We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Napa Hideaway in Calistoga, perfect cottages for our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hideaway Cottages
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
San Clemente, Ca
1 review
“Awesome Napa Hideaway in Calistoga, perfect cottages for our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed the weekend with 3 other couples and we each had our own cottage. They were perfect for our stay. We went wine tasting all day and came back to the Hideaway. Each couple went to their cottage and cooked/prepared hors devours and snacks and we all met out under the trees for an unbeatable evening. We finished up together in the spa before retiring to Paris, Rome, Vienna & Berlin (The cottages are all named for great destinations).
We could not have picked a better place to stay with the fun group we traveled with. Can't wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    14
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We came to Napa Valley with a group of friends to eat, relax and wine taste and received more than we could ask for at the Hideaway. The management accommodated our group during crush weekend with a row of cottages, a wonderful breakfast and picnic space for our Saturday group dinner. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2ccunningham@cox.net
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Really enjoyed this property! It is just off the main street in Calistoga, so it was very quiet and private--there are no children allowed. The grounds are green and quaint with a mineral pool and jacuzzi. The cottage we stayed in (Erevan) had a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and a TV room. It was small, but more than adequate for my husband and me. The decor is 50's-ish but it was clean, hip, and cozy. The bed was comfortable, the linens very nice, and the bathroom was adequate. We really appreciated the breakfast provided: oatmeal with dried fruit and nuts, pastry, fresh fruit, and juices. The kitchenette was stocked with dishes and cutlery as well as a tea kettle and coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. It was also a great central location for dining right in Calistoga (the Calistoga Inn restaurant was fabulous) and wine tasting in Sonoma and Napa.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFanA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

I love staying here! Its rather quaint and old fashioned, but always clean and roomy. For the price, you get a nice homey cottage with full kitchen and separate small living room. They added a "Breakfast Tote" in the last year which you pick up from the office in the morning. That consists of several fresh pastries, fruit, juice and jelly. You can already make tea or coffee in your kitchen. They also have a nice spring fed pool and spa to relax in. Further, they are in easy walking distance from Calistoga's charming downtown. Compared to other nearby lodging, I think this is a very good value.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

This charming group of cottages is tucked away off a main road near Dr. Wilkinson’s Hot Springs in Calistoga. My husband and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary there. It was the perfect setting – peaceful and romantic. From the moment we arrived, we were graciously welcomed by the manager at the front desk in a lovely, restored Victorian house with a beautiful, well manicured garden. He cheerfully escorted us down a lane past cottages named for famous cities. We turned off the lane at “Vienna” − our destination.

The cottage was ideal for quiet rest and relaxation and offered the comforts of home − a wonderful king-size bed; a charming, full kitchen complete with appliances, hot beverage supplies, and dishes; a cozy sitting room for watching television or reading; and a bathroom stocked with toiletry items, hair dryer, and aromatic soap.

For guests not inclined to cook their own breakfast (like us), a continental breakfast is provided, consisting of juice, oatmeal, pastry, and fresh fruit.

The centerpiece of the grounds is an inviting hot tub and swimming pool surrounded by beautiful landscaping.

If you’re looking for privacy, charm, comfort, and a peaceful setting at an affordable price, I highly recommend the Hideaway Cottages, owned and managed by the same family that owns and manages Dr. Wilkinson’s Hot Springs.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fun4jg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

This has to be the most quiet place in all Napa Valley.Consisting of 18 cottages, each with kitchens and picnic tables right outside or a separate porch, p[erfect for an evening cocktail and Go and try it yourselves. !protected from the hot dry summer sun by big shady trees. Since they do not accept pets or children it is really quiet and oh sooooooooooooooo relaxing and only 1 block from downtown with its restaurants. The staff is kind and helpful and it is the perfect place for an extended summer vacation. Highly recommanded!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

We found this to be a nice place, but short of outstanding. The accommodations were nice enough and the wireless internet worked OK. The grounds were generally attractive with an outdoor pool and spa. It was clean and quiet, and an easy walk to the interesting shops and restaurants of downtown Calistoga. We paid $198 + local 12% Transient Occupancy tax and thought it was somewhat expensive for what it was.To be fair though, just about every place around here is comparatively expensive and the cost might be compensated for some by the fact that the units have kitchenettes. For ourselves, we’d hate to miss trying the local restaurants. (Skip the Mexican place though!)

We'd rate this a "needs improvement". Frankly, it's looking a bit frayed these days (with the broken asphalt, etc.) and is beginning to show the signs of neglect. It has real potential though if restored to what was once its glory. At this point, it wouldn't take that much to do it. We'd recommend the owners take an objective look at how customers see the place. Customers paying room rates this high deserve basic maintenance and attention to detail.

  • Liked — Easy walk to downtown Calistoga
  • Disliked — The beginning signs of neglect
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoutOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
1.6 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.3 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.4 km away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
6.9 km away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cottages

Property: Hideaway Cottages
Address: 1412 Fairway, Calistoga, CA 94515
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#10 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cottages Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Resort Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing