We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strives for perfection and gets real close”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Spent 2 days at a conference at the Park Hyatt Aviara March 2012. The property was very beautiful, staff extremely helpful, and the room comfortable.

Food quality at restaurants was very good, but didn't reach to the level of great.

Golf course pretty and well maintained, but not particularly challenging.

Biggest downside is the price tag, but that's to be expected considering amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alpinecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,553 - 1,559 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and 20 month old daughter stayed here last weekend, and it was a very nice time. I tried the suite upgrade for $75 feature on the site and it was well worth it. The bed was very comfy and the room was clean. One weird thing was that the furniture in the main room was a bit old, shabby and beat up. The staff was thoroughly professional and helpful.

The division of swimming pools is a great idea at this resort; there is an upper level for families and their high spirited children and a lower area ("tranquility pools") for those 16 and older who want to just chill out.

Breakfast on Sunday was great: the pecan rolls were delish and they make their own vanilla yogurt on site, which is a nice touch. Eggs benedict Florentine were lovely.

The place is way too expensive for what you get, but living in Cali carries its price, I guess.

Room Tip: Suites are large and nice.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolbreezewingtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I had the opportunity to spend last week at the Park Hyatt Aviara. It was a good choice, really stunning design inside and out. The service was great, everyone cheerful and well trained. My 2 room suite was large and attractive and housekeeping did a fine job. Restaurants on property were good and all food was well prepared. The quiet pool had a panoramic view of the lagoon hills and a touch of ocean. I enjoyed the lagoon, it was easy to get down to for a 3k walk or run in nature everyday. The fitness area was bright, clean, and equipped with cybex machines and cardio equipment. I did a nice facial and massage at the spa. The relaxation room was just lovely.
I liked this hotel and plan to return when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel with our child in late February. I'm a Hyatt Diamond member so I was able to upgrade to a suite, which was beautiful. The suite had a separate living room, two large balconies, and one and a half baths.

From reading some of the reviews of this property, formerly managed by Four Seasons, you'd think it was in shambles. There seem to be a lot of "it isn't a Four Seasons" anymore type reviews. I find these inane. It's not a Four Seasons and doesn't market itself as such. It's a Park Hyatt! I understand the temptation to make implicit comparisons between the former and current management companies, but I just don't see the purpose, and I say that as a frequent guest of Four Seasons properties around the country. People need to get over it. This is a five-star hotel, and while it wasn't perfect, it's still nicer than the vast majority of properties out there. So, I'll rate the hotel on its own merits.

As stated, the suite was lovely and great for our family needs since my wife and I could lounge in the living room after our child went to bed. The main pool area is nice, with some amenities for kids including a kiddie pool and a water feature area. The "tranquility pool" which is reserved for adults, is beautiful and overlooks the bluff and landscape leading down to Batiquitos Lagoon and the Pacific in the distance. Music plays underwater in this pool, which is a relaxing feature.

Here's a summary of some of the other salient features of this property, in my opinion.

PROS:
- overall, very good service. Not great, but very good. We had two instances of lapses that were quickly corrected (an incorrect drink order, and a room service order that was incorrectly delivered to our room).
- lovely location on top of a bluff in Carlsbad
- the breakfast spread in California Bistro was first rate
- pool area, both for kids and adults
- valet parking staff was terrific
- nice locker room/spa/sauna facilities adjacent to fitness center
- lovely, sprawling property
- location was relaxed (35 min north of San Diego) but allowed access to Disneyland, SD Zoo, Sea World, etc. within 30-90 minute drives

CONS
- a few minor service lapses, as noted
- food in the lobby lounge was above average, but not great, given the prices (~$100 for tapas, 2 drinks and a kids meal)

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay at the Park Hyatt Aviara again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Goldie_Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel represents impeccable service and class. The entire staff was so impressive. The grounds and the interior are maintained to the level you would expect in a five star facility. Service and the food in the restaurants was also impressive. Put it on your must stay list.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Over all I liked the Park Hyatt Aviara.

The former Four Seasons is still worth the trip for the lovely accommodations and the relaxing spa. The food is a bit of a let-down, but then again, you can't have everything.

The room was well appointed and comfortable.

The spa took good care of me and lived up to the hype.

The food was generally okay, but not of 5-star quality.

All-in-all, I would give the Aviara another whirl and recommend that you do too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have been to this property a few times. It is a nice property with a friendly staff and pretty grounds. The food is good and the spa is nice, although small. The adult pool is nice as well. But the one big mistake that Hyatt made at this property was keeping the prices for rooms, parking, food, spa treatments, and drinks at Four Seasons levels when the service is nowhere near the Four Seasons standard. It is on par with most other Hyatt resorts, which are usually comfortable 4 star resorts. It just doesn't warrant the 5 star prices that it inherited from Four Seasons when it took over from them. Service is okay but not stellar. Apparently there is a current employee shortage in a few areas and it shows. As a result, many employees are doing the work of two people which does not lead to good morale. The rooms are nicely appointed but in need of some renovations. They don't even have HDTV yet! Seriously. And Internet reception is somewhat slow. In my room, I had to run the sink for 5 minutes each time before I had hot water. And room service kept messing up my order, bringing me the wrong items and cold soup! If they do some renovations and upgrades and bring down the prices, they would have a winner. Oh, and $25 for parking in addition to a $25 resort fee? C'mon people! Lastly, it is lacking the Regency Club lounge that many frequent guests enjoy at most other Hyatt resorts.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kilarney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.0 km away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
2.8 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
9.3 km away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,330 reviews
4.2 km away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $400 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing