We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed here for a couple nights over the spring break holiday with my wife and two toddlers. I had stayed here over New Years and had some minor criticisms of the service but thought that it was a great hotel. On this occasion, I was pleasantly surprised. They seem to have improved the service that last notch to make it a 5-star establishment.

The hotel is very kid-friendly with a nice pool and water park. There is a game room and day camp available but we did not use it as it was geared to slightly older kids. The daily breakfast buffet is great for families who's' kids are impatient eaters. It is close to Legoland and a 30-45 min drive from most of San Diego's attractions.

My only complaint is that the rooms do not have HD television service!

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,609 - 1,615 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great staycation for me and my daughter - about 40 min south of our house and worth every penny. Upon arrival, my friend called the hotel and told them we had two tired toddlers coming inbound from Lego Land and they had cribs and diaper genies set up immediately! In the lobby they had a cute red wagon filled with toys to choose from and the parking attedant was nice enough to suggest we take the hotel shuttle down to the playground after their nap which was a great idea. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and filled with everything I needed. Even baby products like diaper creme, bubble bath and wash. There was a great deep tub for bubble baths and great black-out blinds to let me and my daughter sleep in a little. If the weather was a little warmer I would have taken advantage of the pool, kiddie pool and water play area. Great job Hyatt!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bananz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Spent 2 days at a conference at the Park Hyatt Aviara March 2012. The property was very beautiful, staff extremely helpful, and the room comfortable.

Food quality at restaurants was very good, but didn't reach to the level of great.

Golf course pretty and well maintained, but not particularly challenging.

Biggest downside is the price tag, but that's to be expected considering amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alpinecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and 20 month old daughter stayed here last weekend, and it was a very nice time. I tried the suite upgrade for $75 feature on the site and it was well worth it. The bed was very comfy and the room was clean. One weird thing was that the furniture in the main room was a bit old, shabby and beat up. The staff was thoroughly professional and helpful.

The division of swimming pools is a great idea at this resort; there is an upper level for families and their high spirited children and a lower area ("tranquility pools") for those 16 and older who want to just chill out.

Breakfast on Sunday was great: the pecan rolls were delish and they make their own vanilla yogurt on site, which is a nice touch. Eggs benedict Florentine were lovely.

The place is way too expensive for what you get, but living in Cali carries its price, I guess.

Room Tip: Suites are large and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolbreezewingtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I had the opportunity to spend last week at the Park Hyatt Aviara. It was a good choice, really stunning design inside and out. The service was great, everyone cheerful and well trained. My 2 room suite was large and attractive and housekeeping did a fine job. Restaurants on property were good and all food was well prepared. The quiet pool had a panoramic view of the lagoon hills and a touch of ocean. I enjoyed the lagoon, it was easy to get down to for a 3k walk or run in nature everyday. The fitness area was bright, clean, and equipped with cybex machines and cardio equipment. I did a nice facial and massage at the spa. The relaxation room was just lovely.
I liked this hotel and plan to return when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel with our child in late February. I'm a Hyatt Diamond member so I was able to upgrade to a suite, which was beautiful. The suite had a separate living room, two large balconies, and one and a half baths.

From reading some of the reviews of this property, formerly managed by Four Seasons, you'd think it was in shambles. There seem to be a lot of "it isn't a Four Seasons" anymore type reviews. I find these inane. It's not a Four Seasons and doesn't market itself as such. It's a Park Hyatt! I understand the temptation to make implicit comparisons between the former and current management companies, but I just don't see the purpose, and I say that as a frequent guest of Four Seasons properties around the country. People need to get over it. This is a five-star hotel, and while it wasn't perfect, it's still nicer than the vast majority of properties out there. So, I'll rate the hotel on its own merits.

As stated, the suite was lovely and great for our family needs since my wife and I could lounge in the living room after our child went to bed. The main pool area is nice, with some amenities for kids including a kiddie pool and a water feature area. The "tranquility pool" which is reserved for adults, is beautiful and overlooks the bluff and landscape leading down to Batiquitos Lagoon and the Pacific in the distance. Music plays underwater in this pool, which is a relaxing feature.

Here's a summary of some of the other salient features of this property, in my opinion.

PROS:
- overall, very good service. Not great, but very good. We had two instances of lapses that were quickly corrected (an incorrect drink order, and a room service order that was incorrectly delivered to our room).
- lovely location on top of a bluff in Carlsbad
- the breakfast spread in California Bistro was first rate
- pool area, both for kids and adults
- valet parking staff was terrific
- nice locker room/spa/sauna facilities adjacent to fitness center
- lovely, sprawling property
- location was relaxed (35 min north of San Diego) but allowed access to Disneyland, SD Zoo, Sea World, etc. within 30-90 minute drives

CONS
- a few minor service lapses, as noted
- food in the lobby lounge was above average, but not great, given the prices (~$100 for tapas, 2 drinks and a kids meal)

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay at the Park Hyatt Aviara again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Goldie_Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel represents impeccable service and class. The entire staff was so impressive. The grounds and the interior are maintained to the level you would expect in a five star facility. Service and the food in the restaurants was also impressive. Put it on your must stay list.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 km away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
2.0 km away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
2.8 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
9.3 km away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,346 reviews
4.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $390 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing