We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

LEGOLAND California
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.99*
and up
LEGOLAND® California
Ranked #9 of 47 things to do in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LEGOLAND® California Resort has more than 60 rides, shows and attractions including the new LEGO® Star Wars™: The Force Awakens Miniland Model Display opening March with a 16-foot long Finalizer model made completely out of LEGO bricks plus six more scenes! Conquer dragons, battle pirates and discover ancient treasures at the Resort, also home to LEGOLAND Water Park, SEA LIFE® Aquarium; and NEW for Summer enjoy Surfers’ Cove – a water park expansion featuring racer-water slides. There’s so much to do, you’ll want to spend the night at LEGOLAND Hotel featuring new LEGO NINJAGO themed rooms.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

One of the best theme parks. Lots of games and entertainment and good is delicious. Although Sea life was smaller then expected it was still awesome.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Vreyes98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1LEGOLANDDrive, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Park so much and found enjoyment in all the attractions and entertainment offered. Thank you so much for your feedback and review!

Warm Regards,

Jonathon | Product Excellence Managing Team
LEGOLAND® California Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"apple fries"
in 225 reviews
"lego displays"
in 145 reviews
"star wars"
in 270 reviews
"older kids"
in 285 reviews
"theme park"
in 401 reviews
"love legos"
in 102 reviews
"fun town"
in 68 reviews
"sea life aquarium"
in 87 reviews
"year olds"
in 239 reviews
"lego lovers"
in 74 reviews
"water park is"
in 115 reviews
"miniland usa"
in 72 reviews
"lego fan"
in 68 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 275 reviews
"popular rides"
in 70 reviews
"wave pool"
in 67 reviews
"entire park"
in 88 reviews
Filter

539 - 543 of 7,108 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

We had the pleasure of visiting with our two young teen daughters, our adult daughter and son in law, and our 3, 2, and 5 month old grandchildren. This place was just PERFECT for a family with young kids! Unlike some of the other theme parks, where attractions for those who aren't seeking major 'thrills' are few and far between, virtually every ride and show here brought delight to our 3 and 2 year old grandkids. The big smiles on their faces all day long were a highlight of our week long spring break trip to southern California. We opened and closed the park (10 a.m. to 7 p.m.) and could easily have spent another day here if we had had the time available. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank cljcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1LEGOLANDDrive, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for much for all the positive feedback you have provided us. I'm happy to hear that the whole family was able to enjoy a memorable day at the park. LEGOLAND California is geared for children ages 2-12 and was glad we accommodated your group. We hope you can visit with us again soon. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Legoland is truly a feast for the eyes - especially the mini villages which are worth spending a LOT of time really taking in all of the details. The Star Wars section blew me away. Each venue was so well done. All of the rides for the kids looked to be well done as well as far as visually and aesthetically, but the ride times were long - at least 30 minutes - and this is a lot for the small visitors these rides are geared towards. We only went on two rides because of the wait times. It's not like you are missing a thriller coaster or well-done Universal or Disney ride. They were literally carnival type, roundy-round rides. I would not subject a small child to waiting that long.
We were there on Easter and we thought it would not be that busy, so if that's not busy, I shudder to think what a day in the summer would be like. I would check online to see what average wait times are when you want to go because the base price was $120.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank cherylgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1LEGOLANDDrive, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Hello Chery,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our various LEGO model displays throughout the park. We're currently on our Spring Break season and our wait times can average a little higher than normal. Please contact us at experience@LEGOLAND.com so we can further assist you. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

First off, we are a Lego family. Some of my earliest childhood memories are of building with legos, and as I grew, I got to see the introduction of mini figures as a kid. I still build with Lego and encourage the same in my own children.

That said, I can only give Legoland CA a 4-Star rating. Some of their offerings are great, but there are also many shortcomings.

The positive:
+ The Star Wars models are excellent! There are full scenes from the movies built in large scale.
+ Additionally, there are amazing models of international buildings, real & imaginary animals, and many instances of the quirky Lego humor.
+ 4D movies are well done. Only 15 minutes in length, but included in the admission.
+ Rides are available for riders of all ages, ranging from small roller coasters, all the way down to lazy river boat rides.
+ The aquarium is well done. It has a different focus from others (like Scrips, the Shedd, or Monterey Bay) but has set things up in its own style. Marvelous large-format tank with a viewing tunnel and multiple additional windows. Good educational opportunities throughout.
+ Employees were friendly and helpful in every area- ride operators, food vendors, theater staff, etc.

The negatives:
- People management is poor. Queues are haphazard outside of the theater and restaurants, photo opportunities are placed squarely in traffic paths.
- Lego models and facilities show evidence of abuse by park goers. There should be continual daily model maintenance as a top priority since this is a Lego sanctioned park.
- Many small evidences of under-staffing: Lego bricks on the floor in (and around) the build areas that are clearly left from prior days; litter in queues, displays, sidewalks, etc.; only a single employee to cover an entire Hideout playground area.

Prices for food and parking seemed excessive to me, but are typical for large tourist attractions. ($3.50 for bottled Coke products) Gift shop prices were appropriate- Lego kit prices were comparable to other retailers.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1LEGOLANDDrive, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hello Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us feedback on your trip with us. We're happy to hear the many positive experiences you partook during your visit. However, troubled to see some of the negatives you shared. Please contact us at experience@LEGOLAND.com, if you'd like to contact us directly about these matters. Thank you for visiting. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

My little one loved the Lego Girls and the crepes they sell next to the lego girls stage. The apple fries are to die for. The girls really love the water park area too.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank d0grin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1LEGOLANDDrive, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad you were able to try our signature deserts at the park and that everyone had fun at the LEGOLAND Water Park. We hope you will visit again when LEGO Chima Water Park opens on May 26th. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LEGOLAND California also viewed

 

Been to LEGOLAND California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing