We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$288
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hofsas House Hotel(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$259
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$229
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$229
US$222
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$549
US$491
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$554
US$532
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$722
US$629
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
251
297
110
35
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
297
110
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun deckgreat locationbreakfast roomwithin walking distanceleave your carcarmel by the seasmall poolroom was clean and comfortablewould stay here againtwo blocksfree breakfastthe main streetrestaurants and shopsart galleriesocean avenuebeautiful townyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 712 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

Excellent friendly check in. We find friendly employees at just about every BW we have stayed at. This is not a "lodge" as stated in name, it's a motel (or at least the section we stayed in was). And with reading some of the other reviews, it seems your room is the luck of the draw or their expectations are to high. With that said we were assigned a room on the "third floor". We had to drive around the corner to access a separate parking lot and there was only 4 rooms here and was right above the parking lot. You have to carry your suitcase up a steep flight of stairs. But the positive is there are no rooms above or below you.

We reserved a king and thats what we got. Room is dark and on the older side but it was clean. There was a small heated pool. Breakfast was included with room rate. Ample parking (main reason I booked this plus the location). There is an in room mini fridge, very comfy bed and pillows (I find this a theme at all BW's too), decent sized flat screen tv but reception at times was poor, excellent wifi. Room did get stuffy and has no AC but I knew this before I booked the room (do your homework!) there was a fan in room but it still got quite stuffy. Bathroom exhaust fan was extremely annoying because it automatically went on when you put the light on and was loud. Sink/vanity was outside the bathroom. There is some street noise but this is to be expected since YOUR IN TOWN!!!
Excellent location. Restaurants and shops are all just minutes walk.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Front Office Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience at Best Western Carmel Town house. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us!

Thank you for your 3-star rating! Our goal is to provide our guests with a great experience, every single stay. We are absolutely thrilled to have achieved that goal with your most recent experience as our guest. I am glad you found our rooms clean, friendly staff, and our breakfast filling. Thank you for allowing us to serve you!

Appreciate your business and recommendations. Look forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017

clean and nice hotel in carmel location is good, rooms are typically for a motel style hotel, but still nice and spacious parking is for free and available staff very friendly breakfast is a joke though.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank marcoeN7858EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Front Office Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

The only thing this experience taught me was to never stay at a Best Western again. I gave them a chance, and they failed miserably. The hotel was in terrible condition, rooms falling apart and no air-conditioning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank K408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Guest, Sorry to hear about your less than positive experience. Definitely not the type of experience we want to provide to our guest during their visit in Carmel. Although not consistent with other guest experiences, it will allow us to implement improvements and offer a better experience for the guests in future. Factually stating, lodging places in Carmel does not have Air conditioning. I can understand how the Excessive heat weather alert generated in the area would have caused this experience. I hope you give us an opportunity to host you next time you visit Carmel. It can give us an opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

NIce hotel - updated rooms, super clean, great location, very courteous and helpful front desk staff. Nice free breakfast with fresh waffles, fruit, juices, cereals. Small, clean swimming pool. Walkable to quaint shops, restaurants, art galleries and the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear Guest- Thank you for staying with us and for the 4 Star review. All of your very kind and thoughtful comments are most appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful Carmel experience. We'll look forward to your next visit and hopefully you'll be equally (or more) impressed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Very pleased and satisfied. Would recommend to all. The staff was super courtesy and friendly. The room was clean. WiFi was easy and decent speed. Breakfast was good. Great location near Ocean Avenue in Carmel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jaehos2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear Guest,
First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge We greatly appreciate all of your kind words, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and you found us to be a good value in Carmel Thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.
Thank you again for your 5 star review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews