We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in wine country”
Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Peter & Philip are two of the most gracious hosts you will ever meet. The facility was impeccable. The ambiance is that of a French Château located in the middle of the vineyards. There is aways complimentary wine to sip on and if you'd like, Philip is happy to prepare a cheese and fruit platter to help you settle in. The breakfasts are prepared by Philip, a professionally trained chef. His creations are memorable. You can't miss by staying at the Château De Vie. But, do call early because it is always in high demand.

Room Tip: 1st choice - Carriage House, 2nd choice - the King Jr. Suite on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCB6427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was our first visit to Sonoma and Napa and we did a lot of research to find this small boutique bed and breakfast. We tend to prefer smaller and more intimate places, and this is exactly what we got.

Philippe and Peter, the hosts, have created a wonderful bed & breakfast, the bedrooms are lovely and well appointed and the common areas of the house are comfortable, elegant and welcoming. The house is set amongst their vines providing a wonderful backdrop to the whole experience. Breakfast in the dining room or outside in the garden (even in December) was fantastic with great dishes created from excellent produce (we had forgotten how good kiwi fruit can be).

One evening we decided that we would prefer to eat in rather than going out to the local restaurants, Philippe and Peter set-up the dining room table for us to enjoying the delicacies we bought as we toured the area that day. After dinner we spent the evening relaxing in the sitting room, browsing the many books and magazines provided, in front of the fire place - a perfect end to a wonderful day.

As well as helping us to plan our visit to the local wineries, the hosts also provide a selection of local wines and cheeses for guests to help themselves to each evening. This included an excellent bottle of the Chateau de Vie Cabernet Sauvignon.

For those who do not know the area and are looking to try some of the less well known and emerging wineries we recommend the Sonoma area ahead of the much larger (and commercial) Napa region. The drive along the Russian River Valley from the coast (Jenner) towards Healdsburg is highly recommended. We also recommend the very scenic Oakville Grade drive between the Sonoma and Napa Valleys.
We would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the vineyard (back)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at CdV. To these Eastern Seaboard eyes it seemed to capture something of the essence of California. Our room was large, clean and contemporary with a nice attention to detail (pistachios, CvD water bottles etc). Sitting in the back with the view across the vineyards to far side of the valley was the perfect way to unwinding after a demanding day swilling wine at the many easily accessible wineries. And of course there are the breakfasts. Without hyperbole, I would say that they are the best I have ever had, certainly at a commercial establishment. The dish may have differed each day but the creativity and execution remained consistently high.

My only caveat concerning CdV is a minor one. The lovely gardens are rigged without door speakers and there is new agey music playing pretty much all day. It did not add to my enjoyment of the gardens and after a while somewhat detracted.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busby09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful anniversary at CDV!
The rooms are lovely and immaculate, coffee is served outside your door when you wake up, and the hosts were delightful and helpful as many have written in reviews.
CDV grounds are gorgeously maintained with gentle piped in music and many small aesthetic features add just the right touch. The house itself has been lovingly restored to it's current glory (and a second story built), and the interior successfully brings the outside in through large untreated windows.
Even my spouse (who is not a B&B type) really had to admit that this place was perfect for a quiet child free get-away. The crispy prosciutto at breakfast was the icing on the cake for him.
When our hosts asked at the end of our visit what they could do improve on our stay, I could honestly tell them that their lovely home is already perfection!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabrinakabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Beautiful property and lovely home! It's very well-run, clean, professional, and a place I would not hesitate to recommend. The breakfasts are out of this world (as is the calorie count!). The pool looked great. We spent a late afternoon, after several winery visits, sitting in their backyard drinking their complimentary wine and eating so many hors d'oeuvres, we weren't hungry for dinner. Our friends stayed in the room in the separate building, which was really beautiful. We stayed on the top floor - this too was lovely. The only tiny issue with this otherwise amazing room (don't know if the others have it) is my husband uses a regular razor, not electric -- and the mirror hangs on the bathroom wall opposite the sink, so he had a tough time shaving. I told him to skip it....

Room Tip: They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvytraveler612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Ch. de Vie is a very charming, well-run, clean inn. I recommend it to anyone. It sits along the edge of vineyards. We took the upstairs suite but next time I'd like to try the room they have in a separate building. The people we met at the Inn were very nice and the owners helped us with reservations and ideas of things to do. I recommend the hot air balloon! The Inn has a swimming pool and hot tub. The breakfast is very good!

Be careful with directions, though, GPS sent us to the wrong place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The accommodations were perfect, the breakfast phenomenal! For a great two day visit to Napa, take the Silverado Trail up to Calistoga, stay at Chateau de Vie, then head back to San Francisco on Rte. 29. The Chateau is a beautiful property with great gardens, and their own vineyard. After arrival, sit by the fire and read the (provided) New York Times while sipping their terrific wine (also complimentary).

Phillip cooks one of the best breakfasts I have ever had at a B&B. Everything fresh and homemade. Eating breakfast on the deck looking out over their vineyard is a great way to start the day. The property was built as a B&B, so every room has its own bathroom. Bedding was very plush and comfortable.

We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All rooms have a bathroom. Some have views of Mt. St. Helena and/or their vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
12.7 km away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
3.4 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
3.5 km away
Embrace Calistoga
Embrace Calistoga
#2 of 27 in Calistoga
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#4 of 27 in Calistoga
560 reviews
34.5 km away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
185 reviews
3.8 km away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Address: 3250 State Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-9711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: $294 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie b&b
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing