We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,572)
Filter reviews
1,572 results
Traveller rating
542
558
297
116
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
558
297
116
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkriver tubingday adventurehorseback ridinghot springszip lininggrand tourcosta ricaday passadventure centerfree shuttledinner buffetwhite water tubinga la carte menucanopy touradventure activitiesbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 1,572 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Guanacaste is a hotter drier area than much of the rest of the traditional tourist circuit of Costa Rica, but Hacienda Guachelpin is a wonderful green oasis in this lovely National Park. The resort accommodation bounds a lovely garden with tall trees and flowering shrubs that are greatly attractive to colourful birds. Parrots, toucans, trogons and lively wrens are the highlights here. From the restaurant there is an ever changing scene below with horses and cattle being herded in by horsemen, and more birds; motmots or squirrel cuckoos likely to call by. From here it is a short drive to the hiking trails in the Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja. Paths lead among tall forest trees to the steam vents and mud pools that make the volcanic landscape famous. The pool, the restaurant, the staff all help to make a stay here such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Hi, I see you like birds, I am glad you could see a great deal of them, they truly are beautiful and they can easily be seen at the hotel gardens or at the national park which is very close. We hope to see you soon back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This place is just cool! The grounds are beautiful. It is a working ranch, so keep that in mind. It's very close to the entrance to the National Park. The road in is not the best, but that's Costa Rica. Go with it - it's part of the charm of the country. You can make it without a 4x4. Staff was very nice, rooms are very large and clean. The food is just ok. Pick up some snacks in Liberia before you venture up the dirt road. There is a lot to do on the grounds of the hotel as well as taking great hikes into Rincon de la Vieja.

Room Tip: Unless you love the smell of a working ranch, ask for a room away from the stables.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Hello friends, thank you very much for the time to write this comment , I can se you captured perfectly what Hacienda Guachipelin really is, a working ranch, for people that loves animals and you get to share with them very close, very close to the entrance to the park, and yes, very good advice of enjoying the bad roads that takes you to nice places, this roads don´t allow you to go fast so you can enjoy the panorama. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would like to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Nice hotel Did not eat dinner there did have the lunch buffet and the breakfast that came with the room and those meals were good.The adventure tour [zip line,horse riding,tubing,and hot springs]were worth the extra $85.My only complaint was that the bottom fitted bed sheet would not stay on thusly slept on the matteras thru out the night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiextrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Hello friends, thanks for sharing your comments, we are glad you enjoyed our meals, and the adventure activities we offer, let us check what went wrong with the sheet you mention. Sorry for the inconvenience, we truly apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is a great find. Although it accommodates many travelers, it feels peaceful and intimate; you can easily find a quiet spot to sit and read or watch nature, and you can just as easily arrange to go zip lining or tubing. There is free transportation, leaving every two hours or so, to the park and thermal pools. But even if you don't go to the park, there's lots to do. Some beautiful falls are just a mile or so from the hotel.

The staff were just lovely, very attentive and gracious. We ate from the buffet and were delighted by the quality of the food. The fish is especially good.

All in all, a lovely place with something for everyone--and only thirty minutes from Liberia.

Room Tip: Travellers who have im
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crocus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Dear friend, thank you very much for your comments, we feel very happy that you had such a great time with us and enjoyed all our activities for all ages and likes, we hope to see you soon back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Hacienda Guachipelin is in a great location just minutes (by car) to the national park. The spa was a great experience. For 5000 colones($10) you get to do the 6 step volcanic mud painting. It was great fun, and made our skin very soft. Our room was clean, was very quiet. But I must say the beds where the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept in, in my life. They felt like they where from the 70's. This is the reason I'm giving this hotel 3 out of 5. I had a horrible sleep both nights I stayed here. The food was great, But I would recommend eating at the bar (which is below the main restaurant) they have the same menu as the main dinning room. But much more relaxed. The only waiter/bar tender was a great guy, very friendly had great recommendations from tasty drinks. Plus they allow the hotel dogs down there. Which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandDrifter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Hello friend, thanks for your post, we always take in consideration this kind of posts and they help us to get better everyday, we are so sorry you had a bad night, we change matresses constantly, not allowing them to go that bad. On the other hand we are glad you enjoyed the rest of the hotel, specially the mud baths, and the food at our bar with the dogs. :) Let us check what happenned with the bed, we hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews