We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good and Personal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Hercules, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and Personal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at Her Castle for our Chinese New Year mini getaway. It's also our first time staying in B&B. With about the same price, I got much more personal and warm service. Eleanor and Bill are ready to serve and please their customers to their best effort. It is very close to Hearst Castle and the elephant seal beach. I already referred 2 of our friends to try this place:)

Room Tip: King room has a better value, especially if they offer you a promotional deal in off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
97
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Her Castle right after Thanksgiving and had a very nice stay. It was our anniversary and Eleanor decorated our room with Happy Anniversary banners. We were greeted with a nice welcome tray and pre-breakfast tray with delicious scones and coffee each morning. Eleanor made a tasty and filling breakfast each morning which was a great start to the day. The room and property were both charming and in a nice peaceful neighborhood a short drive to Moonstone beach, downtown Cambria, and Hearst Castle. We will surely stay here again at our next visit to Cambia.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We absolutely loved staying at this cozy and welcoming B&B! Bill and Eleanor did everything to make us feel comfortable and at home, including all sorts of wonderful details in the room (snacks, bathrobes, beverages, toiletries, etc.). A special treat was the wine and homemade appetizer tray upon our arrival and the beautifully prepared, daily pre-breakfast trays with coffee, yogurt and pastries outside our door in the mornings. Breakfast was incredible and plentiful- pancakes, waffles, omelettes with fresh avocado, sausages, fresh fruit, etc. All in all, it was so much more personal than staying at a hotel and we got to know the area much better than we otherwise would have through all of Bill & Eleanor's advice and brochures on what to see and do. Highly recommend and will definately stay here again when we are in the area!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen room and loved the little private terrace and the indoor sitting area with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Her Castle will exceed your expectations of a B&B by a wide margin. Eleanor's cooking, and her attention to detail within the room make Martha Stewart look like an amatuer. Having breakfast with Bill & Eleanor each morning was like catching up with old friends over a wonderful meal. We will never stay anywhere else in Cambria. You'll be wasting your time if you look further!
Phil & Jeanette Ventura Las Vegas

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil45963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was such a beautifully home-like experience. Bill and Eleanor are the most hospitable, servant hearted people. They are experts about what to do and where to go in the area and have a wealth of information on sights and scenes in Cambria. This trip was a surprise for my sister and she LOVED every minute of her time at Her Castle. We are so glad we stayed at this beautiful location. It is VERY easy to find in Cambria,, off of the 1 Hwy. This is a "must-stay" Bed and Breakfast. I hope to come back again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the KING ROOM and it has a Patio and is fully furnished with everything you may need du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Staying in the Queen's room at Her Castle was a delightful experience. The hosts are wonderful innkeepers and their hospitality is the best--from great food and wine to telling us about the sites and hikes around Cambria. They really made us feel at home and extended every courtesy we could imagine. They exceeded our expectations and anticipated all the things we'd need to enjoy Cambria and its surroundings. Eleanor and Bill are great hosts and very interesting people.

Gary and Patsy

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The King Room was a spacious, clean, comfortable space in which we slept well for two nights. Eleanor couldn't have been more accommodating and there were many complementary extras in our room including wine, snacks and toiletries. The pre-breakfast tray delivered to our room and the breakfast in the dining room were very generous and it was enjoyable to talk to both our hosts and the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilliam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
5.1 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
4.5 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
4.7 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
3.7 km away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.8 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing