We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Four-plex!”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go for the Four-plex!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

When we're in Carmel, this is where we stay. We love the spacious, clean rooms and the spectacular views off the coast.This is a refined-rustic place, like an upscale family camp. In the Meadowview four-plex your backyard is the sheep pasture. Such a delight to look out from your window or deck and watch those "little guys" nibbling on grass and hear the occasional ba-a-a-h-ing sounds with the ocean just beyond.
Breakfast is just good, basic continental. Nice pastries, milks and juices, fresh fruits, cereals etc.
We recently stayed in all that was available-out of a last minute necessity- in the Farmhouse upstairs, up front. Because of its exposure, it's too hot in some afternoons and you feel fairly exposed to all the people passing through the parking lot. Whereas the Hayloft-also a last minute booking- was a great large room, large bath -very private. Less money than a room in the Four-plex. Note, they all have fairly small televisions. So, if you're a big fan of the large screen...this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inrbty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    142
    40
    22
    12
See reviews for
98
280
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at Mission Ranch on Christmas and the 26th on our way to Post Ranch. The rooms are not fancy but well equipped and comfortable. We stayed in two different rooms so we got a good idea overall. Beautiful grounds and the view of the ocean is amazing. Sheep were grazing right out our door. Nice restaurant. It is situated right in the middle of a wealthy neighborhood so it is very quiet away from the town. The employees were terrific and very friendly. We would definitely stay again. We really like the fact that Mr. Eastwood preserved this amazing spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patriceberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The property is gorgeous - absolutely gorgeous. Thank goodness for GPS, as the property would have been difficult to find in the dark for the first time - but what a find.

From our cottage deck - you could see a panoramic view of the sheeps' meadow and Pebble Beach in the background. Speaking of the grounds, they are impeccably gorgeous - really the pictures do not do it justice. The room decor in the cottage was indeed a little dated, but clean and very comfortable with a large fireplace.

It is very easy to see why the onsite restaurant is so popular. Although the live music and ambiance indoors was very appealing, we elected to sit outside on the patio, next to the large outdoor fireplace. We took our time to enjoy the evening - what an exquisite meal!

Nearby - The city and beach of Carmel are only minutes away. The 16mile drive around Pebble Beach is incredible and worth the price of admission..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkgs1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights at Mission Ranch during our trip to the Monterey peninsula in November. I could not have been more satisfied with our stay. Our room was in the Main Barn with a king bed. The rate was very reasonable for Carmel. The location appealed to me because it feels like it is out in the country with the meadow and the ocean with Point Lobos in the distance. Yet it is within five minutes from Ocean Avenue in downtown Carmel.

The place has a relaxing ambiance about it. The history is very interesting as well. The old white buildings with the green trim just have a clean look. Their continental breakfast is in the tennis center a short walk from the rooms. The breakfast selections were adequate and met our needs.

There is no other place that I would consider staying in Carmel than Mission Ranch. Carmel has a unique atmosphere and to me Mission Ranch offers a relaxing feel that just adds that much more to the experience of Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was our second visit to Mission Ranch, the first being about six years ago. Hoping nothing had changed, we weren't disappointed. We stayed again in the Meadowview Triplex with a great view of the sheep and Point Lobos. Our schedule made it a one night stand, regrettably, since we love the place and wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Monterey Peninsula. This time we had dinner with friends on the patio. The food and service were just as inviting as the accommodations. If you like boring, cookie-cutter hotels, stay somewhere else. This one is unique!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m20j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Have stay here many times and have been able to sample the different rooming options that are available.
I always look forward to a visit to the Mission Ranch when and if I am able to travel to the Monterey/Carmel peninsula.
I note that there have been comments in the past relating to the quality of accomodation and ,while this may be based on comparisons with other hotels one can't compare this unique property with it's old world ambiance and extraordinary location and outlook.
The restaurant never disappoints whether it be for dinner or the great Sunday brunch and who doesn't enjoy the impromptu piano bar after dinner vocalists.
The continental breakfast is generous don served down at the tennis courts and there's nothing like a late afternoon sitting on the restaurant deck with a drink in hand looking out over the meadow with the worlds most pampered sheep and hearing the waves breaking on the beach in the distance.
If you can only stay once you'll understand.

Room Tip: They don't take on line reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggesttrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

An absolutely beautiful place to stay, can't wait to go again! The food was lovely, along with the polite staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.2 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
1.1 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
6.5 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.4 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing