We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, serene, with wildlife frolicking throughout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I've stayed here many times over many years and have always love it. The resort is slathered against a hillside way up in Carmel Valley, separate and detached from whatever hustle and bustle greater Monterey can generate. The rooms are dotted across a steep hillside among old oak trees. There are deer, wild turkeys and, last time I stayed here, a fox that would regularly trot through the grounds between buildings. Every room I've ever had offers a view and every one is so quiet you think you have your own private valley. I've usually stayed in the suites, which have a living room separate from the bed and bath. Once I stayed in a non-suite, regular room, some of which were added recently and which made me realize how spoiled I had been in the suites. The best thing about Carmel Ranch is it's so quiet that you can sleep with the sliding glass door open, close the screen and it's cool and quiet all night. With the screen closed you don't have to worry about bats and mosquitoes! There are very few if any of those two-stroke maintenance carts that splutter through and wake you up. It's all-peaceful, all the time.
Way down the hill there's a golf course (I don't play golf) and a gym and huge swimming pool (which I've used and enjoyed). The only comparable resort in the area is The Inn at Spanish Bay and The Lodge at Pebble Beach, both of which are lovely, too. But for peace and quiet amidst nature, pick Carmel Valley Ranch.

Room Tip: The rooms way up at the top are the most secluded and offer the best views, though you can hear some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your comments and lovely words about The Ranch. We strive to provide memories that last a lifetime and we are so happy to hear that you connected with not only the wildlife but yourself as well during your stay. Your title of the review encompasses what we hope everyone gets to experience during their stay at Carmel Valley Ranch. We too agree that it's a peaceful place where you can reconnect, rechange, and play. We can't wait for you to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Ivan Osorio
Director of Rooms
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

This is a great ranch estate offering many activities and superb accommodation in a stunning setting. The accommodation and facilities deserve a 5 star rating, but the 4 star rating reflects some service issues at breakfast.

There is a small issue with noise travelling between rooms. In most part this was kids running around on the wooden floors which naturally carry the vibrations between rooms. Not really a hotel issue and in the school holidays it's understandable.

Finally, it's a great location for visiting the many local wineries, beautiful Carmel (well worth a visit) and Monterey.

I would definitely return to this resort and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hypothalamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Hypothalamus,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Your feedback is much appreciated. I will pass on the comments to our manager's regarding the noise travel. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and can't wait for you to come back to Carmel and visit us!

Warm Regards,

Ivan Osorio
Director of Rooms
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stayed at The Ranch for the third time and still love it. Now that our daughter is older we were able to do the Bee Experience which is so special. There's nothing like holding up a slab of a bee hive covered with bees and to see pollen on a bees leg. The restaurant in the Lodge is much better. The rooms are so big and calming. Our daughter had a blast at the kids camp and during the kids night out events. She made friends at The Ranch which made the stay a lot more fun for her because she always knew someone at the restaurant or fire pits.

Just wished we could rent our own golf cart to get around; waiting for the transportation can be annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank westsidetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear westsidetraveller,

Thank you for choosing The Ranch during your stay in Carmel Valley! Carmel Valley Ranch will continue promoting activities and fun events, creating stronger family ties!

We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon!

Sincerely,
Ivan Osorio
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived for a one night stay, we were so excited as the setting is wonderful, the greeting was good BUT were surprised to be told there were no possibility of dinner! We had driven up from Shutters on the Beach,Santa Monica, a pretty long drive!!

They suggested we could take room service!! Or snack in the casual area in the next 30 mins before it closed at 8 pm!

So we asked if 6! of us could eat on one room, they said yes if we wanted to move the furniture around?!.There was no offer to help move it BUT we decided to do it ourselves! It turned out great fun as we took room service dinner on one of the decks SELF SERVICE. What struck me was with a little effort from the management they could have turned as disappointment - no dinner- into a great positive?

The outside bath and the views were "Exceptional"

Because we were driving on up to Napa we did not stay long but a little more attention and it has great potential. Management attention please!

Would I stay there again YES but I would speak to management before and ask about a few things.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank thecoopersCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear The Coopers,

Thank you very much for choosing our resort, and for sharing your feedback about your stay. It is terribly disappointing to learn about your experience, and the great opportunity our team missed to create a special and memorable moment for you and your family. We encourage our team to go above and beyond the call of duty to create magical moments and want each of our team members to feel empowered to do whatever it takes to enhance a guest's stay. I am very sorry this was not the case during your time at the property.

I would be delighted to have the opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail. Please feel free to contact me personally any time. I hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Thomas Becker
General Manager
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Just stayed at The Ranch, what a wonderful setting in beautiful Carmel Valley. This was a birthday getaway and more than met my expectations. Excellent food, though the service is sometimes slow, great pool and very comfortable rooms. All the staff are engaging and can't do enough to please you.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ttakingtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Ttakingtime,

Thank you for your kind feedback and review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful setting that Carmel Valley Ranch has to offer on our 500-acre playground. We apologize for the slow service you experienced and will continue to go above and beyond to please our guests. Happy belated birthday and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Ivan Osorio
Director of Rooms
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The locations and facilities are great. Even if you stay at the hotel you still need to book the restaurant for dinner AND breakfast. If you do not the personnel will refer you to having room service and even though most mod the tables may be empty they still cannot seat you even with a reservation! Room was very dark and when we complained we were told that we could check out. An attitude problem. All this would seem to indicate a need for different management typically.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank richardanth0nyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Richard,

Thank you for choosing Carmel Valley Ranch and taking the time out of your day to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and will relay this information to our management team immediately. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and our 500-acre playground. I am saddened to hear about your dining experience and room experience. I personally apologize for the service you received and want to make this right. If there is anything additional that we can do to improve your next stay, please do not hesitate to let me know. My email is iosorio@carmelvalleyranch.com and I would like to follow up with you.

Warm Regards,

Ivan Osorio
Director of Rooms
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We loved our room, which had a fantastic view of the valley and sunset.

Breakfast was really great and the food at dinner time in the Lodge restaurant was also very good. We had very poor service one evening because they were dealing with a very large party from a wedding. (They did compensate us for the wait with a free bottle of wine). Service otherwise from everyone else was generally very good.

It's very expensive for what it is, but it is a beautiful place and if you can find a good deal, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear KJH999,

Thank you for choosing Carmel Valley Ranch and for providing a review and feedback. Because of reviews like yours, we can improve and make a difference in future stays. I am happy to hear you loved your room, enjoyed amazing views of the valley, and had a wonderful breakfast and dinner. I apologize that you had poor service on one evening of your stay but am happy to hear a resolution was made for our shortcomings. It is our goal to exceed expectations and to create memories to last a lifetime. We hope to welcome you back to our 500-acre playground in the future.

Warm Regards,

Ivan Osorio
Director of Rooms
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
12.3 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
928 reviews
5.3 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
12.1 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
393 reviews
12.2 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 24 in Carmel
373 reviews
31.7 km away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $477 - $1,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing