We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great scenery but very popular” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Lobos State Reserve

Point Lobos State Reserve
Ranked #1 of 107 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch whales in winter and sea lions all year round at this Bay Area nature reserve, which offers hiking, walking, bird watching, scuba diving and magnificent views.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great scenery but very popular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Who would have thought the line of cars waiting to get in to the park at 10:30 on Sunday in February would be 15 deep? There's limited parking inside the park, so if you're capable of it, park outside along Highway 1 and walk inside. We did the North Shore Trail and vowed to come back again. Scenery was really spectacular.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jank360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,070
    317
    36
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

If you're heading down Highway 1 or visiting Carmel do NOT miss this park. I think even the non-hiker would enjoy this place. Trails are extremely easy and level, and the scenery is fantastic. We saw lots of seals and birds, and a park docent had set up a telescope so you could see the otters playing out in the harbour. All the park staff I interacted with were pleasant and knowledgeable. Scenery here was like nothing I had seen before!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank CeeCee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped off here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed in Monterey and drove down Highway 1 down to Big Sur Village taking various stops, we turned back at Big Sur Village and stopped on the way back at Point Lobos resort and really glad we did.
The car parks were quite busy but we found a spot and did quite a few of the walks.
The scenery is stunning and the walks are quite easy, if you like nice walks, the sea and wildlife this is for you.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shanghai_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

A quiet place to walk listening to the waves. Occasional sea lions can be seen sunning themselves. Photographers love it.

Helpful?
Thank daynawess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You must come here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

OR don't cause I like it less crowded - so beautiful - accessible hikes for everyone - just the best place.

Helpful?
Thank LaurainMonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Point Lobos State Reserve also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Point Lobos State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing