We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
49
4
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
4
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room every guest daughter's wedding spa tub moonstone beach room number across the street cable tv cookies sea lions hearst castle gas fireplace view of the ocean wine coastline waves
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 60 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

We chose this B&B as on Booking.com it looked perfect for our 25th Wedding Anniversary as we visited from the UK, and we were driving up the ocean coast road the next day. We were very excited about our "King Suite" with ocean view, garden view, etc.

I'm not sure whether it's a UK/USA thing but "suite" conjured up for us a bedroom with "extra room" plus bathroom, especially for £230 a night!

The description sounded perfect but it turns out "suite" is just a large bedroom with sofa, chair and desk... So like a hotel "room" then?

The room is very nice though.

There's a small kitchenette area which is actually a coffee machine and a microwave. No corkscrew, no plates, no forks, just cups and tumbler glasses.
There's an Ice bucket but no instruction as to how you find ice? And no wine glasses (though like other things... you can ask for these)

The 'sea view' is from your "bed" (just) though you wouldn't want to be 'in bed' looking at the sea as it's also the walkway for all the other rooms so every other guest can see you as they walk past (!) and there are 2 chairs outside the front door which faces the sea, ish, car park and garden, though why you'd want to sit there with one of the owners dogs peeing in front of you I'm not sure. Fragrant!

It all read so well....

When we first saw our room we queried whether this was the King Suite. Turns out it is, just like all the other rooms (they are all priced the same) apart from one which is an extra $100 or so. Aha! That's the suite?

"Breakfast" we were 'told' was at "9 a.m." With no suggestion that we might want it earlier or later... It was a lovely breakfast but why stipulate a time, why not a window between 7.30-9.30?

Sorry "9 iron inn" and "Booking.com" we felt duped. Great description, great photos, great video, great expectations, but we felt that this was an example of "style over substance!"

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Booked 2 rooms at this hotel as far back as August 2015 via Booking.Com. Have just been told the night before our stay that the hotel had 'double booked'!! Don't suppose it's a coincidence that this is MemorialDay weekend and the rooms could be let at a much higher rateM

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2016

We had no idea that such a lovely experience awaited us at the 9 Iron Inn. Located in a gorgeous spot, just steps from a famous walk along Moonstone Beach, the room was spacious with lots of great touches to make us feel comfortable. Michelle and her family welcomed us like friends. We enjoyed wine and appetizers overlooking the ocean and had a delicious and copious breakfast awaiting us in the morning. We would definitely go back. This is the kind of experience that is more than just a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrJRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile

We were in Cambria for the day and decided to stay the night. No vacancies on Moonstone Drive. We found the only room left and it was at the 9 Iron Inn. The room was amazing. So comfortable! The aroma of lavender and rosemary was a treat. We met the rest of the guest in the main room for wine and snacks. Great conversation. Breakfast the next day was a real treat.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 109mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to stay on Moonstone Beach. We are always welcomed back by Michelle, the manager. She makes a grand breakfast for the guests
and has a wonderful wine tasting in the late afternoon. The rooms are comfortable
and very clean. We travel 7 hours to get here and she lets guests go to their room
when they arrive if the room is ready.
This brings up a big contrast between 9 Iron Inn and some of the other Moonstone
hotels. Some hotels nearby have started making travelers wait until 3:00 PM to
check into their room, even when the rooms are clean and ready. You do the math.
$250+ for a room in winter gets you 2 hours of view and the next morning you are busy showering and packing to eat breakfast and go. Not a very good return on your money.
Spend your money at 9 Iron Inn where you are treated with respect and avoid the drama queen guard dogs at the Moonstone hotels at the south end of Moonstone Beach.
A pleasant stay at 9 Iron Inn makes all the goofy problems at the other hotels go away.
You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: 6 good rooms to choose from.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews