We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place to Stay Small n Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay Small n Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Enjoy the freezing cold surf and the beautiful sunsets, great walks, wonderful nature preservation, includes the travelers! Great breakfast every morning in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: They all have fireplaces in the winter and the ocean in the summer, bring a wetsuit if you are a swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    473
    123
    47
    21
See reviews for
484
766
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I was smitten by the FogCather Inn, and not just because the breakfast
is AAA, or the pet friendly attitude or the marvelous front desk staff--
having the beach across the street, the stunning sunset, the proximity to
Cambria , the comfortable guestrooms--at all came together, for two
stressfree days. I recommend this gem, it is a world away from corporate
hotels ( so dismal) and all that I avoid. This precious hideaway is
old CA hospitality at it finest. pam price

Room Tip: if you have your dog ask for the pet friendly room-you will be delighted
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam1751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The location is right next to the ocean which has a pleasant boardwalk running along it. The rooms were clean and spacious. They had a great breakfast which helped to start off the day right. Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaSatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at the Fogcatcher Inn for one night on our way up the coast from Los Angeles to San Francisco. It has a lovely relaxing atmosphere, and the staff were really welcoming. There are 2 of us, and our room was really big, the beds were comfortable, and the fireplace in the room gave it a really cosy feel. Breakfast was great, with lots of selection, both hot and cold. It is right next to the beach, although it was foggy on the morning we were there, but I suppose that is where it gets its name!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Decent sized rooms with a modern-yet-homely decor, in a stunningly picturesque location right on the beautiful beach in Cambria. Rooms come fitted with a nice sized bathroom and gas fire burner. A good quality buffet breakfast is included. Communal pool and hot tub/spa area were clean and refreshing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepydisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We were at the FogCatcher Inn in Cambria for two nights in late April. It was our third time there, and every time we have been impressed by the people, the facilities and the location. It's right across the street from Moonstone Beach and a great boardwalk/path overlooking the beach. It's a really nice walk, especially in the evening when the sun is setting over the Pacific.

Our room was spacious and well-appointed with a gas fireplace, refrigerator and microwave. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. The breakfast room is very nice and the food very good. But the people there really excelled. The front desk duo of Linda and Jane when we checked in were maybe the nicest and most professional front desk people we have ever encountered. Everyone there was both friendly and helpful. We had an absolutely wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollywoodTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We called while on the road driving up the coast from LA to SF. Got Danielle on the phone & decided to commit since there was only 1 "garden" room left - other rooms higher. Glad we did! Besides not having to be concerned anymore about where we'd stay, we got an enormous room in this well-run hotel on the beach, with a fireplace, a gigantic king-sized bed, fridge - and a wonderful breakfast - not the stack of serving sized cereal boxes with milk + juice etc. but scrambled eggs, make your own waffles, with fruit & whipped cream, potatoes, yogurt, and tho we don't eat meat, the standard links etc were there too.
Dinner the night before was at Robin's in town - 5 minutes away by car, which was outstanding - romantic, delicious fare, wine, and soup to die for! We split all 3 dishes - soup, salad, and main $50 w tip/tax & a glass of wine. We'd go there again even tho there are plenty of good restaurants in Cambria!
A small but well heated pool & jacuzzi made our one evening there plus a dip in the morning even tho it was raining!
Service was great - manager is James, and after leaving a generous tip on the pillow for the housekeeper (the invisible help who are forgotten by most travelers) we took off for Hearst Castle only 4 miles up the road. From there only 4 hours to San Fran.
No complains, only praise - enjoy!

Room Tip: You don't need a room with a view - the beach is across the road anyway, and all seem to look ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtraveler020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing