We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home...”
Review of Inn at Depot Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Depot Hill
Ranked #2 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home sweet home...”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

From the moment we walked into the front door we knew this was a great choice for our vacation stay... The beds were comfortable.. the breakfast was devine... Now one of the things that we loved the most was we were not all able to stay around for the evening happy hour so they kept the dessert in the fridge for us for when we return back from dinner.. Looking so forward to staying again next year but for more then one night...

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wchristie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    24
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
178
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have great appreciation for whomever decorated the inn because they did an outstanding job. And the staff is pretty friendly. This would be four stars but there are a few things to keep in mind:

-the rates here are pretty exorbitant given where you are and what you're getting (it's on the corner of two busy streets, no views, no real estate to speak of, feels cramped, courtyard is actually very tiny).
- the food is decent
-you can walk down to the village but that's a bit anti-climactic
-rooms show some wear and tear

I couldn't justify spending $300 again when there are so many similarly quaint inns that may charge the same but deliver on location and overall experience.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank herculepoirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend just to get away. We stayed in the Cote d'Azur
Mediterranean Retreat room and paid just a little under $300. The accommodations were very cozy and clean. We had a fireplace in the room and a private hot tub outside (which wasn't exactly private. The tub is just outside of our room in a courtyard where other people can access it, but the tub is isolated by a wooden fence draped with vines. We sat out there at night undisturbed during a light drizzle and had an absolutely perfect time.

The one downside of this place is that it's a smaller B&B and depending on which room you have, you can hear people just outside of your room checking in, out, or just passing through. Otherwise, our stay was pretty perfect.

Breakfast was brought to our room, and it was always beautiful and delicious.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My boyfriend and I had another vacation scheduled this particular week and had to cancel it due to time restraints. I decided to suprise him with a romantic getaway close by. Capitola is a beautiful little town and I have always loved the Inn at Depot Hill. So we called and made reservations for the following night. The room was fantastic and had an amazing tub. (we stayed in the Kyoto room) The decor was beautiful with a private courtyard that made us feel we were in a world of our own! The breakfast in bed was delicious and the staff was wonderful! We intended on staying for the night but ended up extending our stay an additional night because we just couldnt bring ourselves to leave! We would have stayed longer but home responsibilities were calling. We had a wonderful time and look forward to another romantic getaway at The Inn At Depot Hill!

Room Tip: Kyoto room is marvelous but any room is wonderful there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

If you only read the first sentence of this review know this: You will be spoiled. You will leave relaxed and want to come back. Stayed in Sissinghurst or Stratford on Avon room as both are fantastic. My wife and I drove from San Diego to San Francisco up the PCH in September of 2011. She found Depot Hill in a tour guidebook and we called on the road. The Manager was fantastic. We later found out she was relatively new coming from a different facility within the same ownership group. Cannot say enough how wonderful she is. (Cannot remember her name). She was very gracious showing us the grounds and several rooms available for the night. We made our choice and enjoyed a quiet evening. Before heading out to walk the beach, we enjoyed the wine and cheese reception. After walking to the beach we came back to find that bread pudding was waiting for us. The next morning we had our breakfast special ordered and delivered. Thoroughly relaxing and we hated to leave. But we did and headed north to San Francisco for the day. After having dinner in the city, we decided it would be far more pleasant to stay at Depot Hill again. Once more, we called from the road and the receptionist (Lauren?) remembered us and agreed to wait for us to return. (Technically we were getting there too late and she did not have to wait for us). Not only did she wait for us, she put some of that evening’s dessert (chocolate covered strawberries with fresh whipped cream) in our room, Stratford on Avon. She took great care of us. It was like coming home. San Francisco was so busy in contrast to the tranquility of Depot Hill. We enjoyed our stay so much that as we were leaving, the Manager recommended other facilities closer to San Francisco. She went out of her way to call Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach to let them know we might stop by. In all my travels, this was the best customer service I have ever experienced. Unfortunately, I cannot say the same for the Cypress Inn. (See my other review). Overall, outstanding customer service combined with relaxing, beautiful rooms and delicious food provided us our favorite stay of the trip.

Room Tip: Sissinghurst and Stratford on Avon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockadash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Having been to the Inn before for New Years we had great memories of that previous stay. The Inn was charming as before, however, the staff seemed unable or unwilling to make this experience like the previous. We asked about a New Years toast or celebration as the previous Innkeepper had arranged. They said that was a good idea and would look into it. The place was dead and undecorated for New Years and no staff was present upon our return to the Inn well before midnight. The breakfasts were ordinary without choice and the staff seemed unconcerned for any health concerns, etc. There had been no communication between the nighttime and morning staff, apparently. There are so many quality b and b's out there, I would have to think long and hard about returning there.

Room Tip: Stay in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harvey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here for my wife's 40th birthday and I must say they did everything right. From wine and crackers when we arrived to a awesome room, friendly service and a breakfast. Walking distance from the village.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.4 km away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
290 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,646 reviews
4.2 km away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
317 reviews
0.5 km away
Monarch Cove Inn
Monarch Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Capitola
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Depot Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Depot Hill

Property: Inn at Depot Hill
Address: 250 Monterey Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-3358
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Depot Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the beach in the quaint, Mediterranean-style resort of Capitola-by-the-Sea, this AAA 4-diamond rated inn boasts 12 uniquely designed guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace, and many featuring private patios with hot tubs. Guests enjoy a full gourmet breakfast each morning served in the main salon or delivered right to your room. Enjoy afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, and our delicious homemade desert in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Depot Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Depot Hill Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing