We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location perfect while cruising Highway 1” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location perfect while cruising Highway 1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We loved staying at the Fireside Inn after a day of wandering the pacific coast highway. Quiet, very clean, great breakfast and very helpful staff.

Located near restaurants and directly across from the boardwalk to Moonstone Beach. (Although as hard as I searched, I did not find a moonstone).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteffieNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    329
    113
    34
    15
See reviews for
307
460
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My boyfriend and i were traveling from Santa Barbara to San Francisco, so to break up the drive we decided to crash here for a night. and what a wonderful decision that was. The staff was extremely accommodating upon check in and the manager, i believe her name was Brianna, was excellent in assuring our stay was the best it could be.

The location of this place couldn't be better, the view is breathtaking. The room we were in was adorable and felt so "homey". There was a fireplace and lovely decor; The room was spotless.

In the morning we went to the complimentary continental breakfast, and i've never been to such a good continental breakfast. There was eggs, sausage, a waffle maker, fresh juice, coffee, etc.

Overall a wonderful experience! Cannot wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have stayed at this lovely hotel several times with my family, and we have enjoyed each visit. The hotel is situated on a quiet portion of Moonstone Beach, just walk across the road to the boardwalk to view the ocean or climb on the rocks and look for colorful starfish and sea anemones with your children. We prefer to pay a little extra for the rooms with a fireplace and patio - nice to sit out and enjoy coffee and the paper in the morning or a glass of wine at night. They also have a nice little view of the ocean. The rooms with the fireplaces have a little extra space as well as a little more ambience. They are also very nicely decorated - a little more upscale than the average hotel. For those without a patio, there is still a lovely outdoor sitting area for your use to take in the scenery. The breakfast is plentiful and varied, and the pool and jacuzzi are pleasant. The staff was very friendly and courteous which is always appreciated. And we always like the fresh cookies we receive at check-in. Great for families or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyride64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is the place if you want to be "by the sea". Across the quiet street is the boardwalk and you can use it to walk to the town. The rooms are nice. We paid the extra $20 and got a room with a fireplace and a patio.
note: the hotel runs perpendicular to the road so most of the patios face unto the parking lot, not towards the ocean.
The breakfast selection is good and there was always a place to sit.
The staff were friendly and do NOT forget to ask for your check-in cookies.
This place is about 11 miles south of Hearst Castle and 15 miles south of theelephant seal vista.

note: gas in Cambria is $0.50 more per gallon than in Morro Bay

Room Tip: the hotel runs perpendicular to the road so most of the patios face unto the parking lot, not toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rojo-amigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Wonderful hotel. They have a lot of extra ammenities and the breakfast is great. The only thing is the breakfast should be held in a larger room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewo22145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Rates vary according to seasons and holidays. Having stayed at some other hotels along Moonstone Beach before, this is one of the nicer ones. Each room is spacious and has a fireplace. Our room was near the 101 fwy, but we didn't hear any noise. It's not necessary to get an oceanfront room because there are tables and chairs set up on a patio where all guests can sit and relax. The front desk was very helpful. Any place where we get freshbaked cookies at check-in is great!

Room Tip: Do not accept room 130. It's next to the breakfast room. I was advised prior to check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calitravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is situated right on the ooean. My husband and I have stayed here in the past. I was expecting more of our room as we are members of Best Western Rewards program at a high level. We stayed on a Monday night and it was not that busy. Supposed to get the best available room, but our room was far from that. It was OK though and not worth complaining about as we were only in for one night. Good place to stay if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
3.9 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
0.6 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.3 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing