We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior location Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #23 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superior location Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our weekend visit to Carmel was aided by the very nice accomadations provide by The Clarion CollectionCarmel.
The Staff was very helpful and the room was very large for the area and had a sitting area and a kitchen that included a microwave, refrigerator sink and table and chairs.
Each morning a basket was sitting outside our door with a selection of breakfast goodies.
We will be back to Carmel very soon and be staying at this Clarion site again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    51
    47
    15
    17
See reviews for
32
90
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The staff could not find out reservation (did not matter because there were not a lot of people staying there) and when they did were completely inflexible and argumentative to the point where we did not feel welcomed nor safe. Our children did not feel safe especially after the aggressive nature of the staff and ownership.
We then asked for our rooms to be side by each and despite it being a sparsely occupied Hotel we were refused for no good reason.

One star is a generous rating

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phadreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmeloaks, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
We are writing to the following review that any guest will be surprised when the hotel cannot find the reservation. Sometimes mistakes do happen such as wrong dates, different name, etc. In this case the hotel have never received the reservation. The guest have made the reservation which they could not remember but little bit certain that it was through the third party and that can be hotels.com, expedia.com, etc. The guest had no confirmation number as well. Now the hotel staff did tried their best to explain the guest about what have happened and never said they will never accommodate. But the guest do not like to pay since they think it was already paid. Well, the hotel staff clearly stated that if there would be any problems we will be more than happy to reverse the charges. Also the guest wanted the rooms next to each other but that day the types of the room were not available next to each other. The front desk staff cannot give away someone's room too so the guest needs to understand sometimes. We have recommended the guest that try calling the hotel directly so they know they are talking straight to the hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carmel hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

A friend and I stayed here for one night while we stopped in Carmel and I think a quick, casual stay is the best type of stay here. If I was looking for romance, luxury, modernity--I would look elsewhere. First off--look for a sign that says "Carmel Oaks", Clarion is tiny on the sign and easy to miss. We drove by a couple of times before we realized we were missing it. The motel is old and needs some updating--namely new furniture, a new TV, phone, etc etc. Why have sat TV only to show it on a tiny old fashioned TV? Also, a fresh coat of paint would do wonders. Our room had a bizarre faux finish, including on the ceiling, that looked like someone had sprayed blood all over the place. Just re-do everything in a crisp white or cream and you add instant improvement. The bathroom had been redone recently and was fine.

Despite my criticisms, the room was clean and well kept--just old fashioned. Oh and the walls are thin!

The location is great--right in the center of town and a great base for walking everywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kipwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

When we arrived--we were so disapointed. It was old and musky--THE CARPETS WERE RIPED. I thought that Clarion had good propreties especially in the wonderful area. I WAS WRONG. Trip Advior is the only way to go.

Room Tip: Check Trip advior first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AdvidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciasca, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
We are happy to hear from you but rest assured the appropriate action has been taken. The carpet mark was quick fixup due to the previous guest who had accidentally dropped the iron.
We hope when ever you will visit carmel you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

For the price, the hotel was jusr right. Not perfect- it could certainly use some sprucing up inside & out- but the bathroom was new and the staff very curteous and friendly. The very best part, besides being inexpensive for pricey Carmel, is it's location- a block from the main street and restaurants and only 7 blocks from the beach. A good find

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennethpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We decided to visit the lovely Carmel By the Sea for the holiday weekend.
Everything was full luckily I was able to booked a no name deal on a discounted website.
For my surprise the motel is pretty decent and centrally located. Two blocks away from oceanview st.
The property needs some TLC and the rooms a deep clean.
I like the fireplace in the room and in general it was a good experience.
The painting was kind of funny it looked like some green diarrhea spread throughout the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

The good points: Fantastic location, free wi-fi, great rates, free parking.
The bad points: Noisy room (paper thin walls), decorated like a care home for the elderly, unenthusiastic staff and we're pretty sure the sheets hadn't been cleaned (lipstick on the sheets!?!?!).
Other comment: breakfast is left outside your door in a basket. It's a nice touch if a bit naff, however, it isn't delivered until 830am (no option to have it early). What if you want to check out earlier (like we did)?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 km away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#25 of 25 in Carmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
0.1 km away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#21 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Property: Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing