We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and I guess a value decision in high season . Read comments!”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Booking hotels late and found most hotels booked so located Bergson and booked it sort of last resort as could not get in one I desired. Was concerned that hotel was right off highway but our room was on inner court and in corner so protected from road noise. Tjhis property is aged and dated and you still pay reasonably big bucks because it is in Napa Valley. We had , I think, a handicap room, no problem in that regard but shower sprayed all over the floor. Lots of little issues.. Lighting in room was poor and hard to locate. Not really any good place to put luggage. No coffee machines in room although office had basics of continental breakfast in morning. Staff was friendly. I would just say the entire room appeared like not much had been reinvested in it in many many years. I would not go back and would not recommend. It was okay for the situation we were in and we had three nights ahead of us in another town in another nice hotel ahead of us.

Room Tip: If you need to stay here for value sake it is okay but ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdshotels, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear oandw,

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. While remodeling the Inn two years ago with more modern touches, we also kept many antique furnishings which some may view as dated. I apologize you did not locate the in-room coffee maker. We do provide coffee makers in each room and our front desk would have been happy to assist, we are here to help and love doing so. We do have one ADA accessible room which does have a walk-in shower, however there are many other rooms to choose from if the ADA shower is not needed. Thank you for your feedback on the lighting, I will review and look to improve the in room lighting. Again, thank you for your feedback as it helps us to continue to improve our service.



Sincerely,

Anna Fernandez

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

If your on a wine tasting trip to the valley this place is the perfect place to stop off for a night or two. Very clean and comfortable and the staff are very helpful. Room was very nice and its only a 2 minute walk to shops, bars and restaurants with plenty of choice. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. I will certainly book again when i am back in the area....

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiec8414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

What a great review! We are very happy to hear you were pleased with your room and that our staff made you feel at home. We are lucky to be centrally located so our guests are close to the stores and restaurants downtown. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to the Napa Valley.

Regards,

Anna
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

What a gorgeous area. Beautiful Inn with lovely lobby, sitting area outside with waterfall. Beautifully landscaped. Wonder ful room! Very comfortable! Close to lots of restaurants and shops. Delightful and Cosy

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank yodzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thank you for such kind words about our lovely little hotel. The lobby and rooms were recently renovated and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our courtyard and fountain. We hope you will consider returning to The Bergson on you next trip to Calistoga.

Regards,

Anna
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

A lovely place to stay. Beautifully upgraded and walking distance into the heart of town. Spacious room with huge bathroom (2 showerheads in the shower). Fireplace in the room. Delicious breakfast of coffee and pastry.

Room Tip: Room 207 was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 522joycec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our recently renovated hotel. The room you stayed in is a guest favorite (the double shower is very popular). We hope you took the opportunity to enjoy your breakfast in front of your cozy fireplace. We look forward to accommodating you again the next time you return to Calistoga.

Regards,

Anna
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Bergson for one night as we travelled between Tahoe and Yosemite
The staff were helpful and gave us discounts at local restaurants. Our room was huge with its on jacuzzi.
I would recommend The Bergson

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sweemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

We are so happy that you were able to take the time to visit Calistoga during your travels. Quite a few of our guests stay with us as they travel either to or from Lake Tahoe and Yosemite. It's nice to hear you were pleased with your room; the Jacuzzi tubs are very popular. Thank you for the kind review and your recommendations to future guests.

Regards,

Anna
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

The Bergson is a cute B&B right in Calistoga and close to bike hire to take you into the local wineries. Well worth the stay at The Bergson - we loved our room with spa, brekkie was delish and afternoon tea cookies were a hit! Shout out to Josh at reception who was super helpful and showed us some great wineries to visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mjward4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here at The Bergson and that our staff was helpful (and aren't those cookies yummy?). We are glad you were able to visit some local wineries during your stay, keep us in mind for next time!

Anna Fernandez

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Such a cosy hotel! Good location in Calistoga with restaurants close by. Beautifully decorated rooms. L'Occitane products in the bathroom - much appreciated! Good breakfast, but some more choices would be good. We would definitely stay here again! The only negative is the view, it was into a brick wall...

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Bergson, we appreciate it! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, aren't the L'Occitane amenities wonderful? We are looking into extending the offerings during breakfast, so keep us in mind for your next visit to Calistoga. We would definitely suggest inquiring about our lovely Garden Patio Jacuzzi rooms, they each have sliding glass doors opening on to a small private patio in a garden setting.

Anna Fernandez

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
433 reviews
1.3 km away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#14 of 15 in Calistoga
5 reviews
1.3 km away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
451 reviews
1 km away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
9.1 km away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: $166 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing