We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
440
238
75
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
238
75
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free snacks roadside motel king suite breakfast vouchers cute hotel pool area hot tub mineral water pools silverado trail pools are great close to town we loved our stay nice stay old school large pool wine country one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 798 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2017

At check in we were given the wrong room number and waited for 1 hr while it was being cleaned. After informing the front desk, we received a measly "oops, I gave you the wrong number" without any offer of compensation of any kind. Unfortunately, I am dissatisfied with their service. The pools are nice though!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maxwellm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha S, Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Maxwellm2017,

I wanted to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your check in process. I have spoken to the front desk manager to provide the feedback and prevent any situations such as this. I am glad to hear that even though you had the check in inconvenience, you were still able to enjoy the mineral pools. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Martha Solorio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Great hotel to stay in. Rooms have been upgraded. It is in a perfect location to walk downtown Calistoga to go shopping and get something to eat. Everything is close. They give you vouchers for breakfast at the coffee shop. We would stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha S, Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Eileen,

Thank you for staying at The Sunburst Calistoga. I'm glad that you enjoyed the upgraded rooms, as we just went through our room renovation. The location is great as you highlighted and pleased to hear that the vouchers for breakfast were appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Martha Solorio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Pool temperatures were inconsistent. Filled with frolicking children splashing water in my face. Hot tub was scalding hot then in the morning it had so much chlorine that it burned my eyes and sinuses.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank avidtraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha S, Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear avidtraveler79,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sunburst Calistoga in your recent visit to Calistoga. I apologize if the pool temperatures were not as you desired and for the chlorine level. I have spoken to our chief engineer and assure that they are monitored for adequate temperatures and chlorine levels. We hope to welcome you soon as we would like to have you experience a good visit.

Martha Solorio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2017

This is really a motel. It's old school. One story. Better suited for families. We stayed new year's eve. there were a few glitches in the reservations process. Although the reservation was made by one person for two rooms (two parties), we had challenges getting them to assign reservation numbers and email confirmations separately. We had to make multiple phone calls to receive assurances that in fact there were two separate parties who were each financially responsible for their own stay. The rooms are refurbished comfortably. Plenty of room to stretch out and settle in. The walls are thin. We heard everything from the guests next door. Not much privacy. Windows face the room next door and the sidewalk/ parking lot in front.

Calistoga offers a free shuttle into town. This was a terrific amenity, perfect for earlier in the evening heading out to New Year's Eve destinations...except that it ended early at 11 pm. No taxi service in Calistoga so we had to call Uber. Too far to walk back to the motel from the main downtown area late at night in the dark and cold all dressed up with high heels.

We had a room facing the street. We were concerned about street noise -- but the sounds from our neighbors was worse. And in the morning, the families headed to the pool early so it was just as well we didn't have a room facing the back of the property (away from the street) because we would have awoken to lots of boisterous noise.

Soaps, lotions, etc. were amply provided for in pump dispensers -- but my personal pet peeve with these dispensers is that they are so gosh darn awkward to get any quantity out of them.

We think this is a charming, relatively inexpensive option for families but not a romantic getaway for couples. Relative to other accommodations in the area, the prices are reasonable. One has to adjust expectations. This is a basic motel. Clean, newly refurbished, no frills.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Parisfoodie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha S, Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Parisfoodie2010,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sunburst Calistoga, taking the time to provide us with your experience feedback. I apologize if the reservation process, and do want to let you know that we are going to have a different booking system soon. Our property is going through a renovation, and will have a lot more to offer as a full resort such as a spa with mud treatments and a full restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future!

Martha Solorio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

Paper thin walls. Need I say more? We were in room 217 on NYE. The couple next door sure enjoyed themselves but we were pretty grossed out and miserable. We were traveling with our son, we won't go back.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Cobramom415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha S, Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Cobramom415,

I apologize if the rooms did not meet your expectations. Our property is going through a renovation period and as we continue this is being looked into to accommodate soundproofing. If you have the time, you are welcome to contact me.

Martha Solorio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews