We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but not worth the price”
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We arrived around 2:00 and our room was not ready. When we returned around 5, we were escorted to our room and helped with our bags. The room was nice, although I was expecting a bit more b/c of the price. If you stay be sure to get a top floor b/c the people above were very loud and the walls and ceiling are VERY thin. The breakfast in the morning was minimal: yogurt fruit and a few pastries with coffee and juice. The parking was free. Unless you get a really good deal, I would try to find another place.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moreno310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWcarmel, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

We very much appreciate your feedback. Rest assured that your positive as well as your constructive comments will be taken seriously.

We are pleased you enjoyed the room. We are particularly proud of the in-room amenities: Frette duvet covers, Egyptian cotton sheets, Aveda bath products among other things.

We are sorry that you were disrupted during your stay. In almost all cases we can take care of any noise situations if we are alerted to them.

We invite you to return again soon so we can make sure you are completely satisfied with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

We celebrated our 30th anniversary touring the California coastline and the Tradewinds was definitely a highlight. The room was exquisite - large, beautifully decorated in a Feng Shui motif, and included a gas fireplace. The kimonos in the room were a welcome change to the robes offered at most four star and above hotels. Complimentary chocolate-covered strawberries, nuts, candy, and pretzels were awaiting our arrival. The location was perfect - close to the center of town and the beach. The continental breakfast offered a wide variety of choices, and it was all fresh and delicious. We booked our room with Sylvia who was informative and charming. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. You can be assured we will next time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWcarmel, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for the kind words. We are thrilled to be a part of such a special event. 30 years, thats great!

We are also very proud of the array of complimentary amenities at Tradewinds. The Kimono robes provided for your use are particularly cozy. We sell many of them!

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We go to this "motor lodge" they call a B&B. Our greeting was curt, unfriendly and just rude. We showed up at 2:10 and they would not allow us to put our luggage in our room. We were 50 minutes early. The room was ready but she shooed us away like we were kids.
Our room was remodeled but the building and the outside areas are stuck in a bad 1980 Hawaiian movie but they tell you it is a zen garden. Within 1 hour of being in our room we here kids yelling from the next room. 2 hours after a bunch of couples start talking loud and didn't care about who was around. I knew when I drove up I had a bad feeling. I was right. I wanted to leave the following day but they won't give u your money back. I have stayed at many many b&bs in Carmel. This is the worst. I sure learned a lesson.

Room Tip: Stay away. There are too many inns in the area that are beautiful and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rose1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWcarmel, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Sorry to hear you had a negative experience at Tradewinds Carmel. We have fresh fruit (chocolate dipped strawberries) that we like to put in the room as close to arrival as possible. We usually allow early checkins upon request, but perhaps the room was not totally ready.

We pride ourselves on having the best front desk people in town and we apologize if you received a less than stellar welcome.

Our property was fully remodeled in 2004 with an Asian theme that many guests just love. That same year the Hotel was featured in Architectural Digest.

We hope you can come back again and allow us to present the best of Tradewinds and ensure that you have an incredible experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This property is beautiful! Tucked away just a few blocks from downtown Carmel in a residential area. Quiet and peaceful with wonderful amenities. You will not be disappointed. Rooms are beautifully decorated and the staff is wonderful. Continental breakfast is tasty, with lots of fresh fruit, granola, bagels and pastries. A great weekend get away!

Room Tip: Room #1 is great, with no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank island2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Words cannot express how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay at Tradewinds Carmel. Its folks like you that keep us going! Hopefully we will see you again soon and thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The Tradewinds was the best place I have ever stayed in Carmel by the Sea. From our first view of the property, to checking in, to the room and also the breakfast room - we were enchanted. We were just a few blocks from the main part of town - very close to some great restaurants and shopping. The breakfast buffet which was included in the price was quite substantial. I would definitely stay here again. It made our trip lots more enjoyable. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for all the kind words. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel is nice and overall we were happy with our stay. They don’t have AC in their rooms leaving me and my husband pretty uncomfortable during our stay. They did offer a fan, but that wasn’t enough. The bed was uncomfortable and we didn’t get that relaxing vacation we were hoping for. The place is pretty tranquil, just off the downtown area and totally walkable. The manager e-mailed me and told me that they had replaced the feather bed we stayed in, so maybe it was just our room. Their continental breakfast was pretty good. There is plenty of parking and the staff was really nice. The bath tub is just a normal bath tub (a little larger) with jets, it’s not a Jacuzzi tub . Oh, I would recommend staying on the top floor, if you can, we could hear EVERYTHING above us. Overall I liked the hotel, if you don’t like the bed, let them know, they seemed to have a very easy fix.

Room Tip: Upstairs are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thanks for staying with us here at Tradewinds. Our staff really appreciated this post in particular! We do apologize about the lack of AC. It has been an unusually hot Fall. Truth be told, I don't know if any hotels in Carmel that have air conditioning in the rooms. Hopefully we will see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at Tradewinds, and while it was a lovely hotel, it was overpriced at $413 per night. We did have one of the nicer rooms, a deluxe king with ocean view, but that view was looking out over the rooftops of surrounding neighborhood and therefore not a view worth paying extra. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. I loved the bathroom with it's very nice tile and Aveda amenities, and appreciated the nice towels. I also liked the little water fountain and the built in cabintry and fireplace. The rooms are not air conditioned (but I understand none of the hotels in Carmel have AC). The garden area was nicely done, and parking was sufficient and included in the price of the room. It is a very convenient location for walking around Carmel and an easy walk to some very nice restaurants, (our favorite was Casanova). The ladies who run the hotel were very nice and seemed happy to help with dinner reservations/directions. A small breakfast of pastries, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. was included. The chocolate covered strawberries in the room at check-in was a nice touch. Overall, I would stay there again, hopefully at a better rate. Also, they have a 7-day cancellation policy that made me a little bit uncomfortable. I would have felt better about a 24 hour cancellation like most hotels of this caliber. 4 stars instead of 5 because of the price for what was once an old motel that has been very nicely rennovated to have a modern, spa-like feeling.

Room Tip: Would recommend the top floor for the vaulted ceilings and not having noise above you, unless you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv2plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We do have some great specials for our repeat guests and also some great off-season deals coming up. Best way to find out about them is to sign up for our newsletter. Go to our website and click on 'contact us'. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.9 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
2.4 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
6.8 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
367 reviews
2.5 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
0.6 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $344 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace your true Zen with a stay at Tradewinds Carmel. Featured as one of Architectural Digest’s most glamorous hotels, one of Forbes Travel Guide’s best small hotels, and voted as one of the world’s top inns by Coastal Living, our Carmel luxury hotel combines the elegant with the relaxing, offering tranquil surroundings and views of the Pacific Ocean. Indulge yourself in fine Egyptian cotton linens and luxurious goose down feather beds, pillows, and comforters. Experience spectacular ocean views, the luxury of spa tubs, fireplaces, Japanese tansu wetbars and vanities, antique and custom designed furniture from Bali and China, silk pillows, custom lighting, fine bath amenities, CD players, wireless high-speed internet access, fresh orchids and bamboo fountains. Pet friendly and dog friendly rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing