We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-purposed Royal guest house”
Review of Olathang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olathang Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Bhutan. It was a lovely introduction to what we could expect from Bhutanese hotel accommodation (it will get you through, don't expect what you would get for the price in any other country). We were in a private cottage, and had dinner served in the room since no one else was at the hotel. Despite the fear that familiarity with the film 'The Shining' brings on, it was ultimately not an awkward experience and the staff were truly lovely at breakfast.

It was also here that we discovered the wonders of Bhutanese TV, (BBS and a smattering of other channels).

This is a good option close to Paro whilst being a little out of the 'bustle' of Bhutan's possibly second biggest city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia_Alex_Latti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

Hotel Olathang was quite lovely. We had twin rooms alongside each other. They had beautiful carved windows. It was great to slide them across and capture the lovely breeze flowing over the lawn area. The beds seemed short but that didn’t surprise us as we had encountered that before at other hotels in Bhutan.
There is a large lounge area where we were served endless cups of teas and cheese straw biscuits (no cost) whilst we used their wi-fi.
The hotel has a huge restaurant plus conference rooms and much more. We had a delightful meal of tomato, cucumber, carrot, naan bread, chewy roast beef, potatoes, momos, Chinese vegetables and mixed vegetables. The service in the dining room was very attentive. We asked if we could take a small meal up to our son (who stayed in his room as he was a bit off-colour) and they were very obliging, even bringing out foil to put over the food to keep it warm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here on our first and last nights in Bhutan. The cottages are set in a pine forest on the side of a hill overlooking the Paro valley. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The food at the restaurant is good. Watch out for the chili cheese, the national dish. It is very hot.
The furnishings are basic but comfortable. Electricity can be intermittent. We had to call the office on two occasions to restore electricity to our cottage.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Sherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is very good hotel, luxerious stay, big rooms , silent and away from city hussle. Restaurant is also good. Enjoyed the stay at this hotel. This hotel was built for guests during earlier King's coronation ceremony. Now it is government institution run hotel.

Room Tip: choose rooms back side , you can see Paro Snow hiltops from room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinay-gayate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel in one of the bungalow rooms set in the large gardens surounding the main hotel building. The hotel was built in1974 for dignitaries visiting for the coronation of the fourth king so it is quite a grand hotel, but now showing its age a little. The room was clean,quiet and quite large with two single beds, a sitting area with sofa and coffee table as well as a desk and a large wardrobe. There was a TV and a room heater. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, toilet and washbasin and was well fitted out with a hairdryer and toiletries. A walk up a stone pathway took us to the main building which is built around a large garden courtyard. The dining room is huge and the food was better than average but still buffet style with Bhutanese and Indian dishes. There is a comfortable bar next to the dining room for a pre-dinner drink
There is a shop on the lower level below the dining room selling quality Bhutanese handcrafts at reasonable prices.
Wifi is available only in the lobby, needs a password and is charged for.
A nice quiet place to stay and recommended, but some way out of town.

Room Tip: The deluxe bungalows are very comfortable and away from the bustle of the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Intravelling to Bhutan I was not sure what to expect. So I was pleasantly surprised by this place. We stayed in one of the lodges and it was wonderful! We were warmly welcomed by the staff after formalities we were shown to our bungalow. The bungalow is pure traditional bhutan, the furnishings were simple but it had a nice simple decor with wooden walls, VERY comfy beds and was very warm with central heating. It had TV, hot water for tea and coffee, plenty of room and a modest modern bathroom. The staff were helpfull and the location up on top of the hill overlooking the town was superb. Although a short drive out of town it was a bonus as you are away from the barking dogs. If you are a bit of an off beat traveller and are looking for something different the go to Bhutan and stay in this place. Pleasant, peacefull, picturesque!!!

Room Tip: Stay out of town away from the barking dogs at night. Take a bungalow with a view of the valley thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed two nights at the Olathang Hotel in Paro at the end of our Bhutan trip. The hotel is in the typical Bhutanese style architecture, beautiful and elaborate painted wooden details, surrounded by well kept large grounds. We stayed in the main hotel and as the title says, our stay was perfectly average, generic and impersonal. There was nothing to really complain about except the hot water in the shower which is piping hot for the first lucky one, and ice cold for the next person. The food was in fact better than at many other hotels in Bhutan, with a buffet of Bhutanese and Western. The reception staff were helpful when I used their internet and printer. Though they were unable to provide tea and breakfast for our 5.30am checkout, they did leave a thermos of tea and plate of cookies with us overnight. Overall, average with some above average touches, but not wildly memorable

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chahanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paro hotels
3.5 km away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#6 of 16 in Paro
238 reviews
3.3 km away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
1.3 km away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Tiger's Nest Resort
Tiger's Nest Resort
#9 of 16 in Paro
172 reviews
3.2 km away
COMO Uma Paro
COMO Uma Paro
#1 of 16 in Paro
619 reviews
0.0 km away
Pelri Cottages
Pelri Cottages
#14 of 16 in Paro
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olathang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olathang Hotel

Address: Paro, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Price Range: $97 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olathang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, BhutanBookings and Priceline so you can book your Olathang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olathang Hotel Paro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing