We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
49
4
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
4
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomevery guestdaughter's weddingspa tubmoonstone beachroom numberacross the streetcable tvcookiessea lionshearst castlegas fireplaceview of the oceanwinecoastlinewaves
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 60 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2016

Small (6 room) B&B. Very comfortable king size bed; pine wood paneling throughout. Quiet. Easy Moonstone Beach and boardwalk access. Great breakfasts, although I would agree with others that the fixed time should be more flexible like most B&Bs. Bathtub in room 3 drains very slowly when showering and the shower head could use an upgrade. Hostess, Michele, personable and helpful. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2016

This may be the smallest inn on Moonstone beach - just one suite and six rooms and one of only 3 that are not corporate owned. That is a plus, in my book. Only the suite has views of the ocean from the room, though we could see a tiny piece of sea from our front window (room number one) across the small patio and a bit of the drive. No big deal since everyone is welcome to sit in the front facing common room complete with comfy chairs and a telescope and the boardwalk is right across the street for strolling. The big plus here is Michelle, the inn keeper, who is very friendly and cooks up a mean breakfast every morning. Unlike the bigger inns, who put out a rather standard buffet each morning, she actually cooks breakfast for the guests. It was quiet when we were there last month so we were the only guests two out of the three mornings and Michelle and her grand daughter sat and talked with us each morning with lots of local tips on restaurants and sights. The third morning there were other guests to talk to at the common table which is always fun. The room was decorated in soothing blues with glowing, light wood floors and accents. Everything was sparkling clean and the bathroom was roomy and had a spa tub/shower. The small gas fire was raised so you can see it from the bed. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The rooms are numbered 1 - 6 with the #1 room behind the only ocean front suite.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

We chose this B&B as on Booking.com it looked perfect for our 25th Wedding Anniversary as we visited from the UK, and we were driving up the ocean coast road the next day. We were very excited about our "King Suite" with ocean view, garden view, etc.

I'm not sure whether it's a UK/USA thing but "suite" conjured up for us a bedroom with "extra room" plus bathroom, especially for £230 a night!

The description sounded perfect but it turns out "suite" is just a large bedroom with sofa, chair and desk... So like a hotel "room" then?

The room is very nice though.

There's a small kitchenette area which is actually a coffee machine and a microwave. No corkscrew, no plates, no forks, just cups and tumbler glasses.
There's an Ice bucket but no instruction as to how you find ice? And no wine glasses (though like other things... you can ask for these)

The 'sea view' is from your "bed" (just) though you wouldn't want to be 'in bed' looking at the sea as it's also the walkway for all the other rooms so every other guest can see you as they walk past (!) and there are 2 chairs outside the front door which faces the sea, ish, car park and garden, though why you'd want to sit there with one of the owners dogs peeing in front of you I'm not sure. Fragrant!

It all read so well....

When we first saw our room we queried whether this was the King Suite. Turns out it is, just like all the other rooms (they are all priced the same) apart from one which is an extra $100 or so. Aha! That's the suite?

"Breakfast" we were 'told' was at "9 a.m." With no suggestion that we might want it earlier or later... It was a lovely breakfast but why stipulate a time, why not a window between 7.30-9.30?

Sorry "9 iron inn" and "Booking.com" we felt duped. Great description, great photos, great video, great expectations, but we felt that this was an example of "style over substance!"

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Booked 2 rooms at this hotel as far back as August 2015 via Booking.Com. Have just been told the night before our stay that the hotel had 'double booked'!! Don't suppose it's a coincidence that this is MemorialDay weekend and the rooms could be let at a much higher rateM

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2016

We had no idea that such a lovely experience awaited us at the 9 Iron Inn. Located in a gorgeous spot, just steps from a famous walk along Moonstone Beach, the room was spacious with lots of great touches to make us feel comfortable. Michelle and her family welcomed us like friends. We enjoyed wine and appetizers overlooking the ocean and had a delicious and copious breakfast awaiting us in the morning. We would definitely go back. This is the kind of experience that is more than just a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrJRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews