We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worked well with event planned in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Carlsbad South
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Stayed here while attending MCRD graduation ceremonies only about 30 minutes away. Motel has a courtyard layout with plenty of parking that made loading and unloading very easy. Room was clean and comfortable except that A/C went out second night. So far, management has not seen fit to adjust cost of stay. Location was only about a mile from beach. Staff did a fair job of responding to issues we had.

Room Tip: All rooms on courtyard around pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed here for a few times. The staffs are friendly. It is close to beach, shopping malls, grocery stores... very convenient location. Room was clean and pet friendly. If you are traveling with your 4 legs family member and need place to stay with reasonable price with dog friendly environment, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Beau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This motel is located within a block of Carlsbad Beach area. The rooms are quite small, no frills to them. They were clean for the most part. The floors need to be cleaned with a cleaner instead of just a wet mop. I liked that it had laminate flooring so we could wipe the floors down with a towel to get them to our level of cleanliness. The windowsill had mold around it. No fridge, microwave, hair dryer or clothes iron, but they don't advertise that either. Pool was clean. Dogs are allowed here, but other than seeing them around you can't tell that they are there. Grounds are well kept.

The housekeeping staff works hard here, 10-12 hour days. It seemed like they were there when we woke up and still going as we were getting ready for bed. Very nice and accommodating team.

If you want WIFI you have to pay for it. There is a grocery store, convenience store, pharmacy store and fast food restaurants a block away also. Great location for this motel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Flash E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Check in was a breeze. I asked for a room away from any little kids, I was put upstairs facing the road, very quiet! Pool was refreshing after being in the sun all day.
Beds are comfortable and so are the pillows. Rooms were cleaned daily, ours wasn't until 5 pm, but, they did a great job removing all the sand from the beach.
Only complaints I have are the mold growing on the bathroom ceiling, the water pressure in our shower was lousy, but, the water was hot, no coffee maker, no microwave, or fridge in the room, we stayed 3 nights, would've been nice for those things.
Jack in the box is close, Ralph's grocery store, benihana restaurant, a few others. Beach is also fairly close, we didn't go to that one, only the one on Camp Pendleton.
Nice neighborhood, very quiet, plenty of parking as well.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank fairg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

My cousin and I often stay at this motel whenever we do our quick beach trips. We usually stay 1-2 nights. They've always been nice, excellent customer service at the front desk. The maids are also pleasant when passing by, with saying hello. The room is always clean, floors, shower, toilet, sink, counter. The bed is comfortable, big comfy pillows, clean sheets! However I do think it's time to get new bath towels. We've been staying here on our trips for about 4yrs and the only complaint is the towels.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We pass through this area at least once per year and often stay at this motel. We understand that this is budget accommodation, but I still expect it to be immaculately clean, which it was far from being this trip. I'm afraid we'll be finding somewhere else in future as I will not tolerate a lack of cleanliness. I also resent, in this age of electronics, having to pay additionally for internet access.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before committing to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Small room but when we visit the beach we aren't indoors much. Pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness & quick response from staff, very friendly. No fridge/microwave or blow dryer but I expected that. Considering the price of neighboring hotels, can't beat this cost!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lasamsils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
6.3 km away
Hyland Inn Near Legoland
Hyland Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
114 reviews
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#22 of 36 in Carlsbad
168 reviews
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,100 reviews
7.2 km away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
3.5 km away
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Address: 750 Raintree Dr, I-5/San Diego Freeway at Poinsettia Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3206
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $76 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carlsbad South 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlsbad South Hotel Carlsbad
Motel Six Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel Six
Carlsbad Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing