We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
176
279
167
57
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
279
167
57
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outlet mall across the street free shuttle yogurt free breakfast shuttle service to legoland walking distance breakfast room lego land premium outlets legoland visit nice pool hot tub no elevator flower fields great place to stay pool area
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 724 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

This hotel is in a great location for a vacation in this area. Nice swimming pool and only a couple of blocks to Legoland if you choose to go there. The beach is also very close and not overly crowded and in good condition. One of the main selling points was a free breakfast that was good to get your day going. I read lots of reviews saying it was overly crowded but our two days we did not have that situation and it was the week of the forth of July.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank elindquist19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Carlsbad by the Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you had a good experience while staying with us. We have some planned renovations after this summer so I hope you get a chance to visit us again when we're finished!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

the exterior was a bit dilapidated but the room was nice. it was comfy and quiet and just what we needed in a pinch. the price was good compared to other hotels in the area. breakfast was ok. would reccomend for a nights stay

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank McMillanAndWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Carlsbad by the Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Check back with us this fall as the new Windmill Food Hall that is opening. It's a really fun and unique dining experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Staff is friendly, breakfast is good tjet have many choices, kids get a beach ball at check in, they also have some in the pool area. Rooms have a balcony or patio, pool area is very nice they have towels for guest to use.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank EGar92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Carlsbad by the Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay! The beach balls are definitely a hit. I hope you had a chance to play with them at the beach, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

My husband and i stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. Their price is not that cheap and not that expensive too. I like their breakfast. There was only one problem we encountered in this hotel - their sink was clogged. So we opted not to use it.
Just some tip: choose the groundfloor room especially if u have lots of luggages like us. All in all we are going to be back here again for our next vacation.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank daisy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Carlsbad by the Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

I'm pleased that you had a good experience while you were staying with us, other than the clogged sink. I hope we had our maintenance team was able to get it unclogged for you. We look forward to having you return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2018

This is a mid to low tier hotel, that has the feeling of a hotel slash motel. Its a pretty good value (during the time we stayed there. One thing to note is that the name is a little misleading - its by the freeway, not the sea...

The rooms are decent, but had some issues like the bathroom sink stopper not working, the bathroom fan cover was missing, and the shower faucet was cracked. Also, we wanted a king bed, but the beds must be a queen since its on the small side.

The property is a little tired on the outside - the bright red fire alarm next to our room was obviously broken which is disconcerting.

The pool is great - a decent size and I think its a salt-water pool. The pool is the best part of the hotel.

Also, its very close to the outlet mall, so if you like shopping you can walk there from this hotel.

Room Tip: try to get a room that doesn't face the street
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank justin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews