We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hof says "I'm a good value!"”
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

This is the quintessential Carmel hotel.

Location: the location is worth 4 stars
Right in town and a view of the ocean horizon from the upper floors.

Room: Firm, newer mattresses, newer carpet, clean and basic. Walls are on the thin side and floors are a little creaky (not a prob if you're on the top floor)

Value: at the lower end of the price range for places right in town.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BarbaricDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

We're glad you enjoyed our central location and views from the top floor. We appreciate your comments and hope you'll choose to stay with us again, thank you for taking the time to review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017

I had a room with a great ocean view and a stone fireplace. Breakfast was terrific, but it's really the people who make the trip worthwhile. The hotel has been in the same family for several generations, and it's clear they really care about giving their guests the gift of hospitality. The rooms have dutch doors that let you watch the sunset while still retaining a bit of privacy.

Room Tip: There really aren't any bad rooms, but if you have trouble with steps, let them know that up fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for the lovely review! We're so happy you chose to stay with us and had such a nice time at our family-run hotel! We hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

This has been our preferred choice of hotel in Carmel for over 20 years and we have never been disappointed .
The property is ideally located a short and pleasant stroll from Ocean Ave . and the beach .Rooms are spacious and charmingly appointed .The re is also on site parking
Carrie and her mother Doris are the most welcoming hosts and a wealth of information on the attractions of Carmel.
It is easy to get confused in Carmel because of the number of hotels available to the traveller , there is no need to ponder , just book the Hofsas

Room Tip: We always try to book street level room with kitchenette and south facing balcony to enjoy the sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sf0traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for the nice review! It's so great to hear you have been staying with us for so many years and always have welcoming service! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Our quaintly decorated charming room had to be the most spacious hotel room we have ever stayed in. Given that this is an inn in the heart of downtown Carmel with its tiny storybook buildings, the large airy rooms here are a miracle. The location is superb, walking distance to Carmel's lively downtown and beautiful beach without being too close for comfort and quiet. Just be prepared to go out for breakfast if sugary Danish and weak coffee are not your idea of breakfast. Free onsite parking and great wifi plus friendly staff make this place a gem. After we checked in, we enjoyed drinks and appetizers at Brophy's across the street before heading to the beach to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborahbB3746SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for the nice review! We're so happy you enjoyed our large rooms, central location and friendly staff! We hope to welcome you back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I wish there were more stars for rating. This place was so charming, homey and welcoming. The value is terrific. My husband, son, daughter-in-law, daughter, son and myself are visiting from the East Coast. We booked a two bedroom suite for two nights and wished it were longer. The price $545.90, includes a Continental breakfast of the freshest pastries and delicious juice and coffee. If you are visiting Carmel I date you find any place more comfortable! I'm so sad I didn't take pictures of this quaint hotel.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank RAQL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for the nice review! It's so great to hear you and your family enjoyed a comfortable stay at a great value! We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The staff here were super friendly, and they were very helpful in offering suggestions of great places to eat and visit. The breakfast in the morning was perfect with fresh healthy food options and tasty coffee and juice. The location of this hotel is perfect for enjoying a stroll into town for dinner, shopping, and late-night cocktails.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank TravelReview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

It's so nice to hear you enjoyed our central location and had friendly service from our staff! We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope to see you again, thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Carmel was an unplanned stop for us; after driving the scenic 1-mile drive between Monterel and Carmel, we decided to stay here.

Carmel is a wonderful village; also known for its famous Mayor Clint Eastwood, Carmel is a heavenly place: no billboards, no fastfood chains, no shouting, big commercial advertizing, just peace, quietness, lovely shops & restaurants, incredibly relaxed atmosphere, friendly people and....... Did we mention the beach and the seaside? Plan Carmel if you can.

Our stay at the Hofsas Hotel was equally surprising, welcoming, friendly and pleasant. The history of the hotel is amazing, a family-owned business is a nice story and the decorations around the hotel tell the background. Our stay was in room 35-TF, which basically means 3rd floor, but is on streetlevel. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. This room offers sea- and poolview and has a balcony over the width of the room for a comfortable sitting as you enjoy the sunset.

The hotel offers free parking (sufficient), an outdoor pool with free towels, spa and breakfast service which can be collected in the lobby. More than the average US breakfast and served with a smile. Wifi access is good, pet friendly and a Night Manager in case something is troubling you.

We loved reading the family history in a recent magazine publication and we spoke to the Owner the next morning to express our thanks on the lovely stay. I can imagine that living in Carmel is nice if you see the beauty in nature, people, the sea and harmony cause this is exactly what Carmel offers. Worth a stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jolanda_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Wow thank you for the lovely review! We're so happy you chose to stay with us and enjoyed the history of our family owned hotel and also the charms of Carmel! We hope to welcome you back sometime, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
2.5 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
2.6 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 24 in Carmel
733 reviews
0.4 km away
Carmel Bay View Inn
Carmel Bay View Inn
#14 of 24 in Carmel
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.4 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 24 in Carmel
658 reviews
0.6 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#13 of 24 in Carmel
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $163 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing