We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at "best"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This is a tired property with none of Carmel's charm. The in room lighting is poor and the availability of charging ports ancient. The cleanliness of the room was passable at best. There just was little value associated with this property.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Punky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent friendly check in. We find friendly employees at just about every BW we have stayed at. This is not a "lodge" as stated in name, it's a motel (or at least the section we stayed in was). And with reading some of the other reviews, it seems your room is the luck of the draw or their expectations are to high. With that said we were assigned a room on the "third floor". We had to drive around the corner to access a separate parking lot and there was only 4 rooms here and was right above the parking lot. You have to carry your suitcase up a steep flight of stairs. But the positive is there are no rooms above or below you.

We reserved a king and thats what we got. Room is dark and on the older side but it was clean. There was a small heated pool. Breakfast was included with room rate. Ample parking (main reason I booked this plus the location). There is an in room mini fridge, very comfy bed and pillows (I find this a theme at all BW's too), decent sized flat screen tv but reception at times was poor, excellent wifi. Room did get stuffy and has no AC but I knew this before I booked the room (do your homework!) there was a fan in room but it still got quite stuffy. Bathroom exhaust fan was extremely annoying because it automatically went on when you put the light on and was loud. Sink/vanity was outside the bathroom. There is some street noise but this is to be expected since YOUR IN TOWN!!!
Excellent location. Restaurants and shops are all just minutes walk.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

clean and nice hotel in carmel location is good, rooms are typically for a motel style hotel, but still nice and spacious parking is for free and available staff very friendly breakfast is a joke though.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank marcoeN7858EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

The only thing this experience taught me was to never stay at a Best Western again. I gave them a chance, and they failed miserably. The hotel was in terrible condition, rooms falling apart and no air-conditioning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank K408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Guest, Sorry to hear about your less than positive experience. Definitely not the type of experience we want to provide to our guest during their visit in Carmel. Although not consistent with other guest experiences, it will allow us to implement improvements and offer a better experience for the guests in future. Factually stating, lodging places in Carmel does not have Air conditioning. I can understand how the Excessive heat weather alert generated in the area would have caused this experience. I hope you give us an opportunity to host you next time you visit Carmel. It can give us an opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

NIce hotel - updated rooms, super clean, great location, very courteous and helpful front desk staff. Nice free breakfast with fresh waffles, fruit, juices, cereals. Small, clean swimming pool. Walkable to quaint shops, restaurants, art galleries and the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest- Thank you for staying with us and for the 4 Star review. All of your very kind and thoughtful comments are most appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful Carmel experience. We'll look forward to your next visit and hopefully you'll be equally (or more) impressed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Very pleased and satisfied. Would recommend to all. The staff was super courtesy and friendly. The room was clean. WiFi was easy and decent speed. Breakfast was good. Great location near Ocean Avenue in Carmel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jaehos2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,
First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge We greatly appreciate all of your kind words, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and you found us to be a good value in Carmel Thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.
Thank you again for your 5 star review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Honestly, the hotel was secondary to the beautiful community. Great location and walkable to great restaurants and shopping. Also close to the ocean and saw a beautiful sunset. We skipped the hotel breakfast for some wonderful delights at the local coffee shops.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank gaild259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest- Thank you for staying with us and for the 4 Star review. All of your very kind and thoughtful comments are most appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful Carmel experience. We'll look forward to your next visit and hopefully you'll be equally (or more) impressed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
2.3 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
2.4 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
0.2 km away
Carmel Bay View Inn
Carmel Bay View Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
918 reviews
0.2 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
0.4 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#11 of 25 in Carmel
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $164 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing