We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
294
192
41
17
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
192
41
17
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden patio napa valley gas fireplace yogurt continental breakfast jacuzzi tub hard boiled eggs wine country charming hotel within walking distance queen room wine tasting bed was comfortable road noise sitting area the main street great room
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 567 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017

The Bergson is an interesting place. It is a boutique hotel/inn with about 20 rooms located in a main building and some outbuildings. Our room, in the main building, was mostly pleasant with one real quirk. The room has a Jacuzzi (which also includes the shower), which is nice. However, there is a glass wall separating it from the sleeping area. Some may consider this romantic; we found it a bit off putting.

Other than that the room was well appointed, with an in-room coffee maker, which I appreciated. One important note. The hotel is located on the main road in and out of Calistoga. Our room, which was at the front of the hotel could have quite a bit of traffic noise at times.

The breakfast was generally satisfactory, although some non-sweetened cereals would have been nice.

All in all a pleasant place, with a very helpful staff, but it does have its quirks.

Room tip: Ask for rooms away from the road.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mikep244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Bergson, we definitely appreciate it. You will be pleased to hear that we have installed privacy curtains for the Jacuzzi tubs, so now our guests can choose whether or not to take advantage of the glass wall. Thank you for being understanding about the road noise, the next time you come visit us in Calistoga, you might try one of our Jacuzzi rooms at the back of the property; same great amenities, less noise! We are looking into changing up some of our breakfast offerings, so suggestions such as your are much appreciated.

Anna Fernandez

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Our stay at The Bergson was perfectly fine for the purpose which was to visit wineries in the area for a few days. Our room was very small but comfortable with a nice fireplace that we utilized. The decor is somewhat updated but the bathrooms are very basic/older. We did notice that our neighbors in the hotel were smoking over the two nights that we stayed there which was not appealing. The hotel is right on a major road so expect some traffic noise and no sidewalks to walk into downtown Calistoga. The lobby is nice with a big, welcoming fireplace. The continental breakfast was OK to get some water and grab a banana but could do with some good coffee and baked goods from a local shop (so many options in the area). We encountered a pretty rude front desk clerk who talked back to me the few time I asked if they'd received a package that was sent to me there. Additionally, when we got back from dinner one night (9pm or so) there were no parking spots. We asked the person on duty and they told us to park in the handicap spot. We spent the night worried that someone would need it or there would be a miscommunication and we would get towed. Value wise - it's worth staying here if you don't want to spend $500+ on a room in Napa when you will be out all day wine tasting.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kr_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend staying at the Bergson for multiple reasons. Besides being a lovely Inn, it is in a wonderful location (walking distance to restaurants and shops.)The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, and kept very clean. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Also the continental breakfast was delicious.
I am looking forward to staying there again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LoveToTravel357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017

We stayed in a signature Queen room. The property was very cute. Breakfast was your average continental breakfast - lots of pastry, cereal, yogurt, hard boiled egg. Receptionist was helpful explaining the area and offering suggestions. The room was on the smaller size but worked for the two of us. Main negative was the lack of a mini fridge in the room. This would have been helpful in storing unfinished bottles of wine, cheese and meats. There also was no mirror in the living area. It's always nice to have an extra mirror outside of the bathroom to use in the morning.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianneJ619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017

The Bergson, a boutique hotel in the heart of Calistoga, may offer the best value for lodging in Napa County. It has charm, convenience, a peaceful vibe, friendly staff, and reasonable prices that include breakfast. There is ample off-street parking, and the grounds are landscaped with shade trees and magnolias that were in full bloom in June.

For Wine Country visitors who want to spend time in both Napa and Sonoma counties, Calistoga is a good location. The short drive to St. Helena takes only a few minutes, and picturesque, winding roads take you to Healdsburg or Santa Rosa in approximately half an hour.

Tiny but charming Room 107 has several advantages: a private porch and patio with a gas fireplace (not needed during our summer visit), a comfortable queen-size bed and lovely antique bedside tables, toiletries from the French company Occitane, and a quiet location at the back of the property. The room’s only drawback was the lighting. The bedside lamps looked cool but projected more light on the ceiling than on the book I wanted to read. (This was only a problem for me, however, because my husband reads on an electronic device.)

Breakfast is served in a pleasant sunny room with a few tables and chairs, more tables and chairs are outside where a colorful ceramic sculpture of Bacchus presides over the patio fountain, or if you’re in one of the rooms with a private patio, you can take your breakfast back there. You can even get the recipe for the unparalleled, custom-made granola.

In addition to the Bergson’s other amenities, my husband and I enjoyed our conversations with Josh, who mans the reception desk on weekday afternoons and evenings, and “Bo,” who supervises breakfast and who I’m told prefers that nickname to her given name (Bonita).

I would happily stay at the Bergson on my next visit to California Wine Country.

Room tip: Rooms farthest from the property's main entrance are the quietest. Our queen-bed room was quite small (but the private patio was lovely).
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iamcurioustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews