We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Spent 5 days at this fun property. If you want unique, close to the beach, tasty breakfast, and fabulous customer service, this is your place! I've been to SD many times and have never been to Cardiff. Hidden gem, away from the big city madness. And a big shout out to Dawn! She turned us onto a couple awesome places we didn't know existed. And she called us by name when we saw her. Had a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

I stayed at the lodge for two nights in the Lattice Room...I asked for the darkest room as I really wanted to sleep in...this room was perfect! Very quiet, comfortable foam top mattress, plenty of pillows to choose from...absolutely no complaints! The roof top was a blast! Both nights we were the only people up there! When the roof closed at 10pm, we walked next door to the bar and played pool! Location is amazing...walk to beach, Seaside Market, liquor store...brought dinner in both nights to eat on the roof and watch the sunset! The staff was GREAT, extremely accommodating and friendly! I highly recommend a few nights when in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyInHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I thought the cost was way above the value. The pillows were very poor, made of shredded foam, sign stating, do not use the hair blower when the air is on, will blow the fuse,one blower above the bed to cool the room, two full flights of steps to the roof, no elevator or ramp, their was ONE firepit and ONE small hot tub for all guests, on the roof, everything shuts down at 10 pm, everything there was old, sufficient , but old and needed to be upgraded, location is good, parking is good, one small frig, no microwave, the staff are great. Especially Tina and she works hard to make a nice continental breakfast and very good coffee, she was extremely nice and helpful, it is a quaint neat little place that is overpriced for the quality we got, in my opinion. Not going to be able to stay there again for about two hundred a night. There is NO pool. For the money, I can do much much better.

Room Tip: Not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneofSpanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Last night had dinner at the Chart House at Cardiff by the Sea. Our table was by the window which was fully open to the beach for an obstructed view. The sunset was spectacular! All you could see was the beach and ocean. Our waitress Lynn was excellent! The food was absolutely delicious! Truly one of the most memorable meals ever!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

My wife booked a room here, and to begin with, the front desk couldn't find our reservation. To be fair, it was through Hotels.com, so that may not have been an issue with the hotel.
The real problem, however, was the powerful mildew smell. I should have known something was off when we were shown to the room and the door was open...
We were now running late for my brother-in-law's wedding, so I cranked on the A/
C, hoping that some drier air would clear up some of the mildew smell.
When we returned a few hours later, the smell was far worse, utterly unacceptable.
I asked Anthony at the front desk to move, no other room was available. I asked him to come and check out how bad the mildew smell was, and he didn't seem to really care. We could not stay in the room, it was overbearing!
We checked out at 10 p.m. without a refund or so much as the hint of an apology.
I highly recommend avoiding this establishment.

Room Tip: I'd avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We searched through all the big resorts in Southern California and finally found, on TripAdvisor, this hidden gem. It was worth the search! Perched on a hill overlooking the ocean north of La Jolla, the Lodge has a welcoming warm staff and a collection of unique rooms, each entirely different from the next. We were allowed to chose between three available rooms and chose the Santa Fe styled room, with a rustic four-poster bed, a fireplace, a huge unique shower, and a wall of windows overlooking the ocean.Breakfast is included and we took ours up to the roof deck with breezes coming off the ocean, a fire pit, hot tub, and several seating areas. Parking is always an issue along the beach, but the Lodge has its own parking garage underneath. We LOVED our stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Loved the Santa Fe style room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanticRoamer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

First let me say the staff was great but with that said, I was so disappointed in our room that I cut my visit short. Room 102, The Victorian Room is run down and uncomfortable. I question if the "queen size bed was queen and the pull out bed, I had to get Anthony to set it up. And the most uncomfortable mattress, had to be from the 70's, springs actually in the mattress (a lot of the good hotel now use tempra or memory foam). Turn cushions in t he chairs. And the air conditioner/heater was free standing but could not be moved, if you moved it the air vent tube would fall off. And we were told not to run the hair dryer and air conditioner at same time, it would blow a fuse. And housekeeping was not very good either. It was just uncomfortable and for what I paid I expected better. I suggest the money the owners are going to use to redo the outside be used to update the rooms.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank ajhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff-by-the-Sea
3.3 km away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
258 reviews
9.2 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
8.2 km away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
12.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff by the Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff by the Sea Lodge

Address: 142 Chesterfield Dr, Cardiff, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007-1922
Region: United States > California > Encinitas > Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Price Range: $141 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardiff by the Sea Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from the beach in a laid back beach community, fire pit & Jacuzzi in roof garden lounge, breakfast included, all rooms unique decor, many restaurants nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardiff by the Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff By The Sea Hotel Cardiff By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing