We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
703
177
39
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
177
39
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic breakfast picnic style puff pastry across the street four poster bed moonstone beach hearst castle ocean view cookies keurig coffee maker breakfast delivered sound of the waves electric fireplace each morning stayed one night perfect stay watch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 940 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed this inn on moonstone Beach during a one-night getaway , retreating from a party at our house. The setting is wonderful, with a great beach walk across the street. Bed was very comfortable , staff friendly , breakfast included and delivered to our room.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peggymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2017

Stayed here fo, unfortunately, just 3 nights on an unplanned trip to escape the Thomas fires threatening our apartment in Montecito. The small hotel is terrific, as good or better than the fanciest hotels we have stayed at throughout the country and internationally. The breakfast delivered to your room by the staff who cook it right there is excellent. We were offered an "evacuation rate" for our stay due to the fires which drove us from our home, making the stay even more appreciated. Nice, very nice!

Room Tip: Get a view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GREXUSVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

First of all I am so very sorry that you were directly affected by the fires and that that was your reason you had to stay. I hope you and your loved ones were able to stay safe. In spite, I am glad you were able to find some happiness at our property. Thank you for the wonderful review and I hope you are able to make it out to stay with us again under better circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017

We stayed one night on our way home from Portland. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and nicely appointed, with a fireplace and a partial view of the ocean. We left the windows open at night to hear waves crashing on the beach. Moonstone Beach is just across the road and the boardwalk runs the length of the beach – great for a sunset stroll! There are two good restaurants within easy walking distance - we enjoyed a lovely dinner at the Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill. The complimentary picnic breakfast was delivered to our room as we specified and it was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 star review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017

Very nice, small hotel, in a great spot. Super place to watch the sunset! From maps and overhead images, I thought that Moonstone Beach Drive might be a little too touristy, but that's not the case. It's quiet -- almost secluded. All of the hotels seem to be upscale, including the Blue Dolphin Inn. The hotel is very modern and comfortable, yet nicely decorated. Our room (201) was large for a couple, with two comfortable chairs where we could eat breakfast each morning. The breakfast arrangement - in which your made-to-order breakfast is dropped off in bag each morning, so you can either dine in or go for a picnic, is convenient. And the food was good.

Room 201 is on the east end, right next to the lobby, where the free coffee is located. The room was just a little bit noisy, in that spot, but it didn't disturb us much. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful, and we could just pop our head out and ask a question. That said, I would recommend getting one of the six rooms on the west end of the building, each with an ocean view. The three on the ground floor open to a patio that faces the beach. Unfortunately, the three on the second floor don't have balconies. But I'm sure that the view from the windows is awesome.

The beach is nice here - quiet, with a very nice (narrow) boardwalk for strolling. We saw a few paddleboarders and surfers, but really its not a big area for water sports. We saw a lot of pelicans and gulls, and a few dolphins and whales in the distance.

We were drawn here for the proximity to San Simeon and Hearst Castle. That was great. November was brisk at times, but usually pretty comfortable. It was sunny for our whole stay. The elephant seals were pretty active, battling for patches of sand (at the beach a few miles north).

A nice feature of a few of the other hotels along the drive here: A fire pit to gather around in the evening. The aforementioned patio in front of Blue Dolphin looks big enough for one, but they don't have one. I guess it could be too disturbing for the folks in those first-floor front rooms.

Overall, just a very nice place for couples or a small family. Thanks Blue Dolphin!

Room Tip: West end has ocean views, but is next to the road - not sure about the traffic noise. We stayed at the east end (201), which was fine.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you so much for the feedback and the 5 stars. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our property and our beautiful area. I apologize that you experience some noise with the location of your room. I hope you are able to come back again and take advantage of our other room locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

Lovely spot. Fantastic view. If I went here again I would not pay extra for the ocean view with patio. Patio wasn't private- for that price I thought it was. You shared it with 2 other rooms. You can stay in any room and take advantage of the side patio/or the table setting at the front which was closer to the beach than our expensive patio. Both have spectacular views of the ocean without the extra cost. Things to note. Despite what the pictures show this is not on the beach. It is across the street from the beach. There are no accommodations on the beach because the beach is below off a short cliff. The famous boardwalk is right across the street and you can walk all it for about a mile with beautiful views. Also, if you are a tea drinker bring your own. They have no tea other than green tea. Only one restaurant to walk too. You can order delivery from the town if you don't walk to walk down a highway in the dark and/don't want to drink and drive. Nice breakfast included that is delivered to your room ready to go. You have several items to choose from. For those of you with electric cars there's a charger here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank OnTheRochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We hope you come and stay with us again in 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews