We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL ON MOONSTONE DR. BUT NOT SUPERB”
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We'd stayed here before and had a very nice ocean front room. So we booked another ocean front room this trip but this room wasn't as nice, amenities seemed less.

The king bed is very comfortable and the fireplace is nice but windows were very dirty after a rain and hampered the ocean view which is what one pays extra for.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nancygut12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Sea Otter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Hello, thank you for your feedback. Since your last visit we have painted all of our rooms and installed new carpet. We also remodeled all of our bathrooms at the beginning of this year. The amenities in all of our rooms are the same, mini-fridge, microwave, fireplace, coffeemaker, etc. The ocean view rooms all come with reserved seating as well. Window cleaning is something we do when the rooms are vacant as to not disturb our guests, however, if we would have known it was impacting your stay we would have been more than happy to take care of that while you were here. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
There are newer reviews for Sea Otter Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2016

Very nice, I would stay here again. Great location, nice town, friendly and helpful staff. If you travel the PCH, which is beautiful, this is a great place to stop. Right on the coast, with great views!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in a comfortable room with patio. We took walks on the
Boardwalk across the road from the Inn and had Clam Chowder at a nearby Grill while it rained outside.
We shopped in some of the shops in Cambria and had dinner in our favorite Restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 349priscillal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Don't ever change.

Keep it simple and clean.

We have been visiting for over a decade.

It's nice to know some things never change.

This is a beautiful place and everyone is very friendly, We'll be back...

Regards!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E2803QJbradb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Located on Moonstone Beach Cambria is all you need to know tranquil, beautiful and romantic are the cherries on top. The rooms are roomy and upgraded but the needed to be replaced. Staff not too knowledgeable, do your research before you go.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Took two days off. And came to the central coast. Hotel was recommended
by a friend and it was just as he said. We will definitely be visiting again the staff couldn't be nicer. The basket of breakfast was a really nice touch

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T6632RApeterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

This is our second time staying at this hotel, it was just like we remembered the first time. Room was clean and odor free. Kind of cool how they drop your breakfast off in the morning in a picnic basket.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M8008HZrichardk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.6 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
426 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,986 reviews
0.6 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
817 reviews
0.5 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $160 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing