We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for the $”
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best for the $”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed many years at the Hofsas House. No, its not the Four Seasons, but the location and hospitality make it the best value in Carmel. Will be staying there again later this month.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccws19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoy staying with us and look forward to seeing you again this month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    172
    69
    29
    11
See reviews for
96
189
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here for the last 2 days of our 2 week long trip to CA & NV. Absolutely loved it! We had a king room with an ocean view wich was great. Next time, for there defenately will be a nex time, we will book an ocean view room with a private balcony.
The location is great and it's near both the beach and down town. The room was nice, clean & comfortable. The pool area well maintained. The breakfast was simple but nice. One can either sit in the lobby area or they will give you a tray to bring your breakfast up to the room.
The lady at the front desk also recommended the greatest little restaurant down the street, Bistro Giovanni. It was soo good that we ate there 2 nights in a row.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilleknud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The ocean view is wonderful, and yes, a private balcony is always a treat! We hope you visit us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I am currently sitting on a patio area outside our room having breakfast. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children and booked a family room. The room is very large with one emperor size bed in one room and 2 king beds in the other. Each room also has a walk in wardrobe and bathroom. The main bedroom also has its own gas fire which was great last night. The location is really good as you can walk to the restaurants and shops in 2 to 3 mins and the beach is also walkable. Although it is in the centre, it is very quiet and because the rooms have European style shutters we had a good lie in this morning. We tried the heated pool last night and it was really good, not too hot, just the right temperature. We would definatly stay here again and reccomend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 27 for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed one of our fireplace rooms as well as our heated pool. We hope you join us again when you visit Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, CA
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We actually really enjoyed our stay here, but it may have been because we were enjoying Carmel. The room was clean, and comfortable, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We just couldn't give it an extra point because:

1. The corner shower was dark, and had no light or fan. The rubber gasket will need to be replaced soon since it is cracking a bit and apparently letting water leak through to the floor outside.
2. We had to ask for more towels the first night, and were told there should have been four sets in the room. Next day, we still only had one set.
3. Room walls and ceiling are very thin - we heard kids, footsteps, newlyweds and pool noise. It settles down early, but you won't sleep late here.
4. Wifi was spotty - we actually logged on using other channels from nearby lodgings most of the time.
5. Be aware some rooms control a light and wall outlet with the wall switches - we turned off the phone charger when we turned off the lights.

Decor was a cheerful wall paper print behind the bed, but there was only a small mirror and two small prints on the painted wall. Breakfast was excellent sweet rolls, and yogurt. Coffee maker is in the room. As with most Carmel lodgings, prices are higher on the weekends and two nights may be required.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrnrMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for your review. Unlike many hotels, we happily offer complementary wi-fi in all of our rooms. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We extended our stay, enjoying a room on the top floor, distant ocean view, log-burning fireplace. Comfortable room, kitchenette, well-appointed bathroom. Clean, quiet, attentive and friendly staff. Just far enough from busy downtown but still within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Could not have asked for more!

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor, fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpb-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Our fireplace rooms are very cozy and add to a lovely Carmel getaway. We are happy you had a wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We had to stay here because there weren't any other options at the dates we went to Carmel.

Nothing to remark, except for the noisy room. No good sleep. Expensive for the experience offered.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlanglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for your review. We offer very competitive rates, especially for summer in Carmel. Rooms start at $99 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I stayed at Hofsas House recently for their great location to attend dinner and a show in Carmel. Hofsas House was the perfect place located in the heart of Carmel, it was easy to walk anywhere in town and the hotel was wonderful and a great value. The staff there were great, very friendly and helpful. There are a wide variety of types of rooms - something for everyone. I stayed with my brother in a really nice suite that would be great to accommodate a few more friends or a family, with a separate bedroom, two daybeds and two bathrooms. The room also had an incredible view off the deck, which was perfect for enjoying a nice glass of wine before dinner and coffee in the morning. The room was clean and nicely appointed which made it very comfortable. There was a mini-refrigerator also for convenience. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast in the mornings set up in their lobby -- the staff was so nice in setting up a tray with coffee pot and breakfast items to take back to our room. This hotel offers all that you need in Carmel and more -- perfect location to anywhere you'd like to walk in Carmel, as well as great accommodations, nice breakfast and a wonderful staff. I would recommend it highly to all travelers.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcluc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Breakfast, coffe and breathtaking views are always complementary at Hofsas House! We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
2.5 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,657 reviews
2.6 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
0.4 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.2 km away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.6 km away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Property: Hofsas House Hotel
Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing