We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green Leaf Niseko Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Friendly helpful staff, fantastic onsen, great value

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Only English TV channel is the BBC News.

Coffee at the breakfast buffet tastes like sump oil. Asked if we could buy an espresso from the lobby bar (which opens at 2pm). The girl at the front desk went to ask the manager, who said they couldn't do it. The machine was on, the cups were right there. Policy I guess.

The outside fire pit which is advertised as a feature of the hotel was never on during our stay.

The buffet dinner is ok at 4000 JPY, but its the same every night. So you have to order in or go to town. Buses run every 30 minutes or so, and it takes around 15 minutes to get there. Hotel doesn't allow you to consume outside food in common areas - so you must eat in your room.

Bed's are reasonably comfortable but the air is extremely dry... there is no body lotion supplied in the bathroom - so bring your own... if I came again would probably bring a humidifier to improve sleep.

Bathroom is basic but ok. Ski / board rental staff very helpful though they have a very limited selection.

No help with bags after getting off the bus from Sapporo. Bus drops you off 100m downhill from the hotel.

I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANCH_RATNAVALE, General Manager at The Green Leaf Niseko Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Green Leaf during your recent holiday and taking the time to provide your feedback and comments. We have taken your comments in earnest and would like to address them. Being a Ski-in and Ski-out hotel, our services and amenities are geared towards the eager skier.

The Green Leaf is operational during the winter ski season only. To cater to the various nationalities that stay with us, we offer a choice of Korean, English, Mandarin and Japanese TV channels. We also offer complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel which enables guests to watch streaming videos, live sports and other interests on your personal notebook or Ipad in the comfort of your room.

As advertised, our lounge bar is open daily from 2pm till late. Should you need to purchase any drinks or snacks before this time, there is a convenience shop next to the reception with a variety of choice.

The hotel lights up the outdoor fire pit whever the weather is fine and clear. As Niseko is one of the snowiest places in the world, this stops us from lighting the fire pit daily. March has more clearer days and the fire pit is lighted on most days.

Instead of frequently traveling to town for food, the village offers a choice of four restaurants at the Hilton and a seafood Izakaya called Crabshack all within a 5 min bus ride. This provides convenience especially during heavy snow conditions. As with most hotels, consumption of outside food/ delivery take-outs are not encouraged in public areas of the hotel i.e- the lobby lounge for the comfort of other guests.

Especially during winter, the air can get a bit dry. However, the hotel provides a humidifier upon request and we will arrange to deliver it to your room.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and comments. The hotel will continue to actively work to improve our services. We hope your recent experiences will not deter you from returning to The Green Leaf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

From the trip in the cab to the hotel everything was just great. Check in very easy and not painful at all. The staff at The Green Leaf are very professional and really do try to make the stay a happy one. Once you get a grip on the bus system it is really easy to get around to the all mountain. The bus to Kutchan is 200y and that is for 1 week. So every night a trip to a different place to eat. The Onsen is a must to do. I am going back.
Paula & Bruce

Room Tip: Ski slopes have more appeal. Mountain is usually covered in mist so not much viewing. Choose ski sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a week in the green leaf and it was fantastic. Have written some hints for having as much fun as we did (see below).
Rooms modern and a good size for japan. Staff were fantastic - extremely polite and always helpful. We got the breakfast which was really good. Relaxing in the outdoor onsen was great as well.
Very comfortable beds.

As mentioned previously, recommend getting a room near the lift. It's a very long corridor with only one lift at the end.

There is a little shop there with most basic things (hot coffee cans and rice balls every day for lunch- very cheap), and vending machines selling beer.

It's a 15 min bus ride to hirafu village but buses go every 15-30 mins (some free, some about A$3 each way). They stop off at the Hilton. They run till late so you can go and eat in hirafu. You can also use the activities in the hilton nearby for free (we did a great japanese cooking course). The pay buses stop in the parking lot, the free ones come to the door.

happy hour is 3-5pm in the reception bar - half price drinks.

You can ski pretty much from the door. The hilton/ greenleaf side of the mountain seemed to be windward side compared to hirafu - more powder but also more blizzards and the hilton gondola can shut down. that said are plenty of other runs you can do using the chairs

We took a train there - train station is a 2000 yen taxi from hotel. we got the whiteliner bus back- direct to airport from hotel.

Great place

Room Tip: Get a room near the lift end of corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunshineQLD112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It was a quiet hotel in the middle portion of Niseko. If you are an experienced skier, you could just start your daily practice at the Hotel. If not, would have to take the shuttle bus to Hilton Hotel for the ski lift; which was not far away but you need to adhere to the shuttle bus schedule which was not very frequent but still workable.

Ski lessons were organized and conducted at the ski shop next to the ski lift at Hilton.

Not much activities at Green Leaf Niseko Village but you could enjoy complementary onsen.

Only 1 buffet restaurant there but we didn't try; instead we lunched at Hilton's cafe once and went out to Hirafu Village for dinner (by taking the free shuttle bus).

In our opinion, Hirafu was more suited for experienced skiers, party-goers and crowd of youngsters while Niseko Village would be more appropriate for inexperienced skiers, mature couples and families. The powder snow in the area is really lovely and welcoming.

Go online to book the bus transfers in advance to enjoy discount offered by the bus company.

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floor as low floor's window was half blocked with snow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My first trip to Japan..my first hand experience of an onsen and my first skiing experience..these were reasons enough for me to be content with my trip to Niseko..but then when I first entered the lobby of Green Leaf, I did understand one thing..i am in for an experience that would simply leave me overwhelmed..
Green Leaf is a great place to stay..but if you happen to land a room towards the valley..you will simply be left breatheless with the scenic beauty of the snow, trees and the mountains...the hotel whose only fault is it being located almost 10 miles away from Hirafu where all the pub and party scene action is simple in its decor and rooms but makes your stay comfortable...I recommend this place to all those who simply want to be close to the gondolas and want to just ski at first oppotunity...because it is so close to Niseko Snow Activity centre near Hilton and also has its own gondola..
However, for travellers who want to see places and have whale of time...i suggest that you are better off being closer to Hirafu than in Green Leaf because once the clock strikes 10pm..the free shuttle services and NUB services both are down to one service per hour and you seriously dont want to freeze yourself waiting for these services...and the taxis are just outrageously costly though they are extremely safe and convenient to travel especially after some seriou partying at places like Wild Billys or a heavy dinner at Abu Cha tavern...
Coming back to Green Leaf...the hotel provides you all with the usual amenities but the best part of the hotel is the onsen...and its a beautiful experience...and definitely dont miss the outdoor onsen as it simply is marvellous...while the hotel like others all over Japan has low floor staff...the staff are quite curteous and are extremely helpful when it comes to travelling out or to locate places in Niseko...a bit of hint..do learn or write down few Japanese phrases as night duty staff are not most likely to speak English and it would be difficult to communicate...well all floors are fitted with vending machines and you have your choice of drinks and food..but those who are seriously into activities ...do remember that their restaurants have specific timings and after these even if you walk in ...mostly likely you just walk out hungry...
I would as much write here that I prefer Green Leaf over Hilton which looks more of a conventional hotel, because of the ambience and yes if you want to have special time with your friends...just grab a bottle...head of to the lounge in lobby..sit by fire place and just have fun all night...with the view of the ski slope...but also be careful and advised about the price of the drinks at bar...
I personally recommend dont miss the buffet breakfast in the mornings as they simply lay out an spread that just is impossible to exhaust...and at the restaurant you have some stunning views to look at while having your cuppa...but nevertheless dont forget your breakfast coupons which are your ticket to the meal and if you miss one..well you have loads of explaining and cross checking...Another place they have is the Crab Shack which is within the property bounds but near the gondola...there is a short cut to the restuarant from the lockers rooms..so dont go searching for the place on road...the first floor is where all the action is and they serve some seriously mouth watering food in the evenings...dont miss the king crab menu here...deservedly the best as most of my friends agreed ....
This hotel is also great melting pot with Australians, Americans and Canadians a plenty and if you get along ..you will end up having a gala time of your life..an experience that has so much touched me...i have promised to return and stay once again here....i am looking forward too....

Room Tip: Always ask for the rooms overlooking the valley...they offer the best views to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ayyagaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

my wife and i had to make a snowboarding trip to niseko for the world renown powder, and it surely didn't fail us! The snow kept coming down with small breaks of sun which allowed for amazing powder and some great photos. We booked through a Korean online travel agency and got a package deal with limo-bus transportation to and from the New Chitose Airport in Sapporro, hotel lodging for three nights, three breakfasts, and an all mountain lift/gondola pass for each of us. the price was reasonable considering the USD vs JPY exchange rate being about $1.25usd = 100jpy for the green leaf niseko village hotel. just be ready to spend some money in japan because it isn’t cheap. anyway, the green leaf hotel’s location is great because after you gear up, you walk out to the back and there's a slope 10 feet from the back sliding glass door. you can ride down a little bit to the Banzai lift and then ride down all the way to the Niseko Grand Gondola. They do have an interesting rule…you cannot take your snowboard, skis or ski boots up to the rooms. speaking of rooms, if you go with your significant other, be sure to request a king or queen size bed. because most of the rooms seem to have two twin size beds that you cannot put together. and since the hotel was fully booked, they were not able to change our room with a larger bed. luckily my wife and I are petite, and we slept on one twin size bed and used the other bed to dry out our snowboarding clothes that were a little damp from all of the snow. anyway, I guess the hotel doesn’t allow you to take up your snowboard, skis, or ski boots because the rooms aren’t very large and to preserve the hotel. so people don’t scratch up the walls or floors with the boards, skis, and ski boots. but to make up for it, they have a locker room area by their rental shop which is conveniently attached and located on the first floor. oh, and also, if you get the lift passes through the hotel, be prepared to make a 1000JPY (12.50usd) deposit, which you will get back when you check out.

also, I highly recommend the “onsen” hot springs. after a full day out on the mountain, it’s great to wash up and soak up in the hot springs. just be aware of the rules they have for the facility. oh, and it’s free to use if you stay at the hotel. and definitely check out the outdoor hot springs…it’s quite an experience especially with the snow falling!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seoultraveler173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niseko-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
125 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Hilton Niseko Village
Hilton Niseko Village
#1 of 11 in Niseko-cho
1,428 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Niseko Northern Resort An'nupuri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niseko Onsen
One Niseko Resort Towers
One Niseko Resort Towers
#4 of 11 in Niseko-cho
268 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Niseko Konbu Onsen Tsuruga Besso Moku no sho
Niseko Onsen
Hotel Kanro no Mori
Hotel Kanro no Mori
#6 of 11 in Niseko-cho
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Leaf Niseko Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Leaf Niseko Village

Address: Higashiyama Onsen | Niseko-Cho, Abuta-Gun, Niseko-cho, Abuta-gun 048-1592, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Niseko-cho > Niseko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niseko-cho
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niseko-cho
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niseko-cho
Price Range: $130 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Leaf Niseko Village 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Mount Niseko An'nupuri in Hokkaido, Japan, The Green Leaf Niseko Village is contemporarily redesigned to embrace the creative touch of renowned local artists.This 200-room hotel provides ski-in ski-out accommodation at the base of Niseko Village ski area, complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, a spa, authentic onsen, with access to the world's finest powder snow.Each Deluxe King room inter-connects to a Deluxe Twin room, allowing flexibility for families, and features views of ski slopes and Mt. Yotei. Goshiki serves an international and Japanese fusion buffet, local seafood and seasonal Hokkaido produce. Lively and comfortable, Tomioka White Lounge features a signature fireplace and bar to enjoy cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TravelClick, Rakuten, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Green Leaf Niseko Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Leaf Niseko Village Hotel Niseko-Cho
Hilton International Niseko Cho
Prince Hotel Niseko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing