We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They've thought of everything.”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed for three nights and were impressed! The room was perfectly appointed, extremely clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The beds and pillows are so comfortable!! We enjoyed the fireplace and they even have a collection of DVDs you can watch in your room. We were served a satisfying breakfast every morning and sat outside enjoying the views while eating. The robes and slippers are a nice touch and it's always nice to have a mini-fridge and microwave. I would stay here again without question. It's everything you expect a hotel to be.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygoluckyOakhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed at the Blue Dolphin over President's Day based on the glowing reviews and the availability of what seemed like on of the last rooms in town. We were not disappointed at all!

Upon arrival the lady at the front greeted us warmly, offered us coffee, tea or water and didn't rush us into our rooms even though a fairly large number of people showed up and were waiting right after us. There was a slight room mix-up and our key was given to another couple with a child who had 2 queen beds, but she quickly fixed it before anyone got settled in. Our breakfast menu room number which you hang on the door was changed too to reflect that. (Breakfast is amazing there by the way, no matter what you get and the portions are good-sized.)

We did have a problem the next morning though when they brought us the other family's breakfast at 7:30, though we had asked for ours at 9 and had ordered different things from what was brought. My husband went to the front to let them know and make sure the other people got their food, but the woman at the desk kept arguing with him insisting that we were wrong, and that was the correct order. She even called back on the telephone to tell him he was wrong again! I'm not sure what happened but it was sorted out, though we got no apology from the woman being rude. The rest of the staff was pleasant and friendly though so I won't hold it against them for the one bad apple.

The little touches of free cookies, the maid leaving her card to let you know who the room was cleaned by, and the faux fireplace that acts as a heater and the Keurig Coffee machine with options for tea as well were so nice. Couldn't find any coffee creamer though until I looked in the refrigerator....I'm used to hotels having the powdered packets that taste awful! I didn't try to open the windows at night to hear the waves since it was chilly, but we still had a nice partial view of the ocean right across the street. We also noticed how quiet it was. In some places you can hear people through paper thin walls, but not so much here. The bed was comfortable, but a bit too firm for my taste. Both my husband and I tossed and turned and woke up a few times during the night. They do however put both firm or soft pillows on the bed, so it's noce to have an option there.

We would definitely stay again, We got better service here than we did when we were on our honeymoon at the Hyatt in Maui! We just decided to call this our do-over honeymoon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetiteArtist83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Seems to be the best spot in Cambria. To be honest, location and build of most of the beach hotels in Cambria appears close to identical, so they are bordering on commodity. But this place is recently renovated and did it's best to differentiate on service. Nice staff. Owner who stopped at a gratis wine tasting to make sure guests were enjoying themselves. Was well done. Not a luxury hotel, but the rooms are large, nice and clean, and well done for the price. NB - the standard rooms have a pretty limited view of the ocean. If you want to see the ocean, make sure you get one of the ocean facing rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We're in Seascape Cottage overlooking a surf's-up Pacific with a fire going awaiting the delivery of breakfast. This hotel is utterly fantastic. Having traveled to all 50 states and a third of the world's countries (work), I know from hotels. You'd be hard pressed to find a cozier spot than Blue Dolphin anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My wife and I have travelled to Cambria many times over the years and have experienced many of the wonderful hotels on Moonstone Drive. Staying at the Blue Dolphin was our best experience to date. The Blue Dolphin will be our only place to stay in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edjones417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Welcomed from the start. We were shown to our room and given a "tour" of the amenities, including a micorwave, dvd player, and coffee maker. The bed was luxurious. The spectacular view of the ocean and the sound of the waves lulled us to sleep. We have stayed three times and look forward to our next visit. Well worth the money. A small but creative breakfast menu is provided for "breakfast in bed". It is presented in a romantic picnic style. Great Coffee. The pictures on the website represent the hotel very well. Very clean and recently remodeled. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 212DeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Loved this place 25 years ago and love it today!!! So awesome to travel up the coast to this destination with a surfboard and wake up, grab the surfboard and hit the waves!! Can't wait to do it again!!!

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank CaliSurferGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,206 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
644 reviews
0.3 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
848 reviews
3.6 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
5,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $237 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing