she repeated about 20 times in each spot with little to no pressure - we decided not to stay and could not get out of there fast enough! yuk! spare yourself! we later cruised around town checking out the other spas - Calistoga Inn & Spa looked MUCH nicer and is where we will be going next time.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SliceRSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.7 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
409 reviews
1.2 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
505 reviews
0.4 km away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.6 km away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.7 km away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa

Property: Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa
Address: 1713 Lake St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#10 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Haven Hot Springs makes the perfect Calistoga spa getaway. Come and experience the magic of the hot springs mineral water and rejuvenating spa treatment, including massage and mud baths for couples. Come for the day or stay for the night in one of our newly remodeled and affordable rooms. Our most popular accommodation is our Jacuzzi room featuring the hot springs mineral water that made Calistoga the #1 spa destination in Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Haven Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing