We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old Courtyard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Nice place, but needs an overhaul badly... the main thing is that the beds are not up to a normal Marriott's standards... the location is near a fairly large business area, but also on the Lego Land exit... about 3 miles off the highway... not a bad place to stay, but not great either.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgreene99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    105
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
124
30
14
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Recently stayed here for three nights and was extremely happy with this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had a nice view of the pool. There was complimentary coffee, tea, and fruit in the lobby that was convenient for us to grab as we came and went. The staff truly was great as we were there for the recent blackout. We arrived to the hotel and the lights still had not come back on, we were met in the lobby by a friendly staff member who offered us a sandwich and had someone escort us to our room with a flashlight. Luckily as we climbed the stairs to get to our room the lights came back on. They made what could've been a bad situation a memorable one in a positive way. You won't be disappointed if you choose this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjohns45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Typical hotel with square non-resort style pool and acceptable rooms, however shower water temperature ranged from burning hot to freezing cold, however the worst part is seeing the continental breakfast, sitting down to eat after serving ourselves, and finding out that the charge was $11.95/adult, $5.95/kids. Supposedly we were to be told this at check in, but we were not. When was the last time you were in a hotel of this caliber and breakfast was NOT complimentary. Coffee was free, though. Fitness room includes 4 machines, no free weights.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzisnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hotel is located in a business park area. For those travelling on vacation, the hotel is close to Legoland, Carlsbad outlet shopping, and some dining nearby. You will have to drive to any attractions, including dining and the beach. Hotel itself was clean and comfortable. There was a nice pantry open 24 hours to grab snacks, water, etc. The bar area serves small plates/appetizers and drinks. There is a breakfast buffet for $11.95 in the morning if interested. The main problem I experienced at this property was the phone reception and wifi in the rooms didn't work well. I had to go outside of the building or in the lobby to make a call. Outside of that, if in the area, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srjuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Courtyard was really outstanding, can't remember that anything was a negative. Good experience at check in, staff really friendly, good room with a view over the pool; quiet and a great bed. Breakfast was pretty standard fare buffet but staff was attentive and even helped find a place for me to sit - it was a pretty busy morning.

I'd certainly use this property again if I get the chance to go back to Carlsbad, CA.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davenak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad. We were there for a soccer tournament and there were many other sports teams there. Parking was free which was nice. The bed was ok for comfort, but the pull-out was uncomfortable with only a top sheet and blanket (who knows the last time that was washed...) provided. Our phone didn't work thankfully we didn't need it. The provided team breakfast was good, but a little slow on the refills of eggs, bacon, and oatmeal. Good selection of drinks. This location did not provide a great selection of nearby restaurants and the beach was a short drive away. All in all a decent hotel, clean, and comfortable. We've stayed in many hotels for soccer trips and I would say that in general the San Diego area is disappointing because of the older, mildewy rooms and tight parking. This hotel compares well with most that we've stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazja5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texarkana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Upon check-in, I asked for a room with a balcony. The man at the desk said "no problem" and checked me in. I bid this hotel on Priceline and was very happy. It was very close to ProFlight, where I was attending training for a few days. Usually I'm given a poor room location because I use Priceline, but not here. They treated me as a normal guest who paid normal price for the room. I wish more hotels treated us as good as this one did.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natornator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.7 km away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
0.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
1.5 km away
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport

Property: Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Address: 5835 Owens Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-6562 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad)
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad hotel is located just 3 miles from the Pacific Ocean and Carlsbad beach, blocks from LEGOLAND® California and Carlsbad Premium Outlets, near the Carlsbad and Vista business parks 15 minutes from Camp Pendleton and close to the McClellan-Palomar Airport. When travel takes you to Carlsbad for a California hotel room, the Marriott offers all the comforts and quality you have come to expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. This hotel near LEGOLAND® California offers guests easy access to the sprawling park and nearby outlet malls and more. Business travelers attending meetings and conferences in the Carlsbad area enjoy a large work desk with an ergonomic chair, high speed Internet access and relaxing atmosphere to unwind at the end of the day. Nearby area Carlsbad businesses include McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), United States Marine Camp Pendleton Marine Base, Cal State San Marcos, Callaway Golf, Invitrogen, Western Flight and many more Carlsbad and Vista Business Park companies. Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the warm welcome by our friendly north San Diego hotel staff as you join us in Carlsbad, California at our Marriott hotel.Attractions Near Our Carlsbad CA Marriott hotel Include:• Carlsbad Beaches• Carlsbad Premium Outlets• Carlsbad Village• Del Mar Race Track• Del Mar Fairgrounds• Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch• LEGOLAND® California Theme Park• LEGOLAND® California Waterpark• Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park• Museum of Making Music• Safari Park Other points of interest to our north San Diego Carlsbad area hotel include all the attractions of San Diego such as Sea World California, the San Diego Zoo, Downtown San Diego, Old Town and much more. Other nearby points of interest include the Sealife Aquarium, Gemological Institute of America, San Clemente and much more. The courteous friendly staff of the Courtyard by Marriott® Carlsbad Hotel guarantees your stay with us will exceed your expectations! Amenities of the Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad Hotel include: • Ample & Complimentary Parking• Business Center with Media Pods• New Redesigned Courtyard Lobby• GoBoard Technology Center®• Boarding Pass Station• Carlsbad Area Meeting Rooms (1,200 square feet)• High Speed Internet Access (Complimentary)• Indoor Fitness Center• Outdoor Heated Pool & Deck Area• Luxury Marriott Bedding and Pillows• The Bistro featuring Starbucks Coffee (open breakfast and dinner)• Whirlpool Suites Available• The Market 24-Hour Café ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Courtyard Carlsbad
Carlsbad Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing