We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$345
US$329
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$363
US$305
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$123
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
US$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$302
US$289
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
US$330
US$278
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$337
US$314
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
187
76
15
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
76
15
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet sidefront desknewer hotelfree breakfastpalomar airport roadthe breakfast areayogurtnice hotellego landspacious roomshort stayheated poolnice sizehard boiled eggsexercise roomenjoyed our staynice stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 289 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Our family spent 5 nights in this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel in Carlsbad. It's in a great area. While not close to the beach, it's an easy drive. The hotel rooms are large and new. There is a lot of space for families. There is a gas fireplace in the lobby and a fire pit outside. The free breakfast has many yummy options and the front desk people were wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tw0sets0ftwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Thank you for the great review, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return to Carlsbad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Everyone was great! King room was comfortable and clean. The bed and shower was perfect. The location was ideal- close to everything including the beach.
Sophia Anderson deserves a big raise because she was polite and helpful to everyone. The other great staff was Sophia, too , friendly and aiding with any request cheerfully. The room attendant cleaned our room at whatever time we asked, changing our sheets and bedding so the room was well maintained at all times.
She supplied extra towels for our swims and exercise bathing. Maria , the cook was a "worker bee" ----cooking various delicious breakfast meals and keeping plenty out for all the guests and children. Marriot should be very proud of this hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Main road excess is very close , but the hotel is far enough into the business complex that it is quiet , quiet area.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenwood-DaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you so much for the great review and recognizing the team members. We all work very hard to create a home away from home and its so nice to see when someone is able to share their experience. I will share your comments with team and celebrate the awesome review.

Thank you, Safe Travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

This hotel met most of our expectations: Clean rooms with everything you need and nice televisions. Very friendly & attentive staff who helped us move to a higher floor day two and provided restaurant advice in Carlsbad. Plenty of free parking. Computer station downstairs to check sites of interest. Excellent complimentary wifi. Complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate at night. And full complimentary breakfast with hot and cold items and indoor and outdoor restaurant type seating.

Really good location for all guests:
1. Ideal for business travellers with clients in the area for most months of the year.
2. We travelled as a couple who visited several beaches in La Jolla, Del Mar and Carlsbad and hotel has easy access to Interstate 5 with north and south off-ramps directly to Palomar Oaks Way, which made travel easier.
3. Popular with families visiting LEGOLAND, which is just down the street.
4. Ideal for travellers with a car.

Be forewarned that LEGOLAND changes the character of this hotel during Spring/Summer months. And the breakfast area is filled with excited young kids, which made it chaotic at times before the park opens.

Note to parents with kids: please supervise your children during your stay in respect to other guests and hotel staff. We were really surprised by the poor behaviour of some young children whose parents abdicated all responsibility and let them run wild during breakfast and outside rooms.

Note to hotel: recommend you add one more double toaster as guests were lined up to use the one you have the three days we were there. Thanks for nice assortment of bagels and yogurts that were quickly replentished!

For the record never heard a plane in the small airport near property and had good restful sleeps. Nor is the property beside Interstate 5 like many other hotels. By car the interstate is 8-10 minutes away, which I thought was ideal and Costco is on the south side of Palomar a few minutes before the highway, which is perfect for shopping and gas. And Carlsbad Premium Outlets is on Paseo Del Norte which is just off the highway and one block north of Palomar.

If you love a good hike I highly recommend you visit Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve, which is 2,000 acres of coastal state park in La Jolla offering spectacular views. Note that when you arrive to park from the north on Highway 101 there is free parking along the beach, which will save you $20 in parking, but you will have to arrive early in busy months, but people do come and go. And then you just walk down the park entrance and walk up the road to trails at top.

Having a portable GPS is very helpful when visiting sites up or down the coast and use Interstate 5 where possible as traffic is slow at points on Hwy 101 through La Jolla and Del Mar with multiple 4-way stop signs.

We also traveled south to visit San Diego and Interstate 5 gets busy during rush hours so plan for 45 minutes up or down, but it can be less coming back after 6 pm.

Of all the places we visited during our stay from San Diego to Oceanside, my wife preferred Carlsbad as her #1 favoured community. It has a nice city centre by beach and if you stay on Palomar and cross the interstate it continues to the water and you swing right to get to lovely restaurants including Norte Mexican Restaurant where we ate outdoors with heat lamps two evenings and 2 adults can easily share a plate.

If you walk one short block north of Carlsbad Village Drive there is beach access on Grand Avenue and locals go there to watch beautiful sunsets.

Thanks again to the manager and staff for a nice stay!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1TravelCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Thank you for your very detailed review, lots of great information. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back if you return to Carlsbad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

Competitive price for a nice place with good service from Abigail at the front desk.
It was a last minute panic for a place to stay after a Wedding. Abigail was great with my wife on the phone, and even better in person
We’ll be back

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marksettles2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Thank you for the great comments about Abigail, I will make sure the team and leadership celebrates her efforts to make your stay better. We hope to see you back when you return to Carlsbad.

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018

The rooms are large and comfortable, but the free internet has been very slow for the last 3 days. Fast internet will cost money. There are plenty of power plugs, and a great tv. Breakfast is very good, with outstanding oatmeal, fresh fruit, and waffles. Little improvements would make a big difference to me. First, free internet that supports streaming video is a must. Second, add a towel rack to the bathroom (only one hook now). Add a nightlight to the bathroom. Fix the shower so that the floor doesn’t get soaked when the glass door is opened. The last thing I want to add is that if you like to take walks, this hotel is in an isolated area without a sidewalk, and you can’t walk to the ocean like you can from many other hotels in Carlsbad.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Thank you for you feedback, I will share will the team and see if there are ways to improve the guest experience. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back on any return trips to Carlsbad.

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews