We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winery Gem in the Carmel Valley”
Review of Chateau Julien

Chateau Julien
Ranked #22 of 110 things to do in Carmel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chateau Julien Wine Estate is located on 16 acres in Carmel Valley, California. The winery boasts breathtaking vistas of the lush green valley surrounded by the majestic Carmel Valley Mountains. The vineyard is highlighted throughout the seasons - from the breaking buds of spring to summer's lush leaf canopy and the abundant grape cluster display of fall. As the only winery on the Monterey Peninsula open to the public for tours, we invite you for a full wine estate experience!
Honolulu
Level Contributor
380 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Winery Gem in the Carmel Valley”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have been 'doing' winery tours for sometime and every one we learn something new. This was no exception. It is a rather large working winery on the Carmel Valley Road, complimentary tour with a wlking tasting and a tour of the working winery. Not strenuous and a pace that is neither rushed nor boring. The events manager did our tour and she was very good. If you have done many tours they will not knock your socks off with any new news, but it is the only tour of a working winery as the other tasting rooms are just that. The wine is good, if not the caliber of Napa it has its own character and terroir. Definately worht it, (831) 624-2600 to make reservations they are not able to acomodate walkins. They do the tours at 2:30 everyday that we know of call for other times.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    6
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Tour - Nice selection of wines ...”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our third visit to Chateau Julien in nearly as many years and once again, they did not disappoint. We arrived just before they were closing for the day and were able to sample a few of the ports, as well as their carmel cream sherry (YUM!) and it was all delicious. Although we didn't have an opportunity to do a full tasting or take their tour, we have done this previously and were very impressed with both. The tour is incredibly informative and it's nice stepping through the wine making process with people who are so passionate about what they do and are excited to share their knowledge!
If you are fortunate enough to find yourself in this part of the world and have an hour or two to spare, I would strongly encourage anyone who is interested in learning more about the wine making process (or tasting!) to stop off and spend some time here.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahkristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The tour was well worth the visit”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

When we arrived we were pleased to be able to join a scheduled tour of the winery. The tour was very informative and the lovely tour guide offered us a taste of their private reserve wines that were delicious. There are many tasting room through out the Monterey area but Chateau Julien was the only working vineyard and winery in the area. We were glad to visit Chateau Julien and enjoyed learning about the variety of grapes and the process of creating fine wine.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The How-To Vineyard from Grapes to Nuts!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I dropped in to Carmel and drove out with a friend the five miles along the Carmel Valley Road to a decent acreage of vineyards on a cool California winter day. My friend had worked here in catering and knew several of the staff. We even parked in the staff parking lot!

Though you don't need to necessarily know the owner, it's a good idea to come in early. This particular Saturday we had Melissa for a tour guide and she had several bottles of wine in hand. Each of us in the group were handed a pretty little wine glass for tasting.

I don't know what the other negative reviewers here are talking about as we were immediately serviced. The $7 wine tasting inside was running a brisk business with Sean running the space.

We however were with Melissa and walked the grounds, learning more than you ever could know or remember about oak barrels, cold cellars and giant vats and machines that separate grape from seed. Interesting problems the winery had such as birds eating grapes, deer invasions and such. Colorful history.

The only downer was Melissa when a person would have her repeat something or ask a question she had already answered or mentioned before. "Don't you remember what I said...." Except for the terse replies (minor point) I thought the tour informative and well worth the walk. And you get four tastings!

Recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank morgie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average tour, average wines”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

If you book the winery tour in advance, you get to taste all the wines while you are being shown the wine making facilities. If you've been on other winery tours, there's nothing new here except the view of Carmel Valley, which on certain days is definitely enough.

We didn't care that much for any of the wines, but that's just us (we've been accused of being wine snobs). The tour definitely makes it worth a stop if the day is nice; otherwise you're probably better off doing something else.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jank360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Julien also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Chateau Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing