We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Blue Dolphin!”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love the Blue Dolphin!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Everything about this hotel is great! We got a standard room. It was a great size and very comfortable. The hotel's location is perfect. The ocean right across the street is beautiful. You can walk along the boardwalk and enjoy the ocean. We were able to walk from the hotel to town and we even walked into the second part of town. You order your breakfast the day before and it is delivered to your room in to-go containers. My husband ordered the salmon bagel and I got the ham and cheese in french pastry. I liked his better, mine was a little too heavy. We also enjoyed the fruit, scone (the best), blueberry muffin, and orange juice. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms.NatalieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Natalie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Blue Dolphin Inn during your recent visit to Cambria and the Central Coast. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, the hotel and its location as well as the many splendid offerings that the surrounding area offers. We are happy that you wish to return and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for sharing.

Warm Regards,
The Team at Blue Dolphin Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    158
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
111
586
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on our drive from L.A. to San Francisco and it was the perfect stopping point. The room was enormous, the bed super comfy and everyone working there was so friendly. Having breakfast delivered to our door in the morning was lovely, I just wish that we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The corner room with partial ocean view was massive and so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Kakaboom,

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your room, your bed and interacting with the Guest Service Hosts. We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
The Team at Blue Dolphin Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We absolutely loved this place! Our room was so incredible. It was spotless clean, tastefully decorated, comfortable and over looking the ocean. There was a birthday cake in the room waiting for us on our arrival. I can't say enough about this place. We booked our next getaway as we were checking out. We will be going back in 6 months. I agree with a previous review, ceramic coffee cups would be nice since they do provide wine glasses and drinking glasses. That is really the only suggestion I have. They hit the mark on everything else.

Room Tip: I don't want to share our room suggestion with anyone. I want to keep it just for ourselves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNBdelicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, NJ
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stop your research, you have found the perfect pause to perch on your roadtrip down the coast. This hotel is elegant, clean, and calm. After a long drive (neglecting to monitor sunset time and overstaying our break in Big Sur) that had us clutching the steering wheel for nearly three hours in total darkness, pulling into Cambria was relief in and of itself, but walking into the beautiful oceanfront room was bliss. I am a Four Seasons type of girl and can proclaim that these are the BEST pillows I ever enjoyed at a hotel (and want to buy them for my home). Walking the bucolic beach paths in front of the hotel post breakfast and watching a harbor seal teach her two hour pup to swim was majesty that set the stage for the continuing drive to LA. Book your room, you won't be sorry. Would stay here again in a heartbeat, and I am fussy!

Room Tip: Splurge for oceanfront if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent three nights at the Blue Dolphin Inn while visiting Cambria and Paso Robles for the Zin Festival. It was a warm and welcoming place to return to each evening after a full day of wine tasting and general frivolity. The rooms were nice, the price was right, and they brought a lovely breakfast to our room each morning. I would highly reccommend this lovely establishment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was looking for a quiet and quaint place to meet my daughters for the weekend, and Blue Dolphin Inn was perfect. It is very clean, simply elegant and friendly responsive service. We have definitely started a new tradition and Cambria's Blue Dolphin Inn is the place to do it. Its located across the street from the beach, great walking path, close to restaurants and shops. The ideal weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My son and I stayed in the Junior suite - comfortable beds, nice decor, very good feel to the place. Staff were friendly and helpful - even at 3am when I needed to Skype across the world!
All in all an excellent experience thoroughly recommended for stylish, unpretentious comfort..
Although Cambria is probably supported mainly by tourism it was charming and had a very authentic atmosphere.
The picnic breakfast was a good idea but a few more wheat-free options would have been nice.

Room Tip: Check the website for their web promotions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerncrossscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.4 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
922 reviews
3.6 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,786 reviews
0.1 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing