We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting, dreadful accommodation and staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting, dreadful accommodation and staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Whoa, before you unsaddle and settle in at this ranch, know that the setting can be enjoyed for a good meal, and then escape before you spend $300 for rundown, noisy accommodation, and a totally dishonest staff who assure you of quiet, and wifi when neither could be more untrue. The school on the adjoining property runs athletic practices LOUDLY with blaring music in the early mornings and afternoons- 5 days a week, yet the ranch check in staff assure guests of quiet. Our room needed its bathroom recleaned, its windows were seized shut, and the patio door lock was rusted and broken. Wifi was only available in a cold, dingy structure away from any comfort or convenience in spite of assurances that it worked throughout the property. GM Carota when contacted showed no interest in improvements, and we fled to an alternate hotel for comfort, and quiet. Such a shame because the setting is truly lovely. I think Mr. Eastwood would be unhappy to know how badly some of his guests' experiences are after he rescued this special property from being condominiumized. Too many guests come hoping to spot Clint, but those who want peace and reliability should seek it elsewhere. Lastly, the ranch's good morning greeting to guests is to corral them for a very ordinary cold breakfast served in a rundown wooden room without views, with sweatshirts and t shirts hanging on the walls for sale, 2 washroom doors for community tennis players 12 feet across from the breakfast tables, and a woman on cash whose idea of entertainment was a too loud, early morning TV , cosmetic makeover. Why is the scenic dining room locked up until dinnertime while guests huddle in this undecorated shack? Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    137
    36
    19
    11
See reviews for
87
245
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Quaint farm with 41 rooms in multiple builings most old but not all. on the outskirts of town but still walkable to town,(at night very dark though). We stayed in the fourplex at the end of the property with great views of their over 30 pet sheep in the meadow, which becomes a wetland and nature preserve/bird sanctuary, then the ocean and a view of point lobos in the background. The restaurant only open for dinner is like an old school supper club, food was good and they even had entertainment. (it seemed like many locals came after 9:00 for the music) The patio would be a great place to watch the sunset, unfortunatly it was too cold for us, but we did enjoy the sunset with the fireplace in the room. Breakfast is served in the tennis pro shop, it was a good size continental with many options. If just going for dinner or drinks make sure you arrive when it is light out to see the beautiful setting.

Room Tip: we had room 41 which was in the four plex, we were next door to the barn where the sheep sleep so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Loved this place - a working ranch with sheep in a meadow and rustic but well appointed rooms. Had a very comfy bed in master room, and two singles in adjoining room (daughter complained not terribly comfy). Property and staff were lovely. Too busy to have dinner there, but really enjoyed our two nights at this picturesque property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We've been staying at the Mission Ranch long before it was remodeled, over 30 years. Even when it really was like staying on a working ranch there was everything to enjoy about this beautiful property and perfect location. The accommodations are now much more comfortable than they used to be but the hospitality, the restaurant and the service is unchanged. It has always been good. The staff is consistently accommodating, friendly and helpful. The included breakfast which used to be served in the restaurant is now hosted near the tennis courts. The choices are adequate but I must admit I enjoyed it more when it was held in the formal restaurant with the outdoor patio where you could enjoy the view.
It has been some time since the remodel and although the rooms are showing a little wear they are cozy and comfortably appointed. We stayed in the middle Meadow view Triplex on the lower floor. The room has a gas fireplace and a private patio where you can relax and enjoy the views and sunset. The piano bar is fun in the evenings and the restaurant food is excellent.
Things on the must see list include Point Lobos State Park, Ventana a short drive down and Coast Hwy, Big Sur state park and a stroll in the lovely town.
Don't forget to indulge in a fantastic sunset from the patio with a cocktail and an appetizer.

Room Tip: Meadow view Triplex closer to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LagunaGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Mission Ranch is absolutely magical. Idyllic spot with incredible gardens and spectacular trees. We stayed in room 17 - the top floor of a cottage - which was perfect for a family of 4. Plenty of room to spread out and a balcony and gas fireplace to boot. the beds were a little too soft and the internet connection didn't reach our room, but it was still a marvelous place. This is on our list of places to revisit. The breakfast at the tennis hut was very well done. Dinner at the restaurant there was delicious and had a great casual but elegant feel. A drink on the porch to watch the sun set and see the sheep was great as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Lomond, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Mission Ranch is my first choice ever, I could live here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I loveeeeeee Mission Ranch, the amazing view alone wins! We had breakfast buffet there early in the morning before we headed out for our hike. They had a wide range of selections, very standard but in high quality (sausage, eggs, turkey, fruits... etc., you name it). I'd definitely go again just for the entire experience, server was great, and it was very romantic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.3 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.4 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
6.5 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing