We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
407
214
106
47
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
214
106
47
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilton grand vacations club stayed in building phase ii pool area hgvc owners smaller pool time share private entrance full kitchen san diego bedroom unit lego land washer and dryer ping pong fire pit main pool la jolla
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 811 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here twice now with our 4 kids. We've had a 2 bedroom both times and it works out just right for our family. Staff is friendly and helpful. Grounds are kept nice. Rooms are clean and functional. Pool areas are great. There is construction work that you hear during the day but nights and mornings are quiet. It hasn't affected our stay. Highly recommend for family trips.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank 488stevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit - thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Our 2 bedroom unit was clean and well maintained, as were the grounds around the pool, hot tub and barbecue grill areas. At the pool we enjoyed listening to the music of the Beatles, Elton John, Tom Petty, Don McLean and the like. There are two very large pools in the area we went to. The pool that is heated by the sun was cold in November, but the other specified as heated was comfortable, although still on the cool side. I thought of it as a good way to save energy as there were very few people at the pool this time of year and in the summer the temperature is probably fine. There are recycle stations, which could be better promoted. We had no problems finding a parking space although we felt the parking spaces were narrow, making parking between cars tight. The staff are all friendly, professional and helpful. There is food service on-site, and plenty of restaurants in the area (not within walking distance).

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

Thanks for the great review, Debbie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

The resort was very nice and in a great location. It was less than 30 minutes from San Diego. The staff were friendly and professional. The resort had two large pools with poolside games (ping pong, pool, giant connect four, and foosball. They also had a poolside bar and a fire pit. The one bedroom was modern, clean and spacious.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Thank you, Michael, for staying with us. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay - we appreciate the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

The MarBrisa property is a lovely resort with great facilities and a beautiful pool area. It's location, while not on the water, was not far from the water and the village of Carlsbad is a short drive away. We didn't try any of the restaurants on the property, but there were many close by. I was disappointed by the service, however.

We are Hilton Diamond members and also owners in the HGVC.
Upon check in, we were asked if a ground level unit was ok. Not knowing the property at all, I answered "yes". When we got to our room, we discovered the ground unit we were assigned to, faced a small hill and a parking lot. Consequently, the view out of room was car bumpers at eye level. We were not informed that the ground level room meant we were directly viewing the parking lot. A day later we requested a change of rooms since we were staying 8 nights. I even said we would wait until after the weekend to switch rooms. They said they would let me know. Even after contacting them again, nothing happened. I could understand them not switching our room if this place was full, but based on all the empty parking spaces, it is not full.

We were also told our room would be cleaned on Sunday. Sunday afternoon I called to confirm our room would be cleaned since it was midday and it hadn't been cleaned yet. I was assured the cleaning would take place. We arrived back to our room at 6:30 pm and it had not been cleaned. I called again, and was told it would be cleaned this evening. It's now 8 pm and it has not been cleaned. I'm not sure why I was told it would still be cleaned this evening, clearly, they were lying to me.

In addition, the safe in the room is locked in the open position, so it cannot be used. Also, I wouldn't normally complain about this, but there is no clock in the bedroom. Every hotel I've stayed in has had either a clock, clock/radio, clock/IPod, or something. Not here, you need to pick up your cell phone to find the time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank midmichtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us and would like the opportunity to address your concerns directly.Please reach out to us at (760) 828-4520 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

Floors were extremely soiled. Front desk person was rude and very dismissive. Parking costs were excessive for the construction zone. They powerwashed our entire building for 3 of the 7 days we were there. Would not go back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank judylar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Judy, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We would be more than happy to address these issues with you - please do not hesitate to call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews