We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
140
191
78
32
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
191
78
32
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastriesbavarian styleheated pooldutch doorslocal bakerytop floorcontinental breakfastbit datedcoffee and juicetwo bedroom suitewet barthe main streetview of the oceanquaint hoteltwo nightsfew blocksshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 452 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2017

I had a room with a great ocean view and a stone fireplace. Breakfast was terrific, but it's really the people who make the trip worthwhile. The hotel has been in the same family for several generations, and it's clear they really care about giving their guests the gift of hospitality. The rooms have dutch doors that let you watch the sunset while still retaining a bit of privacy.

Room Tip: There really aren't any bad rooms, but if you have trouble with steps, let them know that up front.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElaineH2092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Thank you for the lovely review! We're so happy you chose to stay with us and had such a nice time at our family-run hotel! We hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2017

This has been our preferred choice of hotel in Carmel for over 20 years and we have never been disappointed .
The property is ideally located a short and pleasant stroll from Ocean Ave . and the beach .Rooms are spacious and charmingly appointed .The re is also on site parking
Carrie and her mother Doris are the most welcoming hosts and a wealth of information on the attractions of Carmel.
It is easy to get confused in Carmel because of the number of hotels available to the traveller , there is no need to ponder , just book the Hofsas

Room Tip: We always try to book street level room with kitchenette and south facing balcony to enjoy the sunset over Carmel Bay
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sf0traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Thank you for the nice review! It's so great to hear you have been staying with us for so many years and always have welcoming service! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2017

Our quaintly decorated charming room had to be the most spacious hotel room we have ever stayed in. Given that this is an inn in the heart of downtown Carmel with its tiny storybook buildings, the large airy rooms here are a miracle. The location is superb, walking distance to Carmel's lively downtown and beautiful beach without being too close for comfort and quiet. Just be prepared to go out for breakfast if sugary Danish and weak coffee are not your idea of breakfast. Free onsite parking and great wifi plus friendly staff make this place a gem. After we checked in, we enjoyed drinks and appetizers at Brophy's across the street before heading to the beach to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborahbB3746SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Thank you for the nice review! We're so happy you enjoyed our large rooms, central location and friendly staff! We hope to welcome you back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

I wish there were more stars for rating. This place was so charming, homey and welcoming. The value is terrific. My husband, son, daughter-in-law, daughter, son and myself are visiting from the East Coast. We booked a two bedroom suite for two nights and wished it were longer. The price $545.90, includes a Continental breakfast of the freshest pastries and delicious juice and coffee. If you are visiting Carmel I date you find any place more comfortable! I'm so sad I didn't take pictures of this quaint hotel.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank RAQL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for the nice review! It's so great to hear you and your family enjoyed a comfortable stay at a great value! We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

The staff here were super friendly, and they were very helpful in offering suggestions of great places to eat and visit. The breakfast in the morning was perfect with fresh healthy food options and tasty coffee and juice. The location of this hotel is perfect for enjoying a stroll into town for dinner, shopping, and late-night cocktails.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank TravelReview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

It's so nice to hear you enjoyed our central location and had friendly service from our staff! We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope to see you again, thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews