We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excceeded our expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excceeded our expectation”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I just wanted to drop a few lines on this reviews about how impressive as a first minute we arrived umtil the last minute we departed. As we were seeking for a quality/peaceful time together with family during a holiday time (Dec.26th to Dec. 30th) we were luckily to come accross this place online in very short time searching. We were *VERY* gratefull for the offer that the staffs had given us more than we expected or the price that we paid for.
My family enjoyed every minutes/second of staying there.
One again, on behave of my family i would like to send out our gratitute for an opportunity of staying at this awesome facility and the spectacular view. We will look forward for another trip in near future again. That said, i would recomemd everyone to this place and ask for Barry the manager there he would help you in every angle of your need to make your staying with a maximun enjoyable.

Thanks so very much again, Barry for helping out.

-Don Pham

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    149
    24
    17
    35
See reviews for
446
322
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I'm very much doubting Trip Advisor and these reviews. The people who rate this high must have no reference to a quality hotel. This place is a converted 1950's apartment and is not on the beach and there are no views. There is nothing luxury about it. We got there, were horrified and left. Room was musty, small and didn't even have enough seats for our party.
When I made reservation I specifically asked if we could smoke outside. The women said yes as long as slider was closed. We were supposed to be on an upper level. They put us in a room off a courtyard with no balcony and no slider. They kept telling us there was a wedding a half of the property was being used.
They not only charged us the deposit but also kept the 2nd night charge. In my opinion this is theft. Not a way to run a business. Manager is clueless and has no idea how to treat customers..
For a better deal, go a bit further south to The Tamarack which does have ocean views, light airy rooms and is less expensive. Full kitchens too.

Room Tip: Go to another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Notahappytraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We were on an early December road trip from San Francisco to San Diego. This was our favorite spot by far. We like to travel on a budget and the best way to do that is cook your own food. The kitchen at Ocean Palms was perfect with plenty of options. The room was really nice- great bed and service. The only mediocre part was the bathroom, but they are remodeling the rooms and this one hadn't been done yet. The owner was on site and great to deal with. He was able to meet our low price request due to the time of year and vacancy rate for that week. Very fair, good cookies daily from the oven and fresh fruit as well. We'll definitely go back there!

Room Tip: Just ask whether the room has been remodeled yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed in a very reasonably priced studio room which included its own bath and a kitchen area with refrigerator and oven/stove. Though one window faced out on a side street, we were not aware of traffic noise. Our front window looked out on landscaping and a parking area, but it all felt so peaceful. The front office people were delightfully friendly and helpful. I had left my recharger at home for my cell phone and they found one that I could use. The bed was surprisingly confortable and I slept very well. My husband woke when late-comers walked by at 1:15 AM using their outside voices, but other than that, our stay was lovely. We love Carlsbad anyway, but being so central (just across street from beach access and short blocks to many shops and restaurants) made it feel like a true village experience. Thank you Ocean Palms! We'd love to come again.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask to be up front or on the 2nd story. The studio we were in was on ground leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Rey, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Two years in a row now some friends and I have stayed here for a holiday trip to local breweries, and this place doesn't disappoint. Great value for rooms right on the beach and easy to book last minute (at least when we go in December).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greghinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My Family of 5 recently visited OPBR. It was wonderful. The resort grounds were absolutley wonderful. Very well maintained and the kids loved the tiki palm trees. Our room was great. It was very clean and it had all the things we needed to cook meals, it felt like a home away from home. The beach was wonderful!! It was a clean beach and not a lot of seaweed and rocks. We took advantage of the BBQ grills that were available and my husband used the gym, he said it was really good equipment. VERY NICE!!! We will most deffinitley be returning when the weather gets a little warmer. OPBR ROCKS!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyj0977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Just returned from a few nights stay at the Ocean Palms Beach Resort to celebrate my husband's Birthday. What a fantastic hotel! The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and the mini suite we stayed in was awesome. The price was VERY affordable in comparison to all other local hotels. (And believe me I did my research...) Plus the ambiance blew every other place outta the water too. I would absolutely recommend it to all my friends and family!
Please ignore all negative reviews that others have posted about this place. You have got to be super picky to find fault with anything here. If you expect the Ritz then go stay there...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 km away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,310 reviews
7.5 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
5.7 km away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 km away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
0.1 km away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing