We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and pesonal”
Review of 9 Iron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
9 Iron Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This may be the smallest inn on Moonstone beach - just one suite and six rooms and one of only 3 that are not corporate owned. That is a plus, in my book. Only the suite has views of the ocean from the room, though we could see a tiny piece of sea from our front window (room number one) across the small patio and a bit of the drive. No big deal since everyone is welcome to sit in the front facing common room complete with comfy chairs and a telescope and the boardwalk is right across the street for strolling. The big plus here is Michelle, the inn keeper, who is very friendly and cooks up a mean breakfast every morning. Unlike the bigger inns, who put out a rather standard buffet each morning, she actually cooks breakfast for the guests. It was quiet when we were there last month so we were the only guests two out of the three mornings and Michelle and her grand daughter sat and talked with us each morning with lots of local tips on restaurants and sights. The third morning there were other guests to talk to at the common table which is always fun. The room was decorated in soothing blues with glowing, light wood floors and accents. Everything was sparkling clean and the bathroom was roomy and had a spa tub/shower. The small gas fire was raised so you can see it from the bed. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The rooms are numbered 1 - 6 with the #1 room behind the only ocean front suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We chose this B&B as on Booking.com it looked perfect for our 25th Wedding Anniversary as we visited from the UK, and we were driving up the ocean coast road the next day. We were very excited about our "King Suite" with ocean view, garden view, etc.

I'm not sure whether it's a UK/USA thing but "suite" conjured up for us a bedroom with "extra room" plus bathroom, especially for £230 a night!

The description sounded perfect but it turns out "suite" is just a large bedroom with sofa, chair and desk... So like a hotel "room" then?

The room is very nice though.

There's a small kitchenette area which is actually a coffee machine and a microwave. No corkscrew, no plates, no forks, just cups and tumbler glasses.
There's an Ice bucket but no instruction as to how you find ice? And no wine glasses (though like other things... you can ask for these)

The 'sea view' is from your "bed" (just) though you wouldn't want to be 'in bed' looking at the sea as it's also the walkway for all the other rooms so every other guest can see you as they walk past (!) and there are 2 chairs outside the front door which faces the sea, ish, car park and garden, though why you'd want to sit there with one of the owners dogs peeing in front of you I'm not sure. Fragrant!

It all read so well....

When we first saw our room we queried whether this was the King Suite. Turns out it is, just like all the other rooms (they are all priced the same) apart from one which is an extra $100 or so. Aha! That's the suite?

"Breakfast" we were 'told' was at "9 a.m." With no suggestion that we might want it earlier or later... It was a lovely breakfast but why stipulate a time, why not a window between 7.30-9.30?

Sorry "9 iron inn" and "Booking.com" we felt duped. Great description, great photos, great video, great expectations, but we felt that this was an example of "style over substance!"





Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Booked 2 rooms at this hotel as far back as August 2015 via Booking.Com. Have just been told the night before our stay that the hotel had 'double booked'!! Don't suppose it's a coincidence that this is MemorialDay weekend and the rooms could be let at a much higher rateM

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

We had no idea that such a lovely experience awaited us at the 9 Iron Inn. Located in a gorgeous spot, just steps from a famous walk along Moonstone Beach, the room was spacious with lots of great touches to make us feel comfortable. Michelle and her family welcomed us like friends. We enjoyed wine and appetizers overlooking the ocean and had a delicious and copious breakfast awaiting us in the morning. We would definitely go back. This is the kind of experience that is more than just a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrJRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

We were in Cambria for the day and decided to stay the night. No vacancies on Moonstone Drive. We found the only room left and it was at the 9 Iron Inn. The room was amazing. So comfortable! The aroma of lavender and rosemary was a treat. We met the rest of the guest in the main room for wine and snacks. Great conversation. Breakfast the next day was a real treat.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 109mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

This is one of our favorite places to stay on Moonstone Beach. We are always welcomed back by Michelle, the manager. She makes a grand breakfast for the guests
and has a wonderful wine tasting in the late afternoon. The rooms are comfortable
and very clean. We travel 7 hours to get here and she lets guests go to their room
when they arrive if the room is ready.
This brings up a big contrast between 9 Iron Inn and some of the other Moonstone
hotels. Some hotels nearby have started making travelers wait until 3:00 PM to
check into their room, even when the rooms are clean and ready. You do the math.
$250+ for a room in winter gets you 2 hours of view and the next morning you are busy showering and packing to eat breakfast and go. Not a very good return on your money.
Spend your money at 9 Iron Inn where you are treated with respect and avoid the drama queen guard dogs at the Moonstone hotels at the south end of Moonstone Beach.
A pleasant stay at 9 Iron Inn makes all the goofy problems at the other hotels go away.
You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: 6 good rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

This place is one of a kind. A place where when you stop by, the innkeeper remembers you and hugs you hello upon your return! A genuine compassion for the guest, making sure each one has a wonderful memory of Cambria, and as such, a wonderful memory of the 9 Iron Inn. We hear that the actual moonstones are hard to come by on Moonstone Beach. This bed and breakfast is like a moonstone, a rare gem!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet, with a large open field to one side. All are level (no stairs!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Kickitat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.5 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
0.5 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
0.2 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
1,000 reviews
0.7 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Iron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Iron Inn

Address: 6736 Moonstone Beach Dr, Moonstone Beach, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: C$205 - C$394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the 9 Iron Inn we take great pride in ensuring our guests have the most relaxing home-like experience possible away from home. Our farm to table home-cooked breakfasts are hands down the best on Moonstone Beach Drive. It is our pleasure to share with you the most important meal of the day. Our rooms offer the best amenities and the most comfortable linens ever. We want you to be just a little more comfortable than in your own home, and once you come here we know you will be coming back again someday. Thank you to all our previous guests who have already come back again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 9 Iron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing